We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment. Noisy room. Four sleepless nights.”
Review of Hotel Amoreira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amoreira
Ranked #13 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It was not our first stay in Tulum. We love the place for it's tranquility, beautiful beaches and eco friendly environment.
We booked a family room 4 months in advance knowing that the beginning of year is a very busy time in Tulum.
On the arrival we found out that our room was located in the backyard facing the car stop on one hand and a very busy yard of another hotel on the other. Of course, not the best solution for the hotel that claim to bring you closer to the nature.
The room was decent, we were a little bit surprised that there was no shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. A trifle, of course, but when you pay for the room over 500 US dollars per day...
And the worst thing that actually completely spoiled our stay - it was a sound of diesel generator. The generator was working non stop day and night, and it was extremely loud.
Aniko, the hostess, told us that it started just one week before we arrived. But it was a poor excuse for us. She admitted that the sound was too loud and told us that they will not let this room in the future (though you can still find the room on booking.com).
Finally, we were given 10% discount - not a lot if you consider the room completely not suitable for staying.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Prokhorovvladimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable relaxing spot in a gorgeous area, this is it. It does not offer the luxuries of other boutique hotels nearby (bar, waiters, expensive decor) but it is a cute, well maintained newer structure that is smartly arranged. We had a garden view room and could still get the benefit of the nice, cool ocean breeze at night because there are spaces between the other rooms for air travel as well as screens on 3 sides of the room for cross-breezes. No AC but a very functional ceiling fan. Like other reviews say, it is a bit like staying in a treehouse--in all the best ways.

The room was spacious and decorated with colourful murals, featuring a king-sized bed and a clean, private new-looking bathroom. The screens seemed to work, because while I was bitten by mosquitoes and flies walking around, I never saw one in the room.

The staff was fantastic--from Anika (the owner?) and Sonija to the cleaning staff, everyone was relaxed and casual but super helpful. I was with my 9 month old baby whose nap times varied away from his routine but somehow the cleaning staff always knew when we were out to come in--no knocking or checking.

Breakfast was light and varied and you had use of the kitchen facilities all day but someone did your dishes for you! This was a great feature with a baby and his feedings.

The beach was great (though this is not the best section of the reef for snorkelling off shore in general) and there are almost no motorized boats in this section. Yay!

Restaurants nearby can be pricy by Mexican standards (not for home) but there is some damn good food to be had nearby (Simple, Luv Tulum, Casa Jaguar and Tita Tulum for more homey food). Cooking some meals in-house can offset thins if you are on a budget. I just liked not having to take such a long time to have lunch in a restaurant. Renting bikes seems to be a good idea in the area, but not in our case with a baby.

I would definitely return.

Room Tip: More breezes closer to the ocean if you are travelling during a hot time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woodsiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a great stay here for 3 nights. The resort itself was dead (early October) but this hotel was still full. The rooms are all above ground on wooden walkways - feels like a treehouse. This is not a luxury hotel but doesn't pretend to be. The rooms are basic but beautiful with a big king bed, mosi net and a shower room. Hot water was plentiful, and the fan was very good at cooling us (no aircon).

The beach it is on is probably the nicest beach I've seen in the world and the sand is like flour! Plenty of sun beds and shade are provided as well as hammocks and chairs. The shared kitchen is a great idea too with a very generous breakfast provided.

The only things I can think of for improvement would be a bit more separation between bathroom and bedroom - it's only a half door, and a basic honesty bar for water/juice/beer etc as there is nothing on site for sale and without a car to get to the supermarket this would be frustrating.

For the price - excellent value.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ianp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms are high above the ground and solidly constructed of strong timber, connected by timber walkways. They are beautifully decorated with touches of luxury - my bed was big enough for 3! Our room just metres from the beach, which has lovely sun lounges and sun shelters. All the hotels along this road seem to have their own section of a very long beach, and I thought ours was the best. I felt safe swimming there and I liked the comfy lounges. In fact the beach is one of the most beautiful I have ever been to. This hotel provides its own solar power and there was a good reliable supply of power, water and wifi. There are flyscreens on the windows and we never needed to use the mosquito nets over the beds. In hot weather you get a nice breeze and there is a ceiling fan as well. The floorboards don't creak at all, but you do notice your bed shudder a bit when someone else walks across the room. The breakfast area has a really nice atmosphere with friendly staff and a thoughtful and yummy breakfast. For lunch or dinner options, you walk along the beach or along the road to any of the other places that have a restaurant. If you need a taxi, you only need to walk along the road for 30 seconds and one will pass you and pick you up. There is a very tiny shop nearby that sells the odd packet of biscuits, drinks, some tinned food, eggs and a few vegetables.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was so peaceful. We enjoyed the beach front view and every morning had an amazing view. The entire staff was a pleasure to have around. They always had a smile on their face and provided us with everything we needed. The breakfast was great and the kitchen was always full. Surrounding the hotel were great places to visit as well as eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsoto2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Amoreira for two nights, in a seaview room. Seaview at Amoreira means waking up with the sea at only about 30 meters distance from your window. The rooms are spacious, and offer a great value for your money. The hotel only has about 14 rooms, which makes it feel nice and secluded.

What we experienced as a downside to Amoreira is its distance from the town and the ruins. As the hotel does not have its own restaurant, dining options close to Amoreira are limited. The beautiful beach, the rooms and the great service from Jutka make it worth your stay! Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nonkelbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rocco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#36 of 98 in Tulum
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amoreira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amoreira

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Seccion 3. Km 8,5, Tulum 7778, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $140 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amoreira 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amoreira, is the ultimate getaway for families, diving or kite enthusiasts and couples looking for that perfect out of the way spot for romance. Combining Mexican resort charm and the unique Mayan style. Hotel Amoreira is a beachfront resort with 4 Beachfront Rooms, including one spacious Family Room, two Garden View Double Rooms, one Garden View Family Room and one Honeymoon Room with private balcony. Hotel Amoreira is offering natural vacation rooms on a truly fantastic location, a perfect place to recharge your batteries and enjoy nature in stylish, private and amazing surroundings. The hotel is only one kilometer away from Siaan Kan the biospheres reserve of Unesco and is very near to cenotes and lagoons. All spaces in Hotel Amoreira have solar energy and ecology systems. Services: maintenance, free internet wireless connection, parking area, energy, water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amoreira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing