We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“is there anybody in there?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jardin de Frida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin de Frida
Ranked #6 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“is there anybody in there?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'm sure this place has seen better days, probably during their peak season.
However, while we stayed there the place looked a bit run down. The room was spacious and had its plus like the kitchen/sitting room area, but they never came to clean it in 3 days. Staff not very knowledgeable. The communal kitchen,tough, were breakfast was "served" (you pretty much make your own) was a real nightmare: rotten fruit in the fridge alongside with cooked and/or uncooked smelly fish, sinks full of dirty dishes and rubbish and food leftovers scattered on the floor.
We didn't like it very much.

Room Tip: private rooms at the front get lots of noise from the very busy road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    52
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
60
53
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed for a week in early April and honestly could not have been happier. Raffa and the staff were very nice and always available for information.
The garden is beautiful and the mango's are amazing. Let me say that again, the mango's are amazing. Fresh fruit every morning in the kitchen where you can relax in the garden and eat and plan your day.
We stayed in a private room that had it's own kitchen but we rarely used it as we did not come to Tulum to be inside. The rooms are clean well appointed and we could not have been happier.
Thank you Raffa, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Raffa & his crew created a wonderful familiar hostel with a mystical garden and simple yet charming and clean rooms. Hamacs and stools invite to relax in the garden. Bikes are available for rent and free wifi allows communication with your folks around the world. We'll stay there again next time we are in Tulum

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hostel is certainly one of the best hostels I've stayed at in my life. 
The rooms are beautiful and there are no bunk beds in the dorms. The garden and the decoration of the common areas are fantastic. It's really special. 
For breakfast they give you the ingredients, fruit, bread, eggs, coffee, jam, etc and you make it yourself. Some people might not like it, but I thought it was a good idea. And the kitchen is great. 
They also have beautiful private rooms, but you have to book those in advance. 
And I met interesting people there, I think it's the type of place that attracts an interesting crowd (versus cheap party hostels). It's a bit more expensive than most hostels there, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Beautiful garden, very limited fridge space, but a nightmare of the dormitory bedbugs!!! I woke up at 2 a.m. on 23 February 2012 after being biten. The wall and parts of my body were full of huge adult bedbugs, which I have never seen in this amount. I pressed about 7 against the wall instantly (blood markings each time), and tried to escape the hostel immediately, but there was no staff and the fence locked. Thus, I had to wait until early morning while trying to sleep in a chair outside. Fortunately, I had my mosquito net with me. Parts of the breakfast toast bread was molded in the plastic cover. The hostel refunded my stay, and transfered me to a hotel nearby the bus station, which had no mirror, but a large area of black funghi on the damp walls (good for catching lung problems). Lively stay, never again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D0nald313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice place with a beautiful (especially with all the lights in the evening) garden. Frida is a dog that lives there:)
Lots of young travelers, this place is perfect for backpackers.
Rooms are a little raw (but I guess they are kept in local style, I noticed most houses don't have carpets and much furniture), but there is a hammock in a room!
Breakfast is included in the price but you have to make it yourself which is a great opportunity to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place is a little heaven in Tulum. A bit away from the center but it really worth it. Staff is great, helpful and pleasant. Beds are really nice - no bunks bed, real big confortable mattress and clean/not used sheets. Breakfast is a good experience as well, you cook whatever you want from the fresh eggs/vegetables offered.
The atmosphear is really peaceful and away from the others party-hostels in Tulum but you can hang out with the other guests in the garden in the evening without disturbing anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#69 of 92 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#68 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Frida

Property: El Jardin de Frida
Address: Av. Tulum Mza 32 | Lote 9, Centro, In Front Of Ceviche House El Camello Jr, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardín de Frida is your home in Tulum, we're an Eco-Cultural Poshtel, full of magic, culture and art built around a beautiful botanical garden. The project is inspired not only in Frida Kahlo's amazing life, but also in Mexico's great culture, art and traditions, offering all that in your stay. We are located in Tulum's residential area, on the main avenue, 5 minutes away from downtown and the bus station. We cater to guests looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax, surrounded by a beautiful lush tropical garden. Our garden is programed to help you heal and release any energy you no longer wish to carry with you. You will be surrounded by the beauty of nature... The singing of the birds in the morning will wake you up and the chirping of the crickets at night will accompany you in your dreams. In our beautiful botanical garden you will find different species of local trees and plants, like the sacred Mayan tree or the chicle (bubble gum) tree, amongst others. Here you can learn about our local flora and their uses. We also have a hammock site where you can lay down below bamboo trees, a great place to arrive and chill after a day of exploring the area. We are concerned not only in the quality of service but also in developing activities that benefit the planet. We offer you a good price, an excellent service and an unforgettable stay full of magic, nature and Mexican culture. Here you SLEEP, LEARN and HEAL. Welcome HOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin de Frida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing