We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Ranked #19 of 334 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ojen, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Usually have to queue up for a seat but its worth it!
Great local sea food run by locals and hope its stays the same cheesy interior included!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Habiba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    419
    125
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fun little local seafood joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great seafood at the far end of Tulum Pueblo, popular with locals and tourists alike. Also has a little fish market attached. Go early, it gets busy. We went for an early lunch around 11:30, it was quite full by the time we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

El Camello is on the main street of Tulum, and yes, just like many other restaurants in Mexico, it has plastic chairs, and is open air, with music. Tulum has great fresh seafood--and locals stop by El Camello to buy their fish, squid, and shrimp--all of which is available in the corner store of the restaurant. The fish here is really fresh, and good. Their 'small' ceviche is large enough to share. The fish tacos deserve their stellar reputation. Next time I'd like to be hungry enough to try the whole grouper. Local families were also enjoying the food, and everyone was happy. Mosquitoes? Sure, once in while, but nothing like the north woods. El Camello is a little down the main street of Tulum, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swamprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and cold beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Seafood soup was excellent! We travel to mexico every year and have been to alot of different places and this was byfar my husbands favorite soup so far. I myself didn't care for the crab in the soup but everthing else was very good. Service is a little slow and you will wait a while for a table if they are busy. I guess cuz they are just that busy.. as long as we had cold beer we didn't mind :) We ate there twice during our stay and both times were very good. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtorres3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Swimming against the tide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I know that everyone goes on about this place, but why? Its a dilapidated open front restaurant at the edge of town on a busy highway with plastic tables and chairs.You get more attention from flies and mosquitos than from the waiter. So you must be there for the fresh food, wrong. The food is stale and badly presented, There is nothing positive to say about this dump exept it didnt kill us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing