We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tapas in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gloria de Don Pepe

La Gloria de Don Pepe
Ranked #49 of 384 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Temecula
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Tapas in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made two new friends walking into this restaurant. Food was exceptional . The owners are wonderful warm people who know the town well. They have great wine also and the service can't be beat. Located on a charming side street we highly recommend you add this to your list on your trip to Tulum!

Tony and Donna

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJPToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    56
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small place, big flavor, small price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Oh yeah... This place is on a quiet side street, and it's just really simple, delicious, and cheap... The owner was really friendly, as well... Don't miss it...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BradBayliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“authentic spain in mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited in march 2013, loved the food, wish we had found it earlier in our holiday.
The aldondigas were good, well seasoned and meaty.
The gambas pil-pil were as good as we've had anywhere.
The platter of queso y carnes was excellent and we have had some of the best in Spain!
The service by the lady of the house was friendly and uncomplicated.
If the owner had spent less time leaning against my rental car and chatting to ( his son ? ) I might have given them six out of five!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coole-pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
1 review
“¡Visca Barça!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I highly recommend "La Gloria de Don Pepe"

They have an extensive menu that will not disappoint even the most hard-core Catalan tapas enthusiast.

A very personable staff will delight your senses with authentic tastes from the homeland!

Having lived in Barcelona, I disagree with bababeUk's review:

The tortilla española was excellent and is supposed to be a bit softer/runny in the center . . . delicioso!

The Paella - perfection. And I love the crispy edges.

And expensive? I think not! "La Gloria's" prices are extremely competetive with the neighboring taquerias.

My favorites so far are the traditionally Catalan Pa Amb Tomàquet, Croquetas de Pollo, and their Fideuà - served black (squid ink pasta) with shrimp and calamares, then topped with their supremely garlic-ey alioli.

I will certainly stop by for another visit before I leave Tulum.

The owner, Miguel (from Barcelona) is also a super-sweet host.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heferito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Cannot understand what all the fuss is about this restaurant. We went there because of the reviews and were so disappointed. Having lived in Spain for 3 years we were ready for some genuine Spainsh food. The prawns in garlic sauce were frozen and mushy. The tortilla was very strange, more like a very thin round omelette covering a soggy potato and onion filling. The paella was burnt and sour tasting at the bottom and the overiding flavour was of stock cube. An expensive mistake which we will not repeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bababeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria de Don Pepe also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Gloria de Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing