We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local tipical food”
Review of Dona Tina

Dona Tina
Ranked #124 of 389 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local tipical food”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It is not the restaurant for turist. There is no WIFI.
But The food it very very local and tipical.
The most recomendable manu is Adobo de pollo.
So delicious!!
Please try it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay food - not the best”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had dinner here and tried the special which was a chicken dish served with rice and beans. It was okay, but the chicken was tender and moist. My husband had the chicken soup - again, okay, but difficult to eat because the chicken is still on the bone!
The place was packed with several local kids from a karate club. Prices were reasonable, but not sure we would go back when there are so many other choices in Tulum.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skycolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet, tucked away place in busy Tulum”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We've been to Dona Tina twice, once three years ago and last month on a return trip to Tulum. You have to work to find it, but it's a wonderful place. Both times we were there we were the only diners. The food is fresh and delicious and it has an unhurried, casual atmosphere that I just love.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best mole EVER”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stumbled upon Dona Tina at lunchtime with a friend and we could tell this was a place the locals go to. Just the kind of place we like. We had the guacamole and shared the mole chicken. It was the best mole I ever had and a meal I will always remember. We returned for a second time. For dinner this time and once again were blown away by the mole. Amazing food and friendly service. Will be back for sure, next time I am in Tulum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMeisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been there forever”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Consistently good local food. Dona Tina's is just good down home tasty. Try the soup and the flan but anything on the menu is good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amdewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dona Tina also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dona Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing