We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hartwood

Hartwood
Ranked #41 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An open-air restaurant located on the jungle side of Tulum's beach road. Local farm-to-chef ingredients cooked on the grill or wood burning oven. Menu changes daily based on availability of ingredients.Dinner only. Cash only.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the most crowded restaurants in Tulum. Good sign!
Very nice cocktails, excellent steak. Atmosphere was also great with the large open fire and the candles all over the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    252
    132
    85
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE VEST MEALS I'VE EVER HAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

All I can say is it was one of the best freshest meals Ive ever had. Great setting, great laid back casual staff. Will Definitely return next visit to Tulum. I didnt think it was expensive for what we received. Drinks, entree, dessert for 2 was 80 US.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyerb727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The best restaurant we encountered in Tulum, along with Posada Margherita (Italian, on the beach side). We went the first 2 nights we were there, the food was really a surprise - it went well beyond your higher end vacation fare (which is often not great at all) into the artisanal/cuisine territory. I was here in the off-season, but our experience was excellent across the board including service. I'm from NYC and have had plenty of great food - Hartwood holds up really, really well. One of the few places that was full and lively, too.

Service was delightful - our waiter gave us great direction on places to go, things to do. He was a great guy, and so were bartenders and hostess.

We had fresh fish both nights; served over greens, parsnips and other cool stuff in delicious citrus or other sauces. Again - was truly, pleasantly surprised at the level of sophistication in the cuisine, which was nicely complemented by the laid back jungle eco-chic vibe.

Of the very few downsides - well, it's not cheap. And it is on the jungle side, so insects/stagnant air are more of an issue than across the street on the ocean side, for sure. Still, if you're in Tulum, it's not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alloyd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

great place and fresh and delicious food.

again bit pricey but amazing meat and fish dishes and worth the price

have been twice and will go again before we leave

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth Going”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Love my octopus dish! The cocktails are also worth trying. Staff is accommodating. The only downside for me are the mosquitoes attacking me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank petitemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartwood also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hartwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing