We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dive Shop!”
Review of Koox Diving

Koox Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Koox Diving is your specialist for all types of diving and adventures in Tulum, Mexico. Come join us today for exciting dives and ground tours, leading you off the beaten path into the paradise coastline of the Yucatan Peninsula, featuring coral reefs, turtles, nature, Mayan ruins and communities! The word Ko’ox in Mayan means “Go”, and it’s with an enthusiastic “Go” that drives everyone making up the company. The Ko’ox team loves to dive, and are also great nature lovers. It’s the beauty of the natural world that makes going for a dive or exploring in Mexico such a joy, and so we teach respect and responsibility towards the environment through each activity we do. We strive to give the best service, with the help of local guides with a high sense of professionalism and passion. We also have the best equipment and transportation so your tour is a pleasant and safe experience. We are happy when we see happy faces.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our experience with Chucho (Jesus), Bebe, Rodriquo and Pepe was perfecto! From the first moment of entering their shop they showed they were friendly, fun, professional, safety conscious and all staff had excellent English. As industry professionals with our own dive shop, we felt totally looked after. We had personalised treatment, great gear, good pricing and a range of dive spots that met our needs. A1 guest service as far as we are concerned!! We were given an experience that left us with large smiles on our dials, both above and below water.
Koox Diving was the highlight of our Mexican time. This crew operate in the same way we do at our dive shop and we appreciated the local knowledge they shared, a nibble after diving and the invitations for bevies later in the evening. We came away feeling spoiled with a tulum cenotes experience, and also at having made some new friends. We look forward to sharing our underwater world with Chucho and his family some day.
Top notch folks!! We thoroughly recommend you. THE shop to dive with in Tulum.
Mucho gracias from J-9 & Skipper Skipper from halfway around the world - KoroSun Dive, Savusavu, Fiji!!!

1  Thank FeejeeJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koox19, Manager at Koox Diving, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you janine, for your excelent review, we appreciate when we have coligues diving with us, we hope we can return you the favor, one day I will go and dive with you guys at your shop, I want to see allot of hammer head sharks. un saludo a los dos chucho..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chucho runs a great diving operation in Tulum. He is reliable, helpful and a lot of fun. We dove for two days with one of his instructors, Bebe, and it was an extremely positive experience. Not only is Bebe a great guy, he is an experienced diver who puts safety first. I highly recommend the Bull Shark Dive in Playa del Carmen. It is a unique opportunity to get up close with these amazing creatures who migrate to the area in the winter. Chucho hooked us up with Go Pros so were able to document our dives with photos and video. I highly recommend Koox Diving.

Thank DS14640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrigozurita, Gerente at Koox Diving, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Muchas gracias!!!.. Many thanks for your time and great comments..
un placer poder hacer esta experiencia.. y que la hayan disfrutado…
a great pleasure for us.. to take you diving.. we love to help you anytime you are in town.. let us know!
saludos!

Kooxdiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend was suppose to do a combined tour with turtle snorkling and cenotesnorkling. Sadly the were a "red flag" on the beach so the turtlesnorkeling was cancelled. So we went directly to the cenote. It was great and I would really recommend it. To have Bebe as an instructor made everything even better. He´s a down to earth guy that make you feel relaxed and explains everything so there is no questiones left to be answered
Finally, because the turtlesnorkling was cancelled we got refund for that part.
So even if we missed the turtlesnorkeling the experience was terriffic!

Enjoy / Cornelia & Justin

Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrigozurita, Manager at Koox Diving, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

GRACIAS… for your kind WORDS!!.. hope you guys have a great time!!
and hopefully we can take you out.. some other time!..

saludos!
Regards!… Kooxdiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had a great dive with instructor Victor at Cenote Dos Ojos. He was patient and very competent. All the people at the shop were nice and I had a wonderfull time. They provided me with a GoPRO3 camera without any addicional cost and corresponded to all my expectations. Thank you guys for the wonderfull dive!

Thank Gustavo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrigozurita, Manager at Koox Diving, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Many thanks to YOU!… for your time and words to KOOXDIVING…
We hope to DIVE AGAIN… with YOU!

Saludos,
Regards!

Kooxdiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and the one activity we decided to do besides relaxing on the beaches of Tulum was to do a discovery dive. We wanted to try scuba diving but wasn't sure it was for us, and if we wanted to be certified. Our hotel Ahau Tulum recommended Koox and after reading prior reviews we decided on them. The price was fair - $200 for both of us, and we had our own private instructor Bebe take us to a perfect cenote for this. They recommended this instead of going out to open water as the sea was a little rough. They were right. And Bebe could not have been better. He was friendly, laid back and made us relaxed, but he was very thorough and explained everything we needed to know to the point where we were more than comfortable. I had a little trouble learning how to breathe underwater and my wife had to get used to relieving the pressure in her ears. He was patient and worked us through it. Once the three of us were all comfortable underwater we made our way through the cenote as he pointed out things and kept a very close eye on us. He taught us little things along the way with just using hand signals. By the time it was over, we came to the surface and he told us we had been underwater for 42 minutes. We were so happy and felt like we had really had a great experience. By the end of it he dropped us off at a restaurant we wanted to go to. It was a good day. Definitely would recommend this to anyone.

Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrigozurita, Manager at Koox Diving, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thanks for for your interest.. trust and WORDS about us..#kooxdiving!
it is great to make bubbles!

#justdive

Saludos!

#kooxdiving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koox Diving also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Koox Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing