We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada 2 Amigos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada 2 Amigos
Ranked #60 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this place in Booking.com thanks to the excellent reviews and we got to say that the place is better then what described. It is absolutely astonishing!
We are travelling as a married couple in Mexico and our journey will take seven months, we are super trained travellers but still we like certain comforts. A/C and pool help to stand the hot beautiful wheather.
Posada 2 Amigos is definetely the place where to be! The guys in charge of the place are very nice and helpfull, they gave as a warm welcome. We went to stay couple of days and we ended up booking the entire month!
The rooms are big, very well furnished and absolutely spotless! They are cleaned every morning so no bad surprises about cleaneliness.
The outside area is very enjoyable: hammochs, big pool with colour therapy during the evening. You can use it until 10.30 p.m. and you can combine this relaxing moment with a bottle of house wine, spoil yourself! Here you can relax and enjoy your holiday.
It is just 5 minutes walking from Tulum Avenue and ADO Bus station, basically around the corner!
My wife and I are really pleased to have found this paradise and we strongly raccomend it to everybody!

Alex-Ilaria

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Ferrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked this place through Booking.com and got a pretty good price (a lot less than many other places in Tulum and much less than the advertised price). Normally I wouldn't book in advance like this, but as it was Easter break time Tulum was pretty busy so I thought it was a good idea. Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights and although the price was ok for the area and time of year, this was one of our least favourite places on our recent Central America trip.
The hotel itself is lovely, in a quiet area with a great garden and nice pool area. However the room that we stayed in was not great. I'm not sure whether it's because we booked through a third party, but we were given a small room on the ground floor near the reception. I think it was the smallest room, as I had a peak next door and this looked much bigger, plus the rooms at the back downstairs and upstairs also looked bigger with large windows overlooking the garden.
I understand that you get what you pay for, and I need to point out that we are not fussy travellers; if we pay a lot less than the advertised price then we do not expect to get the best room. However we thought that there were a few things that should still have been better; small things that on their own do not matter but add up to create a bad overall impression. Firstly, the window did not lock in the room we were staying in, and when we asked about this, the staff said that it was broken so could not be locked. Secondly, the room was very small without any fan and a small window, which meant it was really hot pretty much all the time. Thirdly, the shower surround was made of wood which looks lovely but is not particularly practical as water leaks through it; we ended up with a flood through the bathroom and down to the bedroom, which was quite funny actually, but also dangerous as we slipped up a few times.
We would have asked to change room, but the hotel was full and as we were there for just two nights it did not matter to us too much. Plus we were out pretty much all day so we only used the room to sleep in.
Overall I think this is probably a good option if you want to be in Downtown Tulum and are willing to pay a bit extra to get one of the better rooms. As I said, the location and general feel of the hotel are great. Otherwise I would suggest that at the basic price, other posadas nearby might be an equivalent or better choice, as the room we had felt more like a hostel type room, which is not bad just not what we were expecting from this place; maybe our expectations were too high from all the other excellent reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the pool area as they would be quieter than downstairs rooms ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a wonderful and charming little place! My husband, our 16 year old daughter and I spent 6 days at Posada 2 Amigos and would love to come back. The staff was just absolutely wonderful. Great complimentary breakfast, too! Nothing sounds good here at home after those yummy fresh fruit and local bakery goods... Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2, a nice size room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla_happy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here 8 nights and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, a very big and comfortable bed and wonderful breakfasts made by chef Benito. The owners Angie and Christian, as well as staff Miguel, are very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The hostel itself is situated at the far end of pueblo Tulum, but you can rent bikes at the hostel if you're heading for the beach (which is a good 25 minutes ride away), and to the main avenue it's only a 5-10 min walk. It's a residential area and a bit dark at night, but I felt safe walking around. The room was cleaned to perfection every day and altogether it felt like a bit of luxury on a small budget. It's not a party hostel but rather a chilled out place for relaxing and getting a good nights sleep. Warmly recommend this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place is beautiful, peaceful and laidback. I stayed there for 6 nights and it was wonderful. It's very clean, the pool area is so cosy and the rooms are very conforfable. The staff, (owner) Angie, Christian and Miguel are very sweet, they're really out there to help you. The room are new, spotless and the beds are huge. The bathroom is also spacious and they now have bicycle to go around. It's a great choice if you want to be in Tulum pueblo.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicelamenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I planned two nights, ... and stayed eventually five! You only do this, when you really like the place. Kristian is great with his laidback attitude, Rocio is an astonishing cook for her age, and you feel, that she loves cooking. Better eating here, than in town!! Chilling at the pool in the evening after spending the day in cenotes or at the beach made every day special. I am coming back...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days at the beginning of our trip around Mexico. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool with massive beds. It was spotless and cleaned every day.

It was lovely chilling by the pool in the hammocks in the afternoon.
The family who run this place are very friendly and helpful.

If you want a little bit of luxury compared to normal hostels then this place is great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilypollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada2amigosTulum, Owner at Posada 2 Amigos, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback!
We wish them good trip! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howlita Hotel Tulum
Howlita Hotel Tulum
#5 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Llena Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AQUA VIVA Tulum
AQUA VIVA Tulum
#44 of 81 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Malix Pek
Posada Malix Pek
#23 of 81 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Village
Coco Village
#11 of 115 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada 2 Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada 2 Amigos

Property: Posada 2 Amigos
Address: Calle Chanchen Entre Zazil-Ha 10 | y Nicte-ha, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada 2 Amigos 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Dos Amigos is located downtown Tulum, in Riviera Maya Mexico. It offers 10 rooms at affordable price, Italian restaurant at night, swimming pool, just few block away from the Caribbean sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada 2 Amigos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing