We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a day not to be missed”
Review of Yucatan Outdoors

Yucatan Outdoors
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are committed to nurture and protect this sacred space through education, inspiration and sustainable tourism. We are a Mexican specialist outdoor adventure company that offers inspiring wilderness experiences. Escape into the beautiful remote regions of the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), with experienced guides leading you and providing you an outstanding outdoor experience. Sea Kayak courses - Kayak Adventures - Coral Reef Snorkel Trips- Wilderness Expeditions - Birdwatching Tours - Biking Trips - Natural Photography.
anaheim
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“a day not to be missed”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful trip in Tulum and a highlight for us was an all day kayak trip in Sian Ka'an with a knowledgeable, personable, and entertaining guide, Antonio. This venture allowed us to experience the reserve with no one nearby, other than the crocs and birds and vegetation. Our guide provided us with a delicious homemade lunch and an opportunity to even soak in the 'mayan mud'. Truly, do yourself a favor and spend some time with this well run company, Yucatan Outdoors, and escape on one of their many trips.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    1
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Educational”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friends and I went on this wonderful kayaking adventure with Miguel and Antonio in May 2012. I have limited physical endurance and Miguel was sweet enough to do the kayaking for me. They are both so knowledgeable and passionate about the local environment that they made the trip extra special. Antonio's girlfriend had sent along great food for the day. They allwed us to control the length of the tour which was great. After finishing the Sian Ka'an kayaking portion of the trip, they took us to a local cenote and we were able to either snorkel or just float along which was great because it helped us cool of from a warm day. I would highly recommend this tour to all. The guys were sweet and fantastic fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure....”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We went to Tulum in February 2012 and go to this wonderful adventure with Antonio & Miguel. The place is so wonderfull and breathtaking. The guides, the food (made by Antonio and Jessica (Antonio's girlfriend) was so great and they share their passion with so enthusiasm. Taking a "bath" in the mud was simply terrific and a little bit scarring when you think of it (you don't really know what's under water....) but don't think of it and enjoy. The adventure begin at 5 am and is for all day long - you come back at 4 pm - and I would had stay there for much longer because it was the best activity I had done. Thanks to Antonio & Miguel !!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing experience & amazing guides”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Mau and I have been living in Tulum for 6 months now and we have never experienced such a wonderful adventure as we do with Yucatan Outdoors. A couple of weeks ago some friends from Spain came to visit us and we had the opportunity to share with them this tour, which can not be described with other word than AMAZING.

Antonio and Miguel (the guides) said that the best part of this kayak tour through Sian Ka'an mangroves was the lagoon itself and the natural environment, which was spectacular, by the way. But for me, the best part of the tour was them. Antonio and Miguel are the best guides ever, funny, helpful, kind, well instructed an prepared... they are amazing people who love what they do and make you to love it too...

It's good for couples, families, group of friends, young people, old people... for everyone who wants to have a wonderful and adventurous day in a beautiful and natural mexican scenario.

Besides you have the opportunity to eat real and delisious home-made mexican food before or after your tour (included in the price).

Everything is just perfect. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MauricioRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day on the beautiful Sian Ka'an lagoon”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This tour was strongly recommend to me and it didn't disappoint. A very authentic guide through the natural wonders of the Sian Ka'an, led by truly passionate nature lovers Miguel and Antonio. Before entering the biosphere we went snorkeling and free diving in a nearby Cenote and found ourselves 5m away from a crocodile! We had a delicious homemade taco lunch and were supplied with more than enough mangoes, banana, water and trail mix pack for the kayak journey. Extremely tranquil and beautiful place to sound an afternoon. Our knowledgable guides pointed out the scientific points of the ecosystem, which was very interesting. I felt a lot closer to the nature by being in a kayak rather than a boat. The pace is not fast at all, suitable for all skill levels of kayaking. A unique tour, a must-do in Tulum.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yucatan Outdoors also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yucatan Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing