We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Maison Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Tulum
Ranked #10 of 93 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at on arrival in Tulum for our honeymoon.
Helpful owners and we had the large penthouse room. On arrival in Tulum in the town you see the dusty streets but after a few days you get to know the local places to eat and the place comes alive. Staying in the town is better choices of food and less expensive than the beach.
I am a cat person so I LOVED all the cats wandering around this hotel.
A good place to base yourself in Tulum. The only bad thing was that there is some construction going on when we where there and breakfast was a little on the small side. Other than that a great place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleighAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for four amazing days on our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was very big ,clean ,air conditioner hot water well equipped! The owner Simon and his lovely dog Juanta were very hospitable and everyone in the staff is very kind!! We strongly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just come back from Tulum and had an amazing stay at the Maison. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and their dog Wanda is lovely. The room was large and clean and cafe served great food. Thankyou to everyone there.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9 (i think). it was like a mini apartment, on the ground floor. it had a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cute decor (loved the tiled bathroom), friendly and helpful owner-managers, lovely staff, reasonable breakfasts (ooo... cinnamon rolls.... yum....), kept immaculately clean, and we loved the resident cats and dog. If you are looking for all-inclusive / big hotel type accomodations, this may not be the place for you. That's a different kind of vacation and fun in a different way. If you are looking for charm and a convenient town location, and the chance to try different town restaurants, this may fit the bill for you. We went to the beach club La Vita y Bella most days - beautiful beach, great food, and we always had a chair with a palapa. A nice low-key place (hotel and beach club). Beach a 50 peso taxi ride, about 10 minute drive. Air conditioning worked great if that is a requirement for you. You do hear some street noise (it's in town) but we found it quiet during the night and noise was not an issue for us. We'd love to return!

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are at the top of a very spiral staircase - if climbing stairs an issue, check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojofliessouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Maison Tulum is a very nice and quiet hotel which offers excellent service. The hotel includes a patisserie/bakery where you can have breakfast including Mexican specialities. After an exhausting journey we were delighted to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. The hotel has a very nice inner courtyard with fountains and a well kept garden. Special thanks to Sliman and his staff for being such great hosts and making us feel at home! A place most certainly to be recommended! Ilse

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The cleverly thought out styling of Maison Tulum sets this hotel apart from the surrounding neighbourhood, while the roof terrace with hammocks a small garden and tables/chairs allows you to see across town. The hotel is well placed for the bus station, less than 5 mins walk, but is a $50mxn, 5 min taxi ride from the beach. There's only hotels on the coast, so the restaurants and tours, shops, etc are easier to get to from this hotel in town. There's a collection of friendly cats, plus an excellent bakery that both add to the enjoyment factor, plus the owner could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I wish the same could be said for the grumpy manager, but perhaps it's just a language barrier problem than a personality issue.
Our room here was everything we needed and was always good to come back to after a day exploring. Tip for the trip is to eat at restaurants off the main road as they are just as good (if not better) than those on the main road but are noticeably cheaper - we tried El Asandro - v good, La Siesta - great pizza and El Camello - not so nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank j5183v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose to stay in Tulum pueblo for three days to balance out our other lodgings on the beach. Maison Tulum is a delightful, boutique-like hotelito which is beautifully landscaped and uniquely appointed. The owner and manager were both friendly, accessible, and helpful; they gave us directions and suggestions on many restaurant, shopping, and travel destinations. Room was comfortable and nicely painted. Downstairs cafe was convenient and served delicious, fresh coffee and foods. Easy access to downtown Tulum, ATMS, shopping, and dining. Parking is right outside hotelito. Overall we like our stay here!

Getting things communicated in Mexico continues to be an issue and inconvenience. One day we came home to our room after a long morning of caving, only to be greeted by freshly stained walls. Though non chemical, the odor was strong, and we had to find something to do outside our room for several hours until it subsided. We dealt with it, but it would have been helpful if management had notified us it was going to happen and when. Cleaning up after the several on-site cats would help the overall atmosphere of the hotelito, too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#49 of 99 in Tulum
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#7 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#44 of 99 in Tulum
225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#21 of 99 in Tulum
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tulum

Address: Calle Alfa Norte esquina con Calle Sagitario | poniente S/N, Colonia Centro, Tulum, Mexico, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $59 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Little Corner of Paradise.Tucked away in a tranquil garden setting, our intimate hotel is conveniently located just two blocks from downtown. The smell of our freshly baked bread and other delicious pastry wafts through the air each morning. Enjoy the ambience and our food, our charming restaurant offers breakfast and dinner with traditional Mexican and Caribbean fare.Excellent service and amenities at the price of a budget hotel make Maison Tulum one of the best deals in the Riviera Maya.· Continental breakfast included with your stay. *· Complimentary Wi-Fi and a computer located in the reception area where you can check email or gather information on activities in Tulum.· A beautiful rooftop terrace where you can relax or read a book surrounded by plants and flowers from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing