We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amansala Eco Chic Resort
Ranked #36 of 89 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Marco who was the first person I met at Amansala when I arrived with a taxi was so welcoming in such a relaxed and pleasant way that it set the tone for our whole stay. Whatever requests we had he was there with his great energy and hospitality to help us.

The room was right at the beach and pure joy, a piece of paradise really.

If you're in to yoga and Cole is there, make sure to take his class or have a private session with him, it was transformational!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Amansala Eco Chic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a few days down in Tulum, to include a few meals at Amansala and one yoga class. Overall, the property looked well maintained and clean. The food at the restaurant was reasonably priced - 14 bucks for a salad with fish or a bowl of curry - and the service was above average. The biggest downside was the lame yoga class which cost 25 dollars per person per class! The class was described as "vinyasa ashtanga flow." What does that even mean? It should have been called "A Beginnery Yoga-ish Class." By far the worst yoga class we have taken in Mexico. Aside from the bad instructor (we about lost it with the ridiculous mantras and the nostril breathing stuff), the floor is solid concrete. Not exactly the best surface if you take a tumble. Sadly, we won't get those 90 minutes of our lives back. Or the 50 bucks. With all of the nice hotels in this area, save yourself the trouble of stopping by Amansala.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Amansala, described as an Eco-chic resort is just that. Rooms are housed in Mayan-styled wooden structures with thatched roofs. It is built on the eastern Yucatan peninsula on the multi-hued, warm, clear Caribbean sea. Amansala seemed to cater primarily to groups such as the famous Bikini Boot Camp and yoga retreats. There were 2 when we were there. The food is mostly farm to table, healthy delicious and abundant. Some fish and chicken are served.

Getting away from the harsh New Jersey winter to perfect days of vigorous yoga, sun and sand, air temps of 85 to 90 degrees with humidity on the high 70's was heavenly. Winter -dried, cracked skin healed immediately.

One thing to consider is the "charge to your room" policy. A tab builds up pretty quickly with purchases of drinks, excursions, spa services (fabulously talented massage staff), etc. A 12% tax is added to the final bill. To avoid the possible "sticker shock," it is possible to pay cash for purchases and services as you go (they accept American but prefer pesos) and avoid the tax at the end. Only cash, MasterCard and American Express are accepted. No checks. If you are paying cash it is helpful to the staff to carry pesos in small denominations and the correct change.

A word about the guest relations staff. They are fun, friendly and creative problem solvers. A special shout out to Marcos, Josh and Darlene who made everything easy!

One more comment. The ruins of Tulum are just up the beach from Amansala. The larger Coba ruins are within 45 minutes. Both are well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Attended the bikini bootcamp with friends. Instructors and workouts were great. The campers came from all over the world. Every morning began with a walk and training on the beach followed by a yoga or pilates class. Mid-day is free for beach time or tours. The tours included with the bootcamp were very nice--bike riding to ruins, swimming/snorkeling at cenotes--highly recommend them all. Beach is lovely with plenty of lounge chairs, but water is full of seaweed. Amansala suffers from growing pains, however. It's overbooked and consequently can't accommodate you in room type you reserved. Takes numerous requests to get towels and washcloths are not even on their radar. Food for campers is healthy and tasty but repetitious. By the last night you're tired of the same old dinners. One night you're on your own for dinner which was not mentioned when making reservations. Airport transfers are questionable--Amansala arranges pickup and drop off but the price changes at their will regardless of what price was quoted. Keep a list of charges made to your room because their bookkeeping is very inaccurate. Bring lots of cash, too. Restaurants in the area only take cash. Shops will charge extra to process credit cards. Wifi charge at the resort is $25 person/week--slow at best. Take a break from the beach and enjoy a massage--very good. We had a great week with friends and met some lovely folks. Amansala just needs to pay attention to the details and be more responsive to guests requests.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front; better breezes than other locations.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haliikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Many many problems with this place, and Yoga Teachers beware if you want to have a retreat here. Very badly organised place, staff can be very rude and disgruntled. No matter how organised you are with your own guests (yoga retreat) Amanasala will mess things up with 1) Airport Transfers 2) not having the rooms available that people specifically requested; not being honest with pricing 3) not taking Visa and forcing people to pay cash, (a sure sign of a shady business) 4) Rooms with broken items, missing mosquito nets, no real soap, often shabby, and very overpriced 5) Food that can be extremely mediocre 6) Inconsistent exchange rates depending on who you deal with even in one day. IN short, this place HAS A LOT OF PROBLEMS AND IS HIGHLY OVER RATED. FOR BEING IN BUSINESS OVER 15 YEARS WITH YOGA GROUPS COMING AND GOING EVERY WEEK, THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE

Room Tip: I really advise not going here at all
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catherinemillvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Just returned a few weeks ago from a week at Amansala and could not have been more pleased with our vacation. If you're looking for big hotel with a lobby bar and flashy people stop reading here and go to Cancun or Playa del Carmen.
Amansala is where you go to recharge your batteries. Healthy food, healthy life style, long walks on one of the most beautiful beaches anywhere with beautiful Carribbean water.
The staff at Amansala is friendly, helpful and fit. Melissa, the owner is hands on and makes sure everything is running smoothly.
The food is delicious and I have not eaten that healthy for a week and felt so satisfied.
Finally our room was perfect. Woke up fist day (and everyday) to see the sun rise from our bed. Truly spectacular! Highly recommend Amansala.
The

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bgontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I visited part of Amansala as part of a yoga retreat, so I was in a very positive mindset from the get go. A lot of the reviews seem to think the hotel is not nice but I transferred from the Ritz-Carlton in Cancun to Amansala and actually probably liked Amansala a little more. It is a simple set up.

My room was practically on the beach, with a nice bathroom with plenty of hot water, a comfy king bed under a mosquito net with a reading light, a couch, storage areas and a fabulous patio overlooking the ocean with a chair and hammock. It was simple luxury. I slept at night with the screen door open listening to the surf. I was there in January but the lack of A/C was not a problem.

Yes, it is rustic in that you have to put your toilet paper in the trash can, but the maids empty it regularly, so no big deal. The hotel trucks in all non-toilet water, but actually provides 3-L bottles of drinking water and has water stations all over the hotel, so clean water is not a problem.

The main course food is wonderful and healthy, designed for the yoga and bootcamp set (think protein and veggies with minimal whole grain carbs [more for the yogis than the bootcampers). Desserts were super weird other than one fabulous chocolate brownie. Menus are carefully planned out and allergies/preferences are very courteously addressed.

I can see that if you weren't part of a group it might be hard to get menu service, just because the staff is so busy. They probably are slightly understaffed on the whole. The bartenders are great - the mint margarita is to die for and (my favorite phrase) the beer is ice cold.

The property does not have a pool but it has a nice enough beach with lots of sitting areas. There is some seaweed but you get used to it and a little bit of litter down a ways off the property, which is upsetting. Still I had views of rock outcroppings, pelicans, and rainbows every day of the stay. The water is the amazing Caribbean blue, and it was probably 4 or 5 degrees warmer than the water in Cancun in January (i.e., it was very comfortable). I gather the seaweed is variable and you can find spots without it.

There are some spa services. I didn't have a massage but the other ladies were raving about them. I did due the Mayan clay mud cleansing ritual and it was a ton of fun, even though I was basically standing on the beach covered in mud in an old bra and swim shorts I didn't care about. For $45, I recommend it both for skin and hair health and for the fun of it!

Yes, the rooms don't lock when you're out and about (you can lock yourself in at night), and there is a secure safe in each room. I felt nice and safe. The yoga studios are great, and the one above the restaurant overlooks the beach. The hotel offers some water sports for rent and bikes you can take around Tulum (this is fun). There are cenotes nearby for snorkeling and a bit of shopping, but not much.

The staff is warm and friendly and I really enjoyed their company. Also, for the ladies' groups, I wasn't part of the bootcamp, but the men they have running it are, let's just say, very very fit and good looking. I wouldn't have wanted to lose the yogic vibe but we were all a bit impressed with the bootcamp instructors.

The hotel does have Wifi and a small boutique and some local vendors come by with jewelry during the day, but amenities are otherwise limited. It is a place for reading, walks on the beach, restoration. Perfect for a yoga retreat.

Amansala is the perfect distance from Cancun, about 2 hours from the airport, so not ridiculously far but well south of Cancun and the large all-inclusives. It is on a strip of similar boutique hotels. I would definitely go back, but it's not for everyone. The cab driver at the Ritz told us a story of a group of women in heels with LV luggage who transferred from the Ritz to the Amansala. They lasted 2 days before asking to be taken back to Cancun. This does not reflect poorly on the hotel - it is part of its charm. If television, nightlife beyond a few margaritas, unlimited food and alcohol, A/C, and doing stuff all the time are your thing (and there's nothing wrong with that), this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are seriously almost on the beach and it is lovely to sleep to the sound of the su...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taraehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#57 of 98 in Tulum
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#60 of 98 in Tulum
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 98 in Tulum
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
0.0 mi away
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas
0.2 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#19 of 129 in Tulum
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansala Eco Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansala Eco Chic Resort

Address: km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansala is an eco chic resort located on the beautiful beach of Tulum. Set amongst the palm trees and white sand, the 24 rooms feel like you have stepped into a perfect little village. Attention to detail set Amansala apart with stylish spacious cabanas, a beachfront terrace lounge, great food, massages and tours. Perfect for a relaxing vacation, beachfront wedding or any kind of gathering. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing