We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good local restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Asadero

El Asadero
Ranked #9 of 349 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

When we arrived it was obvious that this place is popular with locals and tourists. Very good friendly and efficient service.

The steaks are large and cooked well.

Give it a try, don't be put off by the plastic chairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    206
    43
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Delicious steak, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went on a midweek night and glad we got there early (18:45) as it was a wait for a table for those who arrived half an hour later. The arrachera is justifiably celebrated. The sides are delicious, the portions large. The wine is red, one type (a tempranillo served with a slight chill) - beer probably a better option. Staff could not have been more efficient or gracious. And all very reasonably priced too.

Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best steak we had on vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband got the arracherra steak which came with potatoes and a grilled onion. I ordered the salmon which was two large fillets along with vegetables. This was one of the best dinners we had on vacation, the steak definately topped any other restaurant we ate at that week. If you ask they will serve wine, which we drank out of coffee cups! The staff is very friendly and music was great. By them time we left at around 9pm, there was a line for tables. We had two steak dinners on the beach road in Tulum which were almost double the price and not as tasty - highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wonderful dinner we had at el asadero. The nachos they give free for starter, with the amazing dips, are very tasty. Would go just for that... We also ordered 2 tacos - chicken and beef - for me and 1/2 kg arrachera for my husband and enjoyed both of the meals. This was very good and very satisfaying. We finished the dinner very happy, and very sad this the last night of us in Tulum and that we won't be able to enjoy it again. If you are in Tulum you must go there...
We paid for the big meal of 2 very big courses and 2 sodas (and the nachos for free at the start) -which is very enough for a normal dinner - for only 200 pesos.

Helpful?
1 Thank gili s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The steak place in Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

OMG! This place is a hidden gem! We had a marvelous dinner at El Asadero! Ask for La Especialdad del Asadero (300g angus beef, a sausage, potato, half of an avocado, grilled nopal (cactus), and a jalapenos) and you could easily share the plate for two persons. It's a generous portion of steak cooked the way you want on the grill, came along with corn chips and lots of different yet tasteful salsa (cream and garlic, habanero guacamole, tomato salsa and onion and tomato classic mix). WOW!
The service is great, the waiter and waitresses, checked on us to see if everything was ok with a genuine attention and smile!!!
Very professional restaurant, clean, charming indoor and outdoor seating, fair prices, good variety, live music (if you are lucky) etc..
The unfortunate thing is that there is no alchool menu, but it's worth asking for it anyway, you could be surprised;)
Buen Provencho!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Asadero also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Asadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing