We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent”
Review of Chalupa Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalupa Hostal
Ranked #47 of 105 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2011

very nice charming place, great location 5 min walk from downtown, and 5 min drive to the beach.
the rooms are clean. the staff is wanderfull, very nice and hellfull.
will be back any time,
make sure to day hi to friderica.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is a newly built Hostel, so it's pleasantly, spotlessly clean and reassuringly solid. It's also beautifully simple, built and decorated by the local Mayan builders and artists. Its staff is smart, incredibly helpful, conscientious and very cosmopolitan. Chalupa sits right at the start of the town, on the road to the beach, which is an easy walk -- or you can rent a bike or catch a cab or bus right in front of the Hostel. There are markets, rental and tour shops, and banks with ATM's nearby. The staff is very well connected to great places in town, and in the surrounding area, and they'll give you the exact directions you need to give you a thoroughly restful, and fun, vacation. The prices were perfect ... extremely reasonable in my opinion, and a stunningly good value ... so it's a great place to use as a base for a couple of weeks. It also has Wi-Fi, a talented and enthusiastic vegetarian chef, a relaxing downstairs lounge, and a huge rooftop patio with a view of the stars that makes you forget everything.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcopolo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I have been to Tulum many times & Hostal Chalupa is now my favorite place to stay. The staff is really friendly & accomodating; they make excellent suggestions for food & activities. I also like that there is a cook on site who will make you a great meal for very little money or you can stock on your own at the grocery accross the street. The pool makes for a great place to catch morning rays with coffee & the roofdeck is excellent for an evening cocktail under the stars. Muy Bueno!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesmchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

...Hostal Chalupa is so great!!!..cheap price for very clean and comfortable place ...not easy to find this kind of situation around the Mexico..the stuff is friendly and funny so even if you travel by your self you can't feel alone in that place...at the same time is very quiet and relaxing.....close to the beach an not far to downtown....on the opposite side of the street you can find the supermarket S'Francisco ( usuful!!! ) and taxi collettivo stop just on the corner and it's so easy to move to Akumal or everywhere you want......i will come back cause i missed that place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aguscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My stay at Chalupa Hostal was amaaaaaazing! It is centrally located near the beach, shopping, mayan ruins and a jumping downtown nightlife! (Woooohoooo!) The staff are fantastic and the vegetarian kitchen is to die for. Can't wait to return again this spring!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaSavage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Definitly the best place we found in Tulum and we saw a lot! It's located right in the middle of everything: the beach, the downtown, the cenote, the ruins! The price are really nice, it's for all the budget, individual rooms or dormitories. The hostal have a nice pool with a big palm tree just beside it. It's paradise! We went there for three nights and after going to guatemala came back to that hostal cause the place and the owner's are just so nice!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anndie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Great location! Great food! Great price! Finally a vegetarian restaurant in Tulum!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystinathehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
12.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#95 of 101 in Tulum
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#29 of 141 in Tulum
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#11 of 141 in Tulum
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Posada Malix Pek
Posada Malix Pek
#21 of 105 in Tulum
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
0.8 mi away
Amorcito Corazon Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalupa Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalupa Hostal

Address: Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $15 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located begining of the road that leads to the beach, we have spacious rooms with double beds and private baths in all rooms. We are close to the shopping center and banks which are at the entrance of Tulum town ,and are only 3 kilometors from the beach.Services:- Air conditioning.- 24 hr electricty and hot and cold water- Pool- Roof deck with lounge chairs- Bike rental- Vegetarian kitchen.Sale of liquor, information on tours and places to visit. Nos encontramos en la entrada de la carretera que conduce a la playa, tenemos amplias habitaciones con cama doble y baño privado en todas las habitaciones. Estamos cerca del centro comercial y los bancos que están en la entrada del pueblo de Tulum, a sólo 3 kilometros de la playaServicios: - Aire acondicionado. - 24 horas de electricidad, agua caliente y fría - Piscina. - Techo terraza con camastros. - Alquiler de bicicletas. - Cocina vegetariana.Venta de licor, información sobre excursiones y lugares para visitar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chalupa Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalupa Hostal Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing