We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Camello

El Camello
Ranked #24 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Fast Food, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Local, not expensive and the freshest fish you'll ever have. The coconut shrimp are exceptional as is the ceviche. You know this place is one of the best when it is crowded with locals every night!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank calliope123toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    490
    153
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great Mexican food Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children enjoyed a great late afternoon lunch at El Camello. It was recommended by some locals and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we had to wait about 5 minutes for a table as they were very busy. Full of mostly locals it seemed. Service was fast and prompt once we were seated. The chips and salsa that we munched on were superb. We enjoyed a great dish of pulpo (octopus) first. We ordered a medium, but could have gone with the small as it was soooo much food. Following that we had some tacos that were equally as good. The only drawback, for us at least, is that there weren't many things our kids wanted to eat. They ended up eating only chips and rice and beans. We will return on our next trip to Tulum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelastravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yumm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Probably the best sea food in town! Amazing prices and service! A definite must try! Don't let the appearance fool you. It may not look fancy, but it is on par with the fanciest places around when it comes to food quality!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Exeellent food. If you see lots of people eating at a restaurant, stop and eat there too! Very good and very cheap!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank zontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The fish and shrimp tacos here were so good, I couldn't bring my self to order anything else. The salsa with the the seafood was outstanding. I also appreciated the sink being available to wash your hands before dining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing