We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be trusted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Ranked #31 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed January 16, 2012

GrandSlam unfortunately overbooked on the week I was supposed to go. They took full payment in my account, but cancelled at the last minute, leaving me with no option but to find myself another place. They have refunded my payment only 3 weeks later. I called them to express my disapointment and to see if they could help and I was not able to reach them or did not receive any call back from them for 7 days. Please be careful. Best vacations to all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Line202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Outstanding! Best room of any fly fishing lodge we've ever visited. Great food. Super staff. Fishing was truly special. Been all over Belize and the Bahamas and the fish here are big and plentiful. Knowledgable, hard working guide, Tomas, with very good English. Shots at big Permit 3 of the 6 days we fished. Bigger bonefish than we've seen in Belize. Fished a new area every day of 6 and caught bonefish at them all. Nice clean beach. Go!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pleibig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Grand Slam is truly a deluxe Fly Fishing Lodge. It is a jewel hidden away in Punta Allen. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. The meals were superb. The chief prepared fantastic beef, fish and lobster dishes. The presentation of the food was almost like a work of art. Our host “Bobby” was great at attending to all of our dining, relaxing and fly fishing needs. I would highly recommend Grand Slam if you are looking for a super deluxe fly fishing adventure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were ready to explore Punta Allan and the Sian Kaan Biosphere and ventured with our rental car down the long bumpy sand road to check out the Grand Slam Fly Fishing lodge. Interesting drive, amazing pristine coastline with most beautiful wild beaches, mangroves, beautiful lagoon, wildlife, small mayan ruin. We are Exotic Members and have been all over the Yucatan Peninsula but never made it down to Punta Allan in the past. We have taken a tour of the Sian Kaan with Amigos del Sian Kaan and knew we love this area. This was a fun adventure for us. Long and very rough sand road for the little Aveo rental car but worth the drive. Unfortunately, no one was at the Grand Slam Lodge to give us a tour. They must all have been out fly fishing. So we just walked around alone and toured the property. Very impressed with everything we saw and we hope to be able to stay here in the future. We are not fisherman but might try our luck with the lure. You don't have to be a fisher to like this lodge. If you are a nature lover like we are and like the off the beaten path type experience this is for you. It sure looks like a stay here would be a pampered and very laid back and great experience. We did get to use the restrooms in the Reception building and it was just as nice as at any of the other Karisma resorts with the same nice soap and hand lotion. Very, very clean and is probably and indication of how the suites are there. Nice pool area, beautiful beach and great gathering deck with cozy and stylish looking seating area. The restaurant and bar looked really inviting through the windows. We ended up having a great grilled fish lunch with very good margaritas at the little cabana hotel and campground next door called Playa del Sol. Very nice local family that owns the place. I posted our pix of the Grand Slam Lodge for whoever is interested.

Room Tip: They all face the ocean and are on the white beach
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The GrandSlam Lodge was spectacular in every way. From the moment my friends and I arrived, we were treated exceptionally well. The staff was tremendous. The food was incredible, and they will make whatever you want for breakfast. Ronnie, the bartender, was a great host to us, as he greeted us every evening after our fishing trips with the best margaritas we've ever had. I felt like I was visiting friends, as the staff was incredibly friendly and respectful. In addition, the rooms are the best in the Yucatan, complete with modern conveniences. The beach and lounging areas on the grounds are spectacular as well.

The fishing is just as great as the service at the lodge. Our guides were very knowledgeable and got us into fish each day. We mostly caught bonefish, but there are snook and permit available too. The fish are big and plentiful. My only suggestion would be to limit the number of fisherman per boat to 2.

If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway with world-class fly-fishing, then GrandSlam is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXheat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Until visiting Grand Slam Lodge, I had not yet traveled Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. Now that I've been, I've got to go back! Fly fishing lodges all have an appeal that's unique but Grand Slam really does stand out. Everything about it was top notch from the food to the staff to the fishing. It's a perfect spot to take a wife or a girlfriend regardless if they fish or not. When it comes to the fishing...we had shots at bonefish and permit every single day I fished. Another great part about it is the guides ask you in the morning what you want to do. The best part of the fishing out of Grand Slam is that you legitimately have a shot at catching bonefish, permit, tarpon and snook (Grand Slam) every day. You gotta go and check it out for yourself!
— John Frazier; Editor, Fly Fishing in Salt Waters magazine

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRfly313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

In my opinion, Grand Slam Fly Fishing Lodge pretty much has it all. The fishing is exceptional. One can fish for bonefish, tarpon, permit, snook and other popular gamefish. The restaurant is spectacular; I thoroughly enjoyed every meal.... lots of fresh cooked fish, lobster and traditional Mexican dishes. The rooms are very nice. The beach is beautiful. The town next to the lodge, Punta Allen, is lots of fun and very safe. What more can you ask for? I had a great time on my visit.

I posted a more thorough review of the lodge and area here:

[---]

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Bigfish44777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 100 in Tulum
452 reviews
0 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 100 in Tulum
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
911 reviews
0 mi away
Kira's Beach House
Kira's Beach House
#18 of 141 in Tulum
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge

Address: Carretera Tulum Punta Allen, Lote # Predio de San Miguel, Municipio de Solidaridad, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $394 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandslam Fly Fishing Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing