We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a good choice if you want stay within locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Tulum
Ranked #10 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“It's a good choice if you want stay within locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was a good experience for us. We are happy to book our room there, but next time we will go to another part. Not because we don't liked, but because it was in the city, we would like to stay closer to the beach.
Senora Elda was great, we were satisfied with her. The man in the restaurant was not so friendly and we waited for a long time to receive our order. I don't know why the restaurant don't serve dinner and launch? Only sandwiches, croissant, etc, everything for breakfast even afternoon.
The room was good, we liked and was clear. We had issue with the bathroom: something bad odor (but bad that we had to close the door immediatelly we left). We don't complained about that.
There was always free spot in the parking. Sleeping was not to quiet due to the noise from the street (bus, police cars, etc).
The daily service was good too. The terrace was great. We liked the cats we found everywhere in the hotel. So it was very good and I recommend for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison_Tulum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maison Tulum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so grateful with your comments, our mission is give you an excellent service, and this kind of opinions help us to get better. We hope you come to visit tulum again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    118
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
55
241
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved this hotel! 2 blocks from the ADO bus station, much much less expensive than most Tulum hotels, and really attractive with all the plants and flowers.

The front desk was always so friendly and helpful. We had breakfast each morning at the little on-site bakery... delicious and cheap! Room 1 was a little dark (missing a light in the sitting area), but the courtyard view was nice and we liked the bathroom a lot. The room itself was quite spacious, as well.

My only complaint (and the reason I can't rate the hotel with a 5) is the sheets. I'm not very picky about bedding, but the sheets felt like paper.

If and when we go back to Tulum, we'll be staying here for the great price and beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoritaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison_Tulum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maison Tulum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for your vote. Our compromise is give you an excellent service so we are taking note about your comments to be better and better. We will be happy to see you in your the next trip. You can follow in our social network to be in touch.
Find us in facebook like : Maison Tulum Hotel - Cafe & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Maison Tulum is a wonderful place to stay. The owner Simon and his staff do everything to accommodate you in their quaint hostel. There is a bakery/restaurant on site that makes delicious fresh pastries and bread every day, bike rentals, rooftop terrace, massage services, tour info, as well as lots of friendly cats that roam the premises. We stayed in room 1 and were extremely satisfied with the room. Try the baguette sandwiches!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pachapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison_Tulum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maison Tulum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for your vote and recommendations. for us, it is wonderful to receive this type of feedback because it helps us know what you like and what we need to enhance. We are delighted to have complied with your expectations and we will be happy to receive you again when visiting Tulum. we invite you to follow us on social networks to be in constant touch. You can find us on Facebook as: Maison Tulum Hotel - Cafe & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our recent trip to Tulum introduced us to this hotel by accident. But as many travelers know this is sometimes the source of great unintended discoveries.

Sitting two blocks off of the main avenue in central Tulum makes this an ideal location to walk to virtually any restaurant you might care to try. La Nave, Cetli, Ginger, Le Bistro, Don Cafeto's, and more are all five minute walks.

Maison Tulum is very clean. The free WiFi was exceptionally good, streaming movies from Netflix to the iPad was actually better then the irregular reception we sometimes get at home in Connecticut.

Maison Tulum features it's own bakery and restaurant. An especially good place to start the day with fresh baked croissants and coffee. A good place to people watch because of the steady flow of locals that drop by to have their coffe and breakfast too. This I feel is always a good sign - the locals support their efforts.

One rainy morning with our plans to spend the day at the beach no longer an option, the front desk staff lead by Elda Orihuelo, made a couple of calls on our behalf while we were still sipping our coffee. She contacted a company called Mexico Kan Tours. And this would turn out to be one of the highlights of our visit.

One of the owners of Mexico Kan Tours, Miguel Uribe, met us at the hotel in a shiny new 4x4 and we set off as three good friends might. We had explained we did not want to visit the traditional tourist sites and we were not interested in shopping for hammocks and the like - not that there is anything wrong with that. Miguel understood that we wanted to visit things from a locals perspective - and that we would like to include the city of Valladolid.

In all honesty I think Miguel enjoyed taking a break from the normal duties of escorting tourists from site to site. He is extremely knowledgeable and in perfect English taught us about traditional Mayan culture and the changing world that tourism is bringing to the country. Keep in mind that all of his comments were comfortably informational and based upon all of our questions. He did not lecture us at any time. In Vallaolid we spent the day with locals, in their markets, their food stalls, and on their beautiful colonial streets - all with an insider that moved us without fanfare to some of the best sites and sounds that we had on our trip to Mexico. And it was indeed a bargain. Seek out Miguel and plan your own day.

Maison Tulum is located in Central Tulum. Is there a little street noise at night - yes. But it fades quickly and was never a factor in sleeping well. Is there an occasional cat walking by? Yes, it's Mexico. Maison Tulum is super clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and for the price it is hard to beat. TRG.

Room Tip: Upper floor have balconies, rooms have AC, fans, nice bathrooms with plenty of hot water, and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thames R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison_Tulum, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Maison Tulum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted that the coincidences of the trip has brought us. We appreciate your comments and we are pleased that your stay was perfect. Our commitment is to always look for ways to give the best service and help you to have the best experience. We hope you come back soon, we will be happy to receive you again. We invite you to follow us on social networks, find us on facebook as: Maison Tulum Hotel - Cafe & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the 5th time staying here. Tulum has become our Home Away
from home in Mexico. Whether you are staying in Tulum or visiting all the great places in the Yucatan, Quitana Roo or Chiapas, this is the place you can depend on.
It is the most friendly, informative, clean, safe, comfortable, delicious place to stay. It is located in town, so the shops and restaurants are all within a safe walking distance. The Ruins and Beach are a quick taxi ride or good bike ride away.
The rooms (8) are all spacious, clean and uniquely decorated. They all have mini fridges, coffee maker, tv, hair dryer and ac. The rates are very reasonable. The cafe serves breakfast and lunch and has a wonderful bakery with the smell of croissants and chocholat wafting up into the air.
The place is like a tree house with beautiful gardens and a terrace on the top landing with hammocks and massages available.
Since my first visit in Jan. 2011 there have been many improvements: a new fountain or two, the reception area, the terrace, bike rentals and trip
planning around the Yucatan. This is a place for Animal Lovers..if I was an animal I would want to live here! And I do Love all the Animals here!
The People here must Love their jobs because everyone is so friendly and helpful! They are like a Family and make you feel so welcome and safe and comfortable!
The vibe here is very laid back and not haughty or laden with rules and deposits and such. This is why you come to Tulum after all!
I just can't say enough about this place! I have met people from all over the world at this little hotel and we still talk about our great experience here.

Room Tip: most rooms have a king size bed, but a few have an add'l twin bed too. all but the "apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxoxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfirend and I spent six nights at Maison Tulum, and were impressed.

Rooms are great - we had a nice large room on the top floor. The bed was very comfy and the rooms were very clean.

The management were very helpful and gave us plenty ofguidance on where to go and where to eat.

Breakfast was also superb. We had fresh bread and coffee each morning which was very pleasntly set in the gardens.

I would recommend this place over the beach front places for many reasons but also due to the fact there were no lights on the beach roads which could be dangerous. One night we did venture by taxi to one of the restaurants down on the beach which was a nice change from the main strip and was not overly expensive.

I also proposed to my girlfriend while we were in Tulum (luckily she said yes!) and my parents spoke to the management who then provided us with Champagne and glasses to allow us to celebreate. I fantastic touch and something we were truly grateful for.

Thanks for making our stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel in good ubication..very friendly environment...delixious breakfast and awesome desserts..carro cake is amaizing...rooms very clean..guillermo thank u for everthing u are a nice person. I come back..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArturoTttttttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#42 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#15 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tulum

Property: Maison Tulum
Address: Calle Alfa Norte esquina con Calle Sagitario | poniente S/N, Colonia Centro, Tulum, Mexico, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Little Corner of Paradise.Tucked away in a tranquil garden setting, our intimate hotel is conveniently located just two blocks from downtown. The smell of our freshly baked bread and other delicious pastry wafts through the air each morning. Enjoy the ambience and our food, our charming restaurant offers breakfast and dinner with traditional Mexican and Caribbean fare.Excellent service and amenities at the price of a budget hotel make Maison Tulum one of the best deals in the Riviera Maya.· Continental breakfast included with your stay. *· Complimentary Wi-Fi and a computer located in the reception area where you can check email or gather information on activities in Tulum.· A beautiful rooftop terrace where you can relax or read a book surrounded by plants and flowers from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing