We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingway Restaurant

Hemingway Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 384 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Small and nice restaurant where Hemingway and 'recommended reservation for dinner. The Chef Luke and Nicola, Italian, will present you with love and care with their fish dishes, homemade pasta, seafood, bread, cake and a nice selection of desserts always home-made with fresh ingredients.We use only fresh fish, ripe tomatoes and extra virgin olive oil. For breakfast in the morning, bread, dessert of the day and homemade jam. The restaurant is ocean front and has a nice big terrace on the beach! Only 5 tables.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Laid back Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch. It’s run by an Italian with no menu; you select from what is available on the day and we chose seafood pasta and frito misto. We were delighted with both, fresh, beautifully presented and, we felt, reasonably priced for the quality. Our leisurely meal was enhanced by Nigel and Dorian playing on the terrace. On our return, we looked it up on TA and were surprised to see that our experience was at odds with many other reviewers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OneBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food was beautifully presented and tasty. It was on the main tourist row but still much more expensive than anywhere else. The glasses of wine were a 4 oz pour. Standard in the states is 6 oz. I never had anything less than 6 oz or more in Mexico. The margarita was only half filled. 2 4 oz pours of wine, 1 1/2 of a margarita, 2 appetizers (Bruschetta and cheese plate) over 80 USD.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhimsicalMimsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Hemingway has a concept of not having written menues which is a terrible idea when being understaffed and the staff does not speak English. But this is only one of the issues. We arrived early at 6.45 without a reservation and were told that we could have a table but that we had to leave before 8.30 since it was reserved. There were only two tables occupied before us. Still, it took us 20 mins to order two glasses of wine from one of the waiters. When he arrived to our table after another 10 mins to open the bottle and serve us the head waiter (who is the only English-speaking waiter) finally came around and told him and us that this wine was not available by the glass. She then presented the menu and we ordered the grilled tuna and the gnocci. After 8 pm the food still hadn't showed up and I asked her about it and got the answer that it was because everything was home made and it was a full restaurant (which it was at that time but only four people had ordered before us). At 8.30, when we were supposed to leave our table for the people with a reservation, our food had still not arrived. We were told again that it was home made. When we finally got it, the tuna was really dry and the gnocci overcooked. Don't go here unless you speak spanish and are in the absolute off-season so you are the only guests.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snobben-Gulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat here if you speak English”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrive and after 10 minutes of no one coming to our table we finally flag someone down just to get water. We ask for flat and get sparkling.

Another 10 minutes before someone comes to explain the menu (there is none to hand out). Terrible idea when the waitresses don't speak English. We could have gotten a better idea of the menu by reading the board at the entrance (bare minimum descriptions ie vegetable salad, seafood salad etc).

We asked about a seafood pasta dish that was recommended to us by a friend and were asked by the waitress whether we wanted a portion for 1 or 2. She explained that it normally came for 2 but that it could also be made for one. We very clearly stated we wanted a single portion (with a single finger held up) and ended up with a double on the bill. Clearly the fault of the restaurant, who had asked an inexperienced, non English speaking person to fill in during peak tourist season.

When we asked to have the portion changed on the bill the manager came over and stated that there were no single portions, we must have misheard the waitress, and that we still had to pay 55 (!) usd for the dish. They argued that because we had partially eaten it before we realized their error it was our fault, despite the fact we had waited over an hour for our food and were starving by the time it arrived.

Any other restaurant we've ever eaten at would have comped the extra portion. The fact that they refused showed that they lack any sense of common decency and customer service. Worst of all, we wasted 2 hours of out vacation afternoon in this mess. Worst service in Tulum. Don't make the same mistake we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Apalm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stopped by for lunch and were underwhelmed. The margaritas, which we always look forward to, were watery and disappointing. We had a salad which was very fresh and some delicious grilled shrimp. The rest of the meal was average and overall we found it a bit pricey. Beautiful beach view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler111113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway Restaurant also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hemingway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing