We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Chalupa Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalupa Hostal
Ranked #47 of 84 Tulum B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I have been to Tulum many times & Hostal Chalupa is now my favorite place to stay. The staff is really friendly & accomodating; they make excellent suggestions for food & activities. I also like that there is a cook on site who will make you a great meal for very little money or you can stock on your own at the grocery accross the street. The pool makes for a great place to catch morning rays with coffee & the roofdeck is excellent for an evening cocktail under the stars. Muy Bueno!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesmchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
29
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

...Hostal Chalupa is so great!!!..cheap price for very clean and comfortable place ...not easy to find this kind of situation around the Mexico..the stuff is friendly and funny so even if you travel by your self you can't feel alone in that place...at the same time is very quiet and relaxing.....close to the beach an not far to downtown....on the opposite side of the street you can find the supermarket S'Francisco ( usuful!!! ) and taxi collettivo stop just on the corner and it's so easy to move to Akumal or everywhere you want......i will come back cause i missed that place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aguscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My stay at Chalupa Hostal was amaaaaaazing! It is centrally located near the beach, shopping, mayan ruins and a jumping downtown nightlife! (Woooohoooo!) The staff are fantastic and the vegetarian kitchen is to die for. Can't wait to return again this spring!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaSavage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Definitly the best place we found in Tulum and we saw a lot! It's located right in the middle of everything: the beach, the downtown, the cenote, the ruins! The price are really nice, it's for all the budget, individual rooms or dormitories. The hostal have a nice pool with a big palm tree just beside it. It's paradise! We went there for three nights and after going to guatemala came back to that hostal cause the place and the owner's are just so nice!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anndie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Great location! Great food! Great price! Finally a vegetarian restaurant in Tulum!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystinathehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The atmosphere was great, the people was very kind, service great, food excellet, was very clean and cozy, very relaxing, It has a very nice swimming pool and roof deck, free internet if you need to work on your lap top and the room rates are great!!. The location is perfect, near to downtown and close to the beach. I just want to go back a.s.a.p. I had a great experience with my son.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank analuisaarciniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenicia, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2010

When I was told about Chalupa Hostal I was very happy indeed. I am a vegetarian, a scuba diver and was looking for a safe and comfortable place to stay in Tulum. I was more than pleasantly surprised by the tidy and comfortable rooms, the open bright and colorful common areas, the most adorable pool around and the kind and warm employees. I was wowed by the food. This is a vegetarians dream come true.

A lot of thought went into setting up this small but wonderful hotel with the customer in mind at every turn. I can't say enough good things, Go and relax and enjoy the warm waters of Tulum.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywendola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#16 of 116 in Tulum
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emotion Tulum Hotel & Hostal
0.4 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#21 of 116 in Tulum
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#6 of 116 in Tulum
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#9 of 116 in Tulum
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corazon de Jade
Corazon de Jade
#32 of 84 in Tulum
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalupa Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalupa Hostal

Property: Chalupa Hostal
Address: Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located begining of the road that leads to the beach, we have spacious rooms with double beds and private baths in all rooms. We are close to the shopping center and banks which are at the entrance of Tulum town ,and are only 3 kilometors from the beach.Services:- Air conditioning.- 24 hr electricty and hot and cold water- Pool- Roof deck with lounge chairs- Bike rental- Vegetarian kitchen.Sale of liquor, information on tours and places to visit. Nos encontramos en la entrada de la carretera que conduce a la playa, tenemos amplias habitaciones con cama doble y baño privado en todas las habitaciones. Estamos cerca del centro comercial y los bancos que están en la entrada del pueblo de Tulum, a sólo 3 kilometros de la playaServicios: - Aire acondicionado. - 24 horas de electricidad, agua caliente y fría - Piscina. - Techo terraza con camastros. - Alquiler de bicicletas. - Cocina vegetariana.Venta de licor, información sobre excursiones y lugares para visitar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Chalupa Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalupa Hostal Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing