We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mama's Home
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
350
63
17
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
63
17
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conprivate roombed mixed dormfantastic hostelsocial atmospherebbq nightsocial hostelado bus stationcentral americaevery morningstayed here for two nightseach eveningbreakfast was deliciousnight's sleepown bathroomcommon areasclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 446 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had booked only one night, but we ended up staying there for 2 nights - and we liked it very much.

It is located 3 blocks from the main street through Tulum in a quiet area. Easy to access. We parked our car in the street, just in front, and noting happened. When entering the big door, you find the open area with chairs and tables under big umbrellas - very cozy - and the rooms to the left and upstairs. The dorm is on the 1. floor in the back of the building.

Check-in: Smooth
Room (nr. 1 - on the 1. floor): Very nice and big - with AC. and a nice bathroom.
Sleeping quality: Perfect - as policy says "silence after 11 pm."
Kitchen: Not so big - but sufficient.
Internet: 2 computers to share and wifi
Atmosphere: Relaxed and cozy

Mama's Home is a very nice option if you go to the Si'an Kaan reserve for a whole day - as it is very expensive there.

There is a big big nice supermarket less then 1 km. from there, close to the main road to the beach area....where you can find all what you need....if you want to save money and make your own food.

We would go back....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our first time in Tulum, and we were happy to have booked a place like Mama's Home. It was private, quiet and Cynthia was very helpful. We were able to rent bikes from here for a reasonable price. Breakfast is served every morning which we felt was not the best in terms of taste. Most of the time we opted for a later breakfast at one of the many fantastic restaurants in Tulum. Private rooms were large and clean. We felt this was a safe hotel/hostel and did not have any problems.
*Side note: Tulum has two separate areas; the town and the hotel zone on the beach. They are about a 15 minute bike ride apart. Mama's home is located in town. It is only about a 20 minute bike ride from public beach access. Although town is far from the beach it has its perks, cheap eats, shopping, night life etc. You will pay a lot more to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Me and my buddy stayed hear whilst doing a dive course in Tulum. Upon arrival Alex was really sound and sorted us out with a twin room with air conditioning at a very reasonable price. The room was spacious a little bland but great value and comfy sleep. They serve breakfast included which was different every day (for the 4 times we ate) and tasty. They also rent bikes to go to the beach which is a nice way to get around (we had a jeep - but I'm sure cycling would be nicer). Plus free internet and really nice vibe in the central eating area where we chatted to different guests from all over the world. Great value stay, would deff recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Fantastische prijs - kwaliteit. Leuke mensen, behulpzaam, vriendelijk. Kamers schoon, prima ontbijt, rustig tijdens de nachten, kortom: bezoek Tulum en slaap in Mama's Home!

Price-quality is very good. Nice people, helpfull, friendly. Clean rooms, perfect breakfast, quiet during the nights, shortly: visit Tulum and get a good rest at Mama's Home!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GertJanBilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is the best stay in Tulum,everything was great,Mamas mamitas and wolf are beautiful persons and we hope to meet they again.
Hans for everything,you are in our heart!
Hugs
Ugo and Sofia

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argobello6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews