We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphinaris Tulum

Dolphinaris Tulum
Ranked #22 of 83 things to do in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Tulum at Bahia Principe Resort combines the best features of our dolphins, with beautiful tropical surroundings.The facilities feature the innovative concept of traditional platforms that provide shallow, beach-style access to conduct interaction programs safely for any visitor.For the convenience of swimmers and observers, we have located various service areas within our facilities. These service areas include: check-in and customer service, induction hut, a new room where classes for the Trainer for a Day program are conducted and our photo & video store.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

if you have never swam with dolphins do it here! the trainers are brilliant and the dolphins were so amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dohara1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear visitor, we do our best to give you the perfect time in our facilities; our dolphins are beautiful thanks for the great attention received by our very knowledgeable trainers. We invite you to know the different programs we have since each one of them is unique.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    104
    40
    14
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the one thing my husband absolutely wanted to do on our honeymoon. It was one of the greatest things we did! How often will you ride on the stomach of a dolphin at 30+ miles per hour? The dolphins are well training and the trainers are very good. They are funny and give clear directions to guests to give the dolphins commands. This was a highlight of our trip!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear visitor, it’s nice to know that you chose Dolphinaris to have one of the most beautiful memories celebrating your honeymoon. Doing rides with the dolphins is spectacular! We have beautiful dolphins due to the great love and care given by our trainers.

Dolphinaris really care that your visit is something marvelous.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Trainer for a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and my gf chose the trainer for a day package because it doesn't cost that much more and you get to do more stuff with the dolphins. Eventhough the dolphins live in a pool that is big enough by international standards, its still kinda small, they should just spend that extra bit of money and expand. The dolphins are treated well, get plenty of attention, good food etc, nothing wrong with that there, its just the size of the pool, its no Ocean..

The trainer for a day option was fun. You get some information, spent a lot of time in the water with the dolphins. What they do a lot, is get you in the water in a line and have you extend your arms, the dolphin swims past and you get to pet it. Even though the water is cold, its a lot of fun, up till the 10th time, after that it just gets bored and annoying and you get the feeling they are stalling. The footpush and belly ride are awesome (especially the footpush) but they don't do that often. They should look into that because all the people that were in my group got annoyed at the constant petting.

The part which I think is ridiculous, is the price of the pictures.
Let me start off saying you get two free pictures when you're a trainer for a day (2 free pics included in the package) You don't get to pick these your self and you end up with two pretty lame ones, one posed and one group, and not digitally (in 2013..)
Second off, the constant posing gets annoying, pictures with animals are best when you just take them when the people are mesmerized by the beatiful creatures them selves, not when they have to focus and smile right into the camera.
Clearly the people taking the pictures didn't get any training so most pictures are rubbish, which is also a bother.
The biggest point is critique is the price, its just so over the top people should never ever get the pictures.. we found a few nice pictures but when we saw the price we were starteled. 69 dollars for 3 digital pictures, all the pictures (about 100 i think) for 350 dollars, which is a lot more than the cost of swimming with the dolphins. I tried to talk to the manager (Christiaan I believe) but he said he can't do anything about the price. Of course this is nonesense. Now from what I saw they didn't sell any pictures in my batch, if they make the pictures cheaper, they would sell a lot, even if its still 10 dollars a picture. So do everyone a favor, if you become trainer for a day, don't buy the extra pictures and lets hope they finally understand not everyone has a ton of money and wants to spent it on a few extra pictures.

my 2 cents.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear visitor, the trainer for a day program is awesome since people can have a great time with the dolphins. In regards to the pools, the sizes of the dolphinarium are completely approved by Mexican NOM-135-SEMARNAT- 2004 (ECOL 135 7.4), which also matches with de American and European ones, and the dolphinariums have good dimensions for dolphins’ life.

Our dolphins receive the best attention and love by our professional trainers who really care for them, also our dolphins have the best food, and all these attention makes them feel happy and live even more years than in the ocean. Dolphinaris is a place that keeps dolphins in the best way.

Trainer for a Day has different activities and we see that our visitors love the foot push very much! We have to say that each one of the activities is unique and beautiful. Many visitors have told us how amazing is to be so close to a dolphin and share time with them.

The photos are available for purchase for the visitors who would like to get them but this is not obligatory. People can see the different options the photo and video department offers if you would like to get a package.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trainer for a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the highlight of a recent 7 day stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal. My son was a trainer for a day, I sat in the outside and observed. For the price, it's well worth paying the extra money for them to be a trainer for a day. He had a full day in the pool with the trainers and dolphins, had 5 foot pushes, 3 belly-belly and 2 dorsal rides. They learned all about dolphins in the am, learned the commands, in the pm they got the dolphins to do tricks and demonstrated the different dolphin rides to the other participants. The pictures are quite expensive but if you hold out, they will negotiate, and actually reduce quite a bit. The package I bought for my son was initially over $350, I left the Dolphinarium with 118 pictures, a 14 minute video and it cost me $139.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear visitor, each one of the activities in the Trainer for a Day makes people feel alive: dolphins are great and our visitors have an entire day with the dolphins and great learning about them. Learning commands is something unique for our visitors; you are able to have communication with the dolphins in an amazing way. Everybody likes doing this program.

Pictures packages have different prices and it’s optional to purchase them. The photo and video department offers different options for our visitors.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great value compared to other dolphin tours, especially cruise excursions. Very interactive and trainers are very informative.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCChaCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear visitor, we do our best to give the most beautiful experience with excellent programs full of activities and amazing dolphins. Dolphinaris have very professional trainers who care about every detail in the programs and give their life to the dolphins.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Tulum also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing