We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Las Estrellas
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in Paradise!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

With 8 rooms all facing the ocean you are truly in paradise. It was very zen and truly a special experience. Located on the most white pristine beach and turquoise blue waters. Easy walking distance to other hotels and restaurants.
Food was always impeccable, tasty and a delightful presentation. We were very well catered to, yet left to our privacy if needed. Highly recommended for a very relaxing retreat!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaandLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    38
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
52
125
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

a beautiful hotel, large rooms steps from the water on a great part of the beach, wonderful food and the hosts are very accommodating. Will return one day. Only downside were the mosquitoes (not an issue in the room) but outside, at the beach, in the town, they seemed to be particularly fierce last time we were there.

Room Tip: I have not visited their new bungalows but the rooms at either side of the restaurant are perfect, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic Spot! The drinks were great and the mussel & clams were the best in all of the Mayan Riviera. My favorite Sunday Funday spot! Rent bikes and explore Tulum... definitely stop here - one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelodiousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful stay at Villa Las Estrellas. Pictures on website are exactly like reality, friendly staff, good breakfast, good restaurant and amazing view. The property is right on the beautiful beach of Tulum and walking along the sea early in the morning was amazing. Well-deserved full five for the property and for the staff (Paco is great and so are the other staff members both at reception and in the restaurant!). Cocktails served to you while you’re reading on the beach was super. Few info on Tulum that I was looking for when booking the holiday. 1: car rental: we rented a car from the airport and drove down to Tulum. It takes between 1 hour and 30 minutes and 2 hours. The road is a two lanes per way motorway pretty much straight. Road signs are perfect and driving was easy. There were a couple of police checkpoints that slow down traffic but nothing major. We read a lot before travelling about police stopping you to get money etc. We drove extensively through Yucatan and saw nothing as such. Few checkpoints but if you wear the seatbelt and stick to the speed limit you are fine. The most dangerous thing are the road bumps to slow down traffic (called tope)…after a while you get used to them! One advice I can give is to avoid driving at night as it is really dark and road lighting is pretty much non-existent. 2: Tulum facilities: Tulum has no electricity and every hotel works with its own generator. This is the beauty of the place because it means that no large hotel exists here. I think only a couple of places have air conditioning but we slept in a sea facing room (all are in the property from what I could see) and we had the windows open (there are mosquito nets) and slept perfectly fine without suffering at all. We saw that in the room there was a large fan in the wardrobe but never even take it out. The water is non-drinkable and I think it is purified sea water, because it was a tiny bit salty. It did not bother us at all and, being a girl, I just used a bottle of water to rinse my hair at the end of the shower. I read, also on other TA reviews of other hotels in Tulum before booking people complaining about nightlife etc. If you want loud music, discos, air conditioning etc go to Playa del Carmen or Cancun. Tulum has a different vibe and the beauty is the life on the beach. The area is safe, there are lots of restaurant facing the sea or more internal and all we tried was good. Going for dinner and coming back to the hotel walking on the beach was pretty special. Finally mosquitos: we used repellent on ourselves and the plug in machine that we brought from home overnight (there is also one provided by the hotel) and we had no problem. Maybe we were lucky with the weather as it was a bit windy. All in all I highly recommend this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we didn't stay at the hotel and I'd really like to emphasize the beginning of my sentence: Unfortunately !

The place is owned and managed by friendly and smiling Italians but for us the real stars were the staff leaded by Paco !
Once we tried the restaurant the second day of our stay in Tulum we couldn't go any place else to have diner...

Their specialty is definitely the sea food with delicious FRESH lobsters very well cooked "a la plancha", great and tasty shrimps and as for any good Italian restaurant very well executed pasta !

The place is very charming and simple with direct view on the ocean. A very important point for
Me was also the great jazzy music with its relatively low volume. At last you can have a real conversation without shouting in the restaurant with whoever you're going !

We stayed at Los lorios cabanas, a place from which you definitively want to stay
away !!
And since we were not able to stay at the Villa las Estrellas I can't say I'll have a judgement on the room and the hotel itself however If the level of service and kindness is the same for the hotel as it is for the restaurant then do not hesitate !

Thanks Paco, Joel and all the rest of the staff ! We really enjoyed !

PS. Since the actual date wasn't available the most recent being June 2012 there goes the real data: May 2013

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martincarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a beautiful place to wake up. The HUGE drawback, there's no air-conditioning. They do offer you a fan but it was so noisy, it made sleeping a challenge.

They offer a nice breakfast of fresh fruits etc.. But it the exact same thing every morning. So nothing terribly exciting but it served it purpose.

The room are a nice size, clean and you can't beat the view! It's right on the beach so just steps to the water. And just a warning, they have "salt water" showers so you never feel quite clean. It was fine while we were there but on the day of our departure we went into town and bought huge water bottles to "bathe" just so we could feel clean on our flight home. Not a deal breaker...but it's worth knowing in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitten712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013


We visited Tulum in mid-March. It was our third visit in three years. This was out first stay at Villa Las Estrellas. We discovered it last year for dining when we were renting a house nearby. It seemed like the perfect spot on the beach.

After a week there we can happily confirm that Las Estrellas is the ideal place for a stay in Tulum. It spills out on to the beach, and is surrounded on both sides by open space, which allows for maximum light in the rooms and restaurant, and makes the entire place airy and free of mosquitos.

We had a suite, which was extremely spacious, both inside and out, with a porch and lawn furnished with two hammocks, an outdoor bed and other furniture. The suite was well appointed in that rustic kind of way.

The staff at Las Estrellas is very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect people falling at your feet here. There's a laid back feel, but all of our needs were met with a genuine desire to provide hospitality.

While all the staff was very good, we have a special fondness for Paco. He's a waiter at the restaurant, and was there last year when we visited. It's often the people you meet that make vacations special and memorable, and Paco is one of those people.

I should add the restaurant is very good. We ate there very often. There are also good places very nearby.

We expect to return next March.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowFoodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Estrellas

Property: Villa Las Estrellas
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#24 Family Hotel in Tulum
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Las Estrellas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Estrellas has the objective to offer our guest a personalized attention whit a warm and friendly service in an environment of astonishing tranquility and natural beauty. We are working hard to keep a exclusive service highlighting security, warmth but above all relaxation in this incredible paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Las Estrellas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Estrellas Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing