We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Maro.”
Review of Dolphinaris Tulum

Dolphinaris Tulum
Ranked #21 of 84 things to do in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Tulum at Bahia Principe Resort combines the best features of our dolphins, with beautiful tropical surroundings.The facilities feature the innovative concept of traditional platforms that provide shallow, beach-style access to conduct interaction programs safely for any visitor.For the convenience of swimmers and observers, we have located various service areas within our facilities. These service areas include: check-in and customer service, induction hut, a new room where classes for the Trainer for a Day program are conducted and our photo & video store.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Thank you Maro.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great service for a "Trainer for a day" experience. Worth every penny. However the photographers need to lower the prices for the photos. They are ridiculous.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear visitor, the ‘Trainer for a day’ program is unique. People love doing the activity with the oxygen mask and being with the dolphins under water. Dolphinaris have excellent programs for our visitors.

We will take your opinion about pictures into account and we will see how to reduce the price of the pictures so that all our visitors can get them.

Thank you for visiting DOLPHINARIS and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    104
    40
    14
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent family experience as trainers”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was a little upset when I initially booked online.. when I found out there was no transportation from hotel to this site. We were at the grand palladium so just 10 minutes $20 taxi. This dolphinaris is smaller than the others and inside an actual hotel resort (Gran Bahia Principe). The negative to this is that you are limited to the dolphin complex and they had to order us a pizza lunch and pop since we cannot use any of the resort facilities. The positive is that there are not many people coming here yet.. we had an intimate experience.. did the trainer for the day with 2 daughters ages 12,13. we LOVED it... although we think the day could be shortened a bit 930am-4pm was long and by the end of the day kids were anxious.. so we left a little early. This is the best package.. we got to do everything with the dolphins.. even under water.. trainers were very friendly... When they told us they didnt have t shirts in kids sizes only Large ( they are included with package) I complained... and hours later the manager got kids sizes from their other facility.. very good customer service. The dolphins actually painted on the back of the t shirts with their noses.. very cool and unique. For $120 a person this was worth every penny.
Negatives: they will not do any group photo with dolphins... this is purely a business scam on their part so that you buy more pictures.. they say it freaks out the dolphins.. not true..
Lastly, they promise you 2 pictures per person with this package.. they dont tell you that they pick the photos.. which they do... and all of us got identical pictures.. wasnt happy. Then they want over $350 to buy your photos and 7 minute DVD movie... yes the pictures they took were gorgeous.. but cant afford that much.. then they wanted $29 per picture to print.. I said no.. when we were leaving they ran after us and said $99 for all photos and DVD.. promotion :) I would hav taken it but didnt have that much cash on me.. too bad. overall a great experience with lifetime memories. We were 5 people in all that did the trainer for the day so it was a very initmate experience. email with any questions

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear visitor, we have the dolphinarium inside the resort but the dolphinarium is not part of the resort. We offer the swim for both, people who are staying at the resort and people who are not. Everybody is welcome and we have amazing dolphin programs for you.

There is a restaurant in the dolphinarium area for the people who would like to get something to eat. Also, we would like to say that there are programs that include meals and others that don’t.
The trainer for a day program is fantastic. Our visitors love this program because you have many activities and you can enjoy a lot of time swimming with the dolphins. Many of our visitors have requested to have more time with the dolphins but for the visitors who would like less time, we also have shorter programs.

We have a very professional staff to assist you and give you the best service. Our visitors are our priority.

Pictures are available for our visitors who would like to get them but it is optional. They have different prices according to their package.

Thank you for visiting DOLPHINARIS and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Amazing experience with dolphins”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was very nice and entertaining to be in the water with dolphins and see them perform all kind of tricks for me. I had two dolphins - Azul and Setu to swim with me and even kiss me. I really want to come and do it again soon. But the price for the photo is extremely high.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViolettaGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Public Relations Manager at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear visitor, we give our dolphins love and great attention and that is why our dolphins are awesome. We hope to see you soon and have another but unique experience swimming with our dolphins. In regards to the pictures, there is a variety of packages and the price is according to the option you select.

Thank you for visiting DOLPHINARIS and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swimming with Dolphins”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good value. Lovely to be close to these beautiful creatures. They are rehab dolphins, so they are not caught wild and caged.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear visitor, our dolphins have the best attention and they are professionally cared by or specialized team of trainers. We really appreciate that you could see this. Dolphinaris keep their dolphins healthy and happy and we just want our visitors to have a beautiful time with the dolphins.

Thank you for visiting DOLPHINARIS and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok...”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We did the cheaper option. It was ok... you start to feel for the dolphins though. The one that we were interacting with had painful looking scrapes and sores on it's belly. The trainer said that the sores were from an unknown cause and the scrapes were from the dolphin scraping it's belly against the grates at the bottom of the pool. Beautiful and intelligent animals and extremely well-trained.

A big negative: In my entire life, I've never been pressured to buy a DVD containing photos and videos that hard... They had multiple sales people, pushing you to buy (the price for the DVD was outrageous). When we declined, we were followed out the door by a person who appeared to be a manager of some sort. He pushed even harder than the others, even trying to guilt me into buying it in front of my girlfriend. Awkward, to say the least.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 176-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear visitor, we would like to share that the dolphins sometimes have small scars in the skin as a result of their natural behavior. Dolphins play with their teeth among them. Those scars disappear after some days. Dolphinaris’ doctors revise the dolphins periodically to assure their health and give them all what they need. We are a multibillionaire investment dedicated fully to the dolphins’ welfare.

We look for making your experience a great moment, that is why we have a photo and video department that captures your experience of swimming with the dolphins. Pictures are available for purchase but of course they are not obligatory. We just want our visitors to feel comfortable from the beginning to the end so we will check that this continues. We apologize for any inconvenience you could have had.

Thank you for visiting DOLPHINARIS and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Tulum also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing