We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tulum Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Las Estrellas
Ranked #57 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Villas Las Estrellas is in the perfect location on the beach road. We have stayed at other Tulum hotels and Villas Las Estrellas definitely takes the cake! Perfect location, AWESOME staff and rooms that keep that Tulum rustic charm but aren't TOO rustic. The hotel and its rooms are bright, beachy and airy. It really is like staying in a beautiful beach house on one of the best beaches in the world. You can walk almost anywhere, but also take a quick cab ride if need be. The staff here are super helpful, friendly and ready to get you a cool drink :) We stayed here for 5 nights and would not hesitate to stay here again. Definitely our place to stay on the beach in Tulum. Don't second guess this gem!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect---we had room #5 and while I was a little nervous about the restaurant/bar being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeter2Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 267 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay in Tulum but first at Las Estrellas. We have stayed previously at Be Tulum and were worried about trying something new. Las Estrellas was so much better, in so many ways. The room (suite), staff, and location. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Amazing beach location in Tulum, near to some great bars and restaurants (although the one here is great also); probably the quietist and prettiest part of the beach. Some things to consider:

Staff: You'll struggle to find a nicer bunch of people, able to recommend restaurants, local excursions, lend you plug adaptors (yes we forgot ours, but turns out it didn't matter), and generally make you feel welcome.

Air Conditioning: Doesn't exist - you use the wind from the beach for this (although there is a big fan provided in the room) - it gets hot, but not crazy.

Beach: You're on it - it's the best.

Location: About $7-$8 to the centre of Tulum in a taxi, but you're not likely to do that if you're out here - you're in the right place for dinner already!

Food: Great! Amazing breakfast if you like fruit and bread, you can order eggs etc. for a little bit more.

Rooms: We were in Room 1; probably not the best as being on the ground floor means you have a room above you (creaky wooden floors) - not too bad, but if the people above you are jet-lagged and up early, not so good ....

Drinks: The Margaritas are lethal, don't have more than 2, you will struggle .., they do taste good though ...

Dog: Supercool dog 'Tequila' on site to serve up cuteness; you'l love him.

Bill: First time I've seen at checkout a challenge from the hotel team that the bill looked too high (I thought it was fine); they were right and they took about $100 off the bill - such honesty is amazing to see.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms are gorgeous! The staff was incredible. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The ocean was one step out our door and was beautiful. Nice, nice people. Towels in the shape of swans and bunnies were left on our bed each day. We left our windows and doors open with screens and slept like babies. Nothing bad to say!

Room Tip: We were in Room 6. It is upstairs so had a deligtful breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Came here with the bf for my 30th birthday and man did I love this place. When we arrived the the view was absolutely breathtaking! We had a room on the 2nd floor of the main house and overlooking the water and the beach below. As soon as you walk into the room you are greeted to an awesome view of tulum beach from the comfort of your bed! Our balcony had private beach access which i liked alot.

The room decor was beautifully decorated in a coastal chic manner. I loved the lite jazz music playing from the speaker in our room. It totally enhanced the lazy beach vacay mood :) For Mexico, the bed was very comfortable and not hard like most beds you get at the AI resorts. Bathroom was small and shower pressure kind of sucked, but didn't put a damper on our trip in the least.

The restaurant area facing the beach was great and relaxing. Loved the morning breakfast of fruits and pastries and coffee and juices.

Overall the place was just perfect for couples and those looking to relax in a beautiful setting without having to go too rustic. No AC, but the ocean breeze was more than enough. If I had any complaint it would be that the food is on the pricey side and, at least the lasagna my bf ordered, was rather underwhelming. I had the caprese which was good, but not great. Loved the pineapple juice. I can't speak for the other restaurant dishes. I think we spent almost $50 for that meal and were a little disappointed if not for the yummy juice! Other than that, we loved the place and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms facing the ocean were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzlesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay overnight here, but stumbled upon the place hungry and thirsty on our way to Hartwood restaurant in tulum. What a fantastic surprise! My boyfriend had the octopus and I had the shrimp tacos, neither dishes we would normally love or order. They were delightful. Wonderful service and beautiful atmosphere. Also the sweetest golden retriever named Tequila to keep you company.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RNaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband, daughter (4YO), and I stayed here in February at peak season. We stayed between cabaña two and three during our four-night stay. It is a beautiful, quiet, comfortable, and relaxing place. The restaurant staff was very friendly, and we were greeted with fun welcoming drinks. The restaurant/breakfast room is a beautiful open sunny space right on the beach. Breakfast was fruit, juice, bread, and coffee; eggs were an additional charge. Our room was spacious and was blissfully mosquito-free. The bed was super comfortable, and we loved our front porch with the nice patio furniture and a giant hammock. If you are traveling with a small child, I highly recommend the cabaña over the standard rooms. The beach is on a beautiful stretch, and there are plenty of lounge chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks to find a lovely quiet spot. My daughter fell in love with Tequila, the resident Golden Retriever.

Our dealings with reservations seemed a bit perfunctory at times compared to the other property we stayed at. I will admit it was a bit bothersome to switch room on the last day of our vacation (and the couple who was checking out of the cabaña 2 that needed to check into seemed to depart very late, so we felt "roomless" for a good stretch of the day). If you do need to switch rooms, don't do it on your last day of vacation. Please note we booked 3.5 months in advance and we had difficulty in getting a reservation for eight nights anywhere, so we stayed four nights here and four nights at another property.

Overall, it is a very peaceful and comfortable place. It seemed to me to be one of the most beautiful places in Tulum. If it is in your budget, I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Cabaña 1 is closest to the beach, but all the cabañas are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#66 of 98 in Tulum
159 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 98 in Tulum
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#58 of 98 in Tulum
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
1.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Estrellas

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#24 Family Hotel in Tulum
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $213 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Las Estrellas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Estrellas has the objective to offer our guest a personalized attention whit a warm and friendly service in an environment of astonishing tranquility and natural beauty. We are working hard to keep a exclusive service highlighting security, warmth but above all relaxation in this incredible paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Las Estrellas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Estrellas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing