We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth to go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Ranked #20 of 348 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The fish was great along with the ambience. Service and orice were also very good so, it is worth to visit this place.

Helpful?
Thank Nquaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    430
    133
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ojen, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Usually have to queue up for a seat but its worth it!
Great local sea food run by locals and hope its stays the same cheesy interior included!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Habiba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fun little local seafood joint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great seafood at the far end of Tulum Pueblo, popular with locals and tourists alike. Also has a little fish market attached. Go early, it gets busy. We went for an early lunch around 11:30, it was quite full by the time we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

El Camello is on the main street of Tulum, and yes, just like many other restaurants in Mexico, it has plastic chairs, and is open air, with music. Tulum has great fresh seafood--and locals stop by El Camello to buy their fish, squid, and shrimp--all of which is available in the corner store of the restaurant. The fish here is really fresh, and good. Their 'small' ceviche is large enough to share. The fish tacos deserve their stellar reputation. Next time I'd like to be hungry enough to try the whole grouper. Local families were also enjoying the food, and everyone was happy. Mosquitoes? Sure, once in while, but nothing like the north woods. El Camello is a little down the main street of Tulum, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swamprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and cold beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Seafood soup was excellent! We travel to mexico every year and have been to alot of different places and this was byfar my husbands favorite soup so far. I myself didn't care for the crab in the soup but everthing else was very good. Service is a little slow and you will wait a while for a table if they are busy. I guess cuz they are just that busy.. as long as we had cold beer we didn't mind :) We ate there twice during our stay and both times were very good. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtorres3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing