We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostel ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jardin de Frida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Jardin de Frida
Ranked #6 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This place is a little heaven in Tulum. A bit away from the center but it really worth it. Staff is great, helpful and pleasant. Beds are really nice - no bunks bed, real big confortable mattress and clean/not used sheets. Breakfast is a good experience as well, you cook whatever you want from the fresh eggs/vegetables offered.
The atmosphear is really peaceful and away from the others party-hostels in Tulum but you can hang out with the other guests in the garden in the evening without disturbing anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    52
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
60
53
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We just returned from 3 weeks in Tulum. It was our first time on Mexico's east coast and we loved it! I had chosen this great little place after reading so many wonderful reviews, and - wonderful it is, a little gem in the world of inns and hostels!

We stayed in one of the apartments, in Diego Riviera, and loved it! Very spacey, clean, neat, front balcony to the street with a big tree in front to watch the birds, and a balcony with hammock out of the bedroom in the back, facing the beautiful and magical garden of Frida, just plain wonderful!

Thank you to Rafa, the owner, thank you to Gandhi, we love and miss you both and everyone who cares so wonderfully for this place of peace, we send extra love to Frida the dog and our cat friend :)

It was like being at home, being cared for and we were able to come with any question and always got a great tip where to go and what to do. We were also happy to have a blender in our kitchen and made good use of it every day!

Jorge does an awesome breakfast and caters to all your needs! The other times of the day, the kitchen is open for everyone to use, which is great! We made fresh orange juice there almost every day. Great, organized and clean kitchen. Everything is perfect to the price! We paid $ 44 for our apartment of 2, including breakfast! That's a good value!

Bikes are there free for your use, so hop on and explore Tulum, bike to the beach, get in shape :) Fruit and veggies are just a few steps away, and the bus depot just a short walk, so everything is at your fingertips!

I would not trade this place for staying on the beach, having to come to town all the time for picking up fruit and veggies. Cheap places on the beach are mostly beach huts, often musty and smelly or you pay a lot to stay in better places, but that's all not needed in my opinion as here at Jardin de Frida you get it all, a nice, neat, and clean place, a wonderful garden, and wonderful people honestly caring for you. You are at the end of the village and close to everything, and with the bike you are at the beach in no time. Every Saturday afternoon is an organic market in the garden, a great place to get some special things and to meet and chat with new people!

So for us there is no other place we would chose when going to Tulum again!

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We miss you very much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment Diego Riviera which was perfect for us, but we know that all the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beate64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very clean and beautiful hostel. I stayed in the dorm for 200 pesos, a serve yourself breakfast included. Many young travelers from all over. Very nice and helpful owner. And of course the resident hosts, Frida and Coco (dog and cat) were oh so friendly.

Room Tip: This place is less than a year old. All the beds and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Have never been any hostel like El Jardin de Frida. We stayed in a six bed dorm. The beds were very comfortable, appropriately firm, and clean. The washroom is in the dorm room and we took showers in a hot water. Breakfast? It was absolutely nice in a very comfortable environment. The crews? They are very kind and helpful. And the dog, Frida.. We loved her very much. The Wifi signal is very nice at the common area.

Room Tip: You can borrow a bike for free. In Tulum, biking is an absolute way to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idmolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

As great choice if you don't want to spend a lot of money to stay on the beach. Free bike use, wifi, fridge, kitchen and terrific hang out areas helped make my stay very enjoyable. The staff is friendly and helpful, the included breakfast is large and varies from day to day (coffee/tea, fruit plate + some type of egg). It is located right at the south edge of town which some may find inconvenient but I didn't mind as I just took a bike most of the time. Occasionally a bit of a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Cotorro" most of the time, which is at the back with the dorms, kitchen and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

This place had it all! The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious! The price was great and they worked with us on the rate when we wanted to stay longer.

The garden was very beautiful and Frida the dog greets you every morning! We biked every day from the hotel to the beach each day about 20 mins on a nice trail along the beach. There is a cenote about. 15 min bike ride away that was completely empty.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkiefer2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

After a long day I unexpectedly ended up in Tulum and was recommended this hostel. The owner is fabulous. He is a very big sweetheart who is very understanding and knows what travelers need. As I entered the hostel I was greeted by such an amazing garden that you immediately want to lay in a hammock hanging there and stay awhile. The bottom level has a lovely common area and a huge kitchen. In the morning we had tacos and fresh fruit for brekkie which is included in your price. The rooms are very nice and clean. They are lockers for every person and the sheets were the best I ever had at a hostel: Tshirts material! The wifi works well but not toward the back of the rooms as the router is in the garden on the front building. There are a few pets there (all lovely and will leave you alone if you prefer) who the owner rescued from trips in the jungle. In addition the best restaurant in town is across the street for cerviche. The only down side is it is at the far end of the main road in town but you can rent a bike to get around. Oh and one other thing, there is a rooster that goes off at 3 am and doesn't stop until maybe 6... The owner needs to make chicken tacos. You must stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#72 of 93 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#68 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin de Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin de Frida

Property: El Jardin de Frida
Address: Av. Tulum Mza 32 | Lote 9, Centro, In Front Of Ceviche House El Camello Jr, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardín de Frida is your home in Tulum, we're an Eco-Cultural Poshtel, full of magic, culture and art built around a beautiful botanical garden. The project is inspired not only in Frida Kahlo's amazing life, but also in Mexico's great culture, art and traditions, offering all that in your stay. We are located in Tulum's residential area, on the main avenue, 5 minutes away from downtown and the bus station. We cater to guests looking for a quiet and comfortable place to relax, surrounded by a beautiful lush tropical garden. Our garden is programed to help you heal and release any energy you no longer wish to carry with you. You will be surrounded by the beauty of nature... The singing of the birds in the morning will wake you up and the chirping of the crickets at night will accompany you in your dreams. In our beautiful botanical garden you will find different species of local trees and plants, like the sacred Mayan tree or the chicle (bubble gum) tree, amongst others. Here you can learn about our local flora and their uses. We also have a hammock site where you can lay down below bamboo trees, a great place to arrive and chill after a day of exploring the area. We are concerned not only in the quality of service but also in developing activities that benefit the planet. We offer you a good price, an excellent service and an unforgettable stay full of magic, nature and Mexican culture. Here you SLEEP, LEARN and HEAL. Welcome HOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin de Frida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing