We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pickled Veggies are GREAT”

Ranked #114 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On the main street going through the town of Tulum.
Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pickled Veggies are GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

They even have a small Mexican music group mid day and evenings. Meals always come with the pickled veggies. Huge menu. Locals dine here also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    70
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I so wanted this place to work out. But, after visiting the bathroom I knew I didn't want to eat there. Still, they had already brought chips and other salsas, so we stayed. Within minutes our order was ready (never a good sign). The VeraCruz fish was truly bad, not grilled as described, but covered with chunky pieces of vegetables that one usually uses for garnish. I didn't care for the chile relleno either and thought the mole was edible. Sorry, would not recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No so great....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family was craving hamburgers do not go to this place. The burgers were probably about 1/8 of an inch thick. But on the other hand the ceviche was good. We felt it was a little bit overpriced. There was also a band playing (even know it was lunchtime )and the music was extremely loud even though we were sitting across the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank arianamotif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don Cafeto in Tulum Town is Must Visit....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is one of the oldest restaurants in Tulum town, you should always stop and have a bite of delicious Mexican food.. Nice Ceviche, Grill Fish, Rice and Banana, local Mexican food, with a nice salsa band playing every night...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShambalaTulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican fare in a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We never miss a visit to this restaurant when vacationing in Tulum. The pickled vegetables are unbelievably delicious; my husband always orders a large container to "take home." The service is personable and friendly, offering large quantities of delicious, authentic Mexican cuisine. Also a great place to stop for a beverage and people-watch. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Cafeto Mar Caribe also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Don Cafeto Mar Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing