We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in town, hands down.”
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Ranked #24 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town, hands down.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

El Camello Jr was recommended by the staff at my hotel during my stay. They said it is where the locals eat.

Much to my surprise, the food was incredible. Having rented a car, I kept going back to try different things on their menu.

If you're looking for the real deal, authentic, and non-flamboyant dishes, this is where you should go.

I recommend the mixed ceviche. Be warned, portions are huge! I was barely able to get by a small ceviche and a fish fillet.

last but not least, pricing is excellent for the amount of food you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daiverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    498
    156
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Large portions of good Mexican seafood. A huge plate of nachos was brought out along with dips and tomato salad while we waited for our dinner. The garlic prawns were very good, and the ceviche went down a storm with the whole table. Be aware, the medium ceviche plate size was too big even for the guys in our group, but it did make a nice lunch the following day!
Dinner was very cheap for the amount of food we got.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch on a rainy day!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went for lunch last Friday and had the fish tacos. At 65 pesos, which is about $5, you can't go wrong. The margaritas were great too (60 pesos). Another place with lots of locals which means good food at a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliefromBuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, bad service, know what to order”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would stick with either the whole fried fish or the fish filet. Server was overloaded, didnt care to care, last plate came out 25 minutes after first plate

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lejinj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
“Quality & Value for money excellente!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When a restaurant is always busy you know the reason.....IT'S EXTREMELY GOOD AND AFFORDABLE.
It deserves to be recognized as one of the best restaurant in Tulum; probably is not the most beautiful one, but the food is worth it, first of all the fish!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bussola_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing