We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of El Gourmet

El Gourmet
Ranked #46 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: El Gourmet Tulum is a store specialised in customising the best panini and salad ever. We also have a wide variety of cold meats & imported cheese such as speck, bresaola, prosciutto, gorgonzola, fontina, emmental, parmigiano, among others. All our bread is daily baked to be used in our sándwiches and salads or to be sold on its own. Desserts are to be tried for sure!. Really good coffee, and the freshest juices and fruit water are prepared as soon as it is ordered! The freshness and love that are used in the production is what differenciates El Gourmet from other places! Come to visit us! You will feel at home!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My partner and I were in Tulum 4/20-4/27. It was our last day and we finally made it to the Tulum Pueblo. We were looking for some last minute gifts before leaving for our drive to Cancun. The shops were more of the same junk in each one. We were getting ready to leave then saw this sign that said Panini's. Stopped in to take a look...so glad we did!! But also so sad we didn't find it before our last day! We were in Italy Oct. 2012 and this place took us right back there! Amazing meat, cheese and the bread is home made from a German couple that lives in Tulum. The guy making the sandwich did so with much love and enjoyment. We enjoyed it so much! We each got one, ate half and saved the rest for the flight! Mmmmm

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scater12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    35
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Get the cheese platter!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had lunch with a friend at El Gourmet today and it was absolutely delightful! We ordered one of the cold meat and cheese platters for 2 and every part of it was delicious. Travelling through Latin America I have struggled to find any strong flavoured cheeses... which isn't a big problem, but as someone who really enjoys Mediterranean food, fine cheeses, sundried tomatoes, olives etc. El Gourmet was the answer to my prayers! I think I could have ordered anything of the menu and would have been happy - everything sounded delicious, they used really good quality ingredients and all of the other meals that I saw looked just as good as mine. We also got coffees later in the day, which were more expensive than most in the area but also worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best panini in tulum!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want to eat a sandwich while you are in tulum this is the place to do it! Very nice coupe that owns the place and very great prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieandRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Panini's and nice people!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stopped in with my wife and brother-in law and found the customers service to be excellent. The owners had no problem making off the menu panini's to fit our taste. I also noticed that the quality of the products was very very high, mostly imported and fresh as can be. I would highly reccommend this place for a quiet quick meal or as a place to get food to go. I'll definitely go back!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffdaubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Based on previous recommendations we went into Tulum for the day and gave El Gourmet a try. Awesome and amazing! We both had panini sandwiches that the owner recommended and they were great. A must stop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gourmet also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing