We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Tulum!”
Review of Mama's Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mama's Home
Ranked #2 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Tulum!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is amazing!!

Jose the manager is the best hostel manager we have ever met. He is super passionate about this hostel so he is doing everything in his power to make this the best hostel in Tulum.
He has only recently taken over from the previous owner, and what he has done in the last few weeks is amazing.

Breakfast is included, and it is amazing. It changes every day so you are always left wondering what is coming up tomorrow - which will be the reason why you decide to stay longer...

The staff members are very friendly and extremely helpful with any questions you may have.

It is convinently located - only a couple of blocks from the main street and about a 10 minute walk to the ADO terminal.

There are three dorm rooms and 8 private rooms, which are all reasonably priced.

And there is a kitchen for those who would prefer to cook, or if you're somehow over Tacos :)

Wish we could stay for longer! Will definitely come back :)

Thanks for the amazing time here :) will miss you - and of course the breakfast!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    58
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
10
120
124
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I came for one night (I needed somewhere to do some work) and stayed for three weeks. This is pretty normal here, there were loads of people who stayed for two weeks and more. No one takes better care of you than Jose! I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere with a better vibe. The place is super comfortable - there's a kitchen out the back and barbecues out the front and an awesome courtyard - but it's Jose who makes you want to stay. Just be careful if you go on a taco tour with him, he loads up the chilli!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Clean, and well located. This hostel is a perfect place to stay in Tulum. Its close to the bus station and there is a lot of really cheap but nice food around town. The breakfast is always different and always satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is what hostels should be like !!! Welcoming,relaxed,clean,respectful and great location.The host,Jose was excellent and great fun. It was never too much too much trouble for him to offer advice and deal with any issues you may have.the dorms are air con and you have nice affordable doubles,should you have met another traveller you want to spend more time with......The breakfasts were excellent and put in front of you within minutes of you taking a seat !
I loved this place and hope to return ! A++++++

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinmarley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at Mama's Home for 3 nights and it was really a greate time. 2 blocks away from the main street it's very quiet there. The common area in the cortyard is very nice, if you want to relaxe. The included breakfrast chances every day and is one of the best I have had so long in a Hostel. I also had the chance to join one of the frequent BBQs. I stayed in the budget dormroom, which is the cheapest one. It's an open room, which people from two other rooms have to pass to get to their rooms. The beds are average and there are fans in the room. There are also free lockers for everyone. The shared bathrooms have warm and cold water. The staff and the owner are very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel125545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Words can't describe how accommodating Jose is. He is THE nicest guy and he makes this hostel the BEST place to stay in Tulum. The vibe here is so relaxed you may not even make it to the beach!! All the best to you Jose, you and your place are awesome =)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shababay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Tucked away in the neighborhood, but still pretty close to main drag, food, bike rentals.

I looked forward to the breakfasts almost as much as the beach - they do a good chilaquiles. Mama (sounds like she's not there anymore?) was very generous to my boyfriend and I. We didn't have cash upon arriving but she still showed us to our room and let us settle the next day. Also, I saw her making chile rellenos in the communal kitchen one afternoon and remarked that I loved that dish. Later that night, she totally plated a chile relleno with rice and brought it to my room!

We stayed in a private room with its own bathroom. Beds were not the most comfortable, but sheets smelled of sandalwood, beds were made daily, and our bathroom was kept very clean. The room also had an efficient wall-mounted AC unit.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
921 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 116 in Tulum
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#16 of 116 in Tulum
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Home

Property: Mama's Home
Address: Calle Orion sur Entre Venus y Sol Oriente 316, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing