We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow at the food here!”

Restaurante Las Estrellas
Ranked #30 of 387 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Las Estrellas Restaurant, located within Cabanas La Luna premises, is like a secret place still to be discovered. It offers a blend of fresh local ingredients with worldwide ideas creating innovative dishes. The beautiful setting of the restaurant reminds of places somewhere in the Middle East, but it stays in the same time truly Mexican. During the day, guests at Las Estrellas can enjoy the beautiful clear view of the Mexican Caribbean while savoring a light, fresh lunch. Every evening our chefs create three or four special dishes. Our fresh catch of the day is always a big hit. Don't miss our famous BBQ on Wednesdays and the new Mexican theme evenings on Fridays; Mexican dishes that will take you beyond the typical tacos, fajitas and guacamole dishes.
South
Level Contributor
344 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wow at the food here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate here for breakfast, lunch and dinner for 3 days during our stay here at Cabanas La Luna. The food was great to start with and seemed to get better with each meal. The service and staff were excellent and attentive. And even though the hotel was full the restaurant never felt at all busy or full. The grouper was OUTSTANDING, we had it two nights in a row. Prices are moderate and the quantity is also good. Most tables are outside so you can enjoy the breeze and view. We never saw anyone eat inside but it was warm and pleasant outside. We considered going to several of the other places down the beach but decided to keep coming back here for the great quality and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. How lovely to hear that you enjoyed our food and service so much that you kept coming back for more. We hope to welcome you back again soon and enjoy a margarita on the beach together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    96
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a million dollar view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This stop is a must whether for lunch, dinner or drinks. Great food, great service, chic yet casual - a must stop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sojaxbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! The view we are lucky to have is breathtaking. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meal with us, along with the styling of our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner. The place was busy but we got a table right away. The food and service were great. I had the filet and my wife had the special which was 2 whole lobsters. The atmosphere was fun and relaxed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iforgetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your meal with us and that our service met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Las Estrellas, or perhaps our hotel, Cabanas La Luna if you choose to visit Tulum once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The beach view is great, and the service is excellent. We especially enjoyed the steak tacos.
We appreciated that they accepted Visa and MasterCard (on charges over 500 pesos), as we ate here on the last day of our trip, did not have much cash left, and the local ATM was out of order.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant, Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna. We are glad to hear the ease of using a credit card was a bonus for you. Because of the region we are in, not many restaurants accept credit cards. We know that more and more travelers prefer to pay this way because of the added protection you have as opposed to cash. We hope that if you are ever in Tulum again, that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our restaurant, or perhaps even our hotel, Cabanas La Luna. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiance and I ate at this restaurant during our vacation and it was one of the best meals I have ever had. The atmosphere was amazing and the service was exceptional. I remember saying to my fiance numerous times, "this is what vacation looks like on commercials! Truly relaxing and peaceful". I did not stay at this resort just hung out and ate dinner but the rooms looked lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you felt Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna is the picturesque vacation getaway. It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the restaurant, and perhaps the hotel, Cabanas La Luna, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Estrellas also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurante Las Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing