We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beef we've had in Mexico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Asadero

El Asadero
Ranked #12 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best beef we've had in Mexico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Get there early, before 7 to get a table without waiting. We enjoyed the food so much that we went back and ate there a second night on our six day vacation.

Their steaks rival any we've had in NYC, Buenos Aires, or Rio. Really top notch. We had no issues with the service; and the staff was very friendly and welcoming.

The atmosphere of this place also deserves five stars. Very cool vibe. Get one of the outside tables if you can.

If you're vacationing in Tulum, it would be a mistake to skip this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    221
    51
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“4.5 stars! Delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We tried this spot during our recent vacation in Tulum and the reviews do not lie. The food was fantastic and you really can't beat this meat! Hubby ordered the arrachera, I had a beef taco combo, and the other couple we were with shared the 1 kg beef dinner (with plenty to take home afterwards). We also tried the cactus because where the heck else are you going to eat cactus.

All the food was amazing and we were surprised at the low cost. Down side (why I can't rate it 5 stars) was the service was a bit spotty. Not all parts of our meal were delivered together (for example the 1kg beef came with tortillas but they didn't show up for another 10 min or so) and the servers seemed overwhelmed. The restaurant was packed but it didn't seem like the servers had defined tables which made it a bit chaotic. We were served by 3 different servers during the course of our meal. Everyone was very friendly though!

Also, not sure why but we went to the restaurant on a Tuesday night around 8 pm and it was closed up. We went the next day at around the same time and the place was packed. Street parking is available.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good BBQ - lots of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Dinner at El Asadero was a great surprise. It is tucked into a side street off the main drag and only has about 10 tables. We arrived early and were able to get a table without waiting. We split their special which included a large piece of barbequed (asadero) beef, three sausages, baked potato which we added the cheese and grilled chicken, avacado, grilled prickly pear cactus, and jalepeno peppe and a basket of tortillas. Before our meal came, they also served us a large dish of of chips with 4 kinds of sauces - the garlic mayonaise mixed with their pico de gallo was a delicious treat and hard to stop eating! We ordered a flan to go because we were so full from dinner, but it was a let down after the delicious meal. Bummer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skycolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Happy to find this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We just got done eating off one of the tamales truck in town, but we had to try this place out because of the great reviews. When coming into Tulum Pueblo from PDC, i think the next big intersection after the San Franciso market corner is Satellite Norte. You make a right here and place is on the left side of the street.
The place was very busy at about 8pm. Mostly couples are larger parties. All the food looked very good.
I ordered the arrachera, so good. Wife ordered a couple of soft tacos.
They bring out 3 salsas and chips. Everything was fresh, service was good, and atmosphere was inviting.
Would definitely go back on an empty stomach.
Total bill with drinks was under $20USD.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainy Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nacho Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Absolutely great food and great service as said by others. We would also like to add that my girlfriend accidently left her bag behind and the waiter ran after us to return it!!!! A big thank you

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Asadero also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Asadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing