We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on the beach”

Restaurante Las Estrellas
Ranked #35 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Las Estrellas Restaurant, located within Cabanas La Luna premises, is like a secret place still to be discovered. It offers a blend of fresh local ingredients creating Mexican innovative dishes. The beautiful setting of the restaurant reminds of places somewhere in the Middle East, but it stays in the same time truly Mexican. During the day, guests at Las Estrellas can enjoy the beautiful clear view of the Mexican Caribbean while savoring a light, fresh lunch. Every evening our chefs create three or four special dishes. Our fresh catch of the day is always a big hit.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We happened to be staying at Cabanas La Luna, so we started out having all of our meals at Las Estrallas. After a few days, we decided to branch out and try several other spots along the beach. After lunch and dinner elsewhere, we said to each other, "Why did we do that?"
No other restaurant was as nice, as comfortable, as welcoming...nor was the food as good.
Everything we ate at Las Estrellas was extremely fresh. Our favorite daily treat was the ceviche - not to be missed. On our last evening at the hotel, the restaurant manager asked to prepare a 3-course, farewell meal - it was exactly everything I would have ordered. Excellent homemade ice cream and espresso.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keridae2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    96
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“robinson crusoe meets marrakesh”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

My daughter and I were staying next door to Las Estrellas and were lucky enough one day to wander up the sandy dune into this beautiful gem of a restaurant. The view of the ocean from the outdoor tables is simply stunning and the beautiful moroccan decor is a perfect compliment to the natural setting. I had amazing fish tacos and one of the best lentil soups I've ever had. The food was clean and simple and the chef makes wonderful use of fresh herbs and flavors. We returned every day after discovering Las Estrellas--and had an amazing breakfast of fresh fruit and granola and delicious dinners--it was so nice to find a menu with such variety--we were quickly growing tired of our hotel food and the "fried" bland options we had experienced in some other local spots. The manager Jacob makes everyone feel welcome and our waiters were warm and helpful and always made our dining experience beyond pleasant. This is a wonderful "hidden" refuge that shouldn't be missed when visiting Tulum! Truly delicious and beautiful!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank sophiek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Arab-Mexican cuisine on the beach”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

There are probably at least 20 restaurants now on the beach strip in Tulum, and this is one of the best. We ordered a salad made with sweet potato, roasted bell peppers, black olives, lettuce, goat cheese, almonds, and mint + a lightly roasted tomato soup served with a timbale of eggplant, couscous, and basil + couscous served with zucchini, bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, cilantro, pomegranate, and crushed hazelnuts. We would have come back the following night to order the ocean tajine made with fish filet, shrimp, Moroccan five spiced chickpeas, and fennel--but they were closed for a wedding. We did come for breakfast however, and had an excellent version of juevos rancheros. This menu is unique in Tulum, and every dish was delicately spiced but with a full spectrum of flavor. The decor definitely reflects the Middle Eastern roots of the cuisine, and is beautiful and restful. We received a healthy appetizer of baba ganoush, bread, olives, and marinated cherry tomatoes, refreshed by a bowl of hummous--all gratis. The ginger/cardamon flan was excellent--lightly textured and savory.The server was quite gracious. The prices are a bit higher than most of the other beach restaurants, but you definitely receive a unique taste and value for your money. Highly recommended (along with El Ta'bano on the beach road and Cetli in the pueblo.)

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevehecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb setting, creative dishes - best food in the neighbourhood!”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Superb setting, great ambiance, personalized service, and creative dishes. We live in NYC and wish we had a neighbourhood restaurant like this in the upperwest side! Great for outdoor dining or drinking as well -- posted a picture taken from our table.

This restaurant is still a hidden gem as it has been open for 1 year only, but people staying at nearby cabinas or hotels would all come and eat here (and come back). We ate here 4 times. By far the best restaurant in the neighbourhood!

Bar and breakfast are great too!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wouternyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice place , but.....”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

the food is ok, nothing special, but good.......totally overprice......
the place was almost empty, not a great atmospher, but the staff was very gentle and professional

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank js1975ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Estrellas also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurante Las Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing