We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziggy's

Ziggy's
Ranked #20 of 384 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Caribbean sun, sweeping white sand beach, big coconut trees, and a breathtaking view of the turquoise sea. This is not a description of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Crusoe, it is the location of Ziggy's,Beach Club and Restaurant. Open from 7am-11pm every day. We offer our guests three different types of menu: international Breakfast - tasteful snacks and Lunch at our Beach club - fine gourmet Dinner selection. It's the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. This is the place to go for delicious seafood and excellent drinks.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited here the first night for drinks. They did not have happy hours like the other places, but the drinks were a bit better than the other places wound up being anyway. It was really nice on the water at night, and we had the tuna chip appetizer which was amazing. We wound up coming back for breakfast another day and post-dinner drinks again. The manager remembered us the last time we were in there too. While not the cheapest deal, not that horribly priced and the service was consistently good, along with the food. I would definitely check out this place while in Tulum. They also have a pool table! It is within Hotel Cabanas Tulum, but you should see a sign for Ziggys also

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    243
    71
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“was served animal organs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got their "dinner special"...she got the fish, I got the "flank steak". But it wasn't steak...it was some sort of kidney served with a light arrachera sauce.

We've all eaten meat before and this was more like biting into a "tofu" steak. Maybe it was the tenderest piece of meat ever served, but it had a consistency that was softer and lighter than chicken breast. Needless to say I sent it back and choked down some of the rubbery fish, instead

The margaritas were just triple sec with lime, dessert was crepes with orange juice (theatrically lit on fire to impress us)

My dreams will eternally be haunted by this meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jesselun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjiFernandez, General Manager at Ziggy's, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry that you remember this event in that way, although I would like to explain that we have written menus and we specify very clear what ingredients are in each dish, according to the recipe.

Our Maitre, our chef and all the staff that work at Ziggy’s will never give any of our customers one thing that is different to what was asked for. We do not lie to our guests. We take care of specific dietary restrictions, such as allergies or preferences as vegetarians and on occasions we even have to buy extra ingredients or specific kitchen utensils to accomplish that.

It’s true that meat consistency might be different in different parts of the world, due to the food and cares taken on the animals and food processes. That is why we are very careful in selecting from local suppliers. We know that some guest will expect to have the same characteristics they have in restaurants in their home, and since we have guests from all over the world, sometimes it is a little bit difficult to have products that will be perfect for everyone’s expectations. In fact, the same night you dined with us, we served 24 portions. So, you can feel tranquil that you did not eat anything strange. In effect, the dish was changed for fish and this would have been the same with margaritas or anything that you dislike.

The flamed crepes are not made with the intention to impress, they are just prepared at the moment in front of our guests as we do with Mayan Coffee & some other desserts. With all this explained, I would like to share that guests can come to our restaurant and their satisfaction is guaranteed, although I have a Maitre and a Manager on duty, as Director I am reachable all the time to receive feedback and take care of our customers.

Benjamin Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Definitely stop here if you get the chance. We ate here several time during our stay next door and enjoyed every meal. Breakfast was particularly good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took a drive down here looking for somewhere to eat. Ziggys had alot of parking and looked pretty good so we stopped in. It is right on the beach and had fantastic food. My mom had never been to Mexico before and swore she was not going to eat anywhere off of the resort but she felt good about eating here and loved her meal. My daughter loved that she could play in the sand while we waited. The only thing was they were a little slow with bringing out food and drinks. Besides that the food and drinks were super good. If you are down in Tulum you should def stop in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jolene138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took a day trip to Tulum from Playa Del Carmen, drove along the narrow beach road and pulled into Ziggy's by chance. What a beautiful environment... a tropical oasis, with sand underfoot, quiet, shady, waves splashing at our feet. The service was impecable, the food even better! Grouper, Cevice, all delicious.. The staff climb trees for coocnuts, and create tropical drinks before your eyes. The GM came over and welcomed us and then took us on a private tour of their rooms and lobby and new pool... Its a small, charming, serene, natural resort right at the waters edge... a terrific lunch spot, but also serve dinner and breakfast and might be the place we stay next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ziggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing