We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy, very bad location, if you want to sleep at night don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens
Ranked #72 of 88 Tulum B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very noisy, very bad location, if you want to sleep at night don't stay here”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

day 1 - clueless reception. The main guy is missing and his son doesn't understand a word of English.

we were in ground floor room - and heard every word, every step and every scratch from the floor above. also the hotel is close to the freeway and some kind of construction zone. lot of traffic and machine noise early in the morning.

one night, there was no warm water.

they say that breakfast starts at 7 but doesn't really start until 7:45 am. and their coffee really sucks.

I won't stay here again even if they gave the room for free.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharadverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    27
    17
    29
See reviews for
24
100
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed with another couple in December for 4 days and really regretted the choice. There are nice features - from outside cabanas look nice, inside they are very small though. The manager is very helpful, there is a decent wifi, a pool is small but functional. The main problem is noise, especially during the night. The main road is very close, and hotel is just outside the police filter into Tulum. Hence you get all the trucks braking and accelerating within 100m - cabanas walls do not stop noise at all. One has to drink way too much in the evening to sleep through the racket. This is especially bad in top floor rooms - try to get ground level and as far from the road as possible.
Cleaners have a strange habit of removing everything from the floor; so we always found shoes put on top of clothes in the wardrobe, most bizarre.
Bikes for rent - forget it, just an advertising gimmick. We did use them one day; bad mistake. Tiny things, one gear, barely functional brakes (pedal backwards, continental style), rusted through - lots of noise, very little propulsion.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the last row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
ny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The worst part is the disinterest in client service. The staff seems incapable of addressing simple situations, and the management is totally absent and non-responsive to requests for them to make contact with you. The location is also poor in that it is on a loud road. Too far to walk to the beach, and while close enough to walk to town, it is an unnattractive and noisy walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The cabanas are a bit far away from the busy centre of Tulum, but the place itself is beautiful - a tropical jungle retreat with excellent low-key design.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is great in some way but not in all ways, I wish I could give it a rating of 3 1/2 rather than 3 tbh! The pool was good and when the manager was there he was very attentive. The breakfast was good, but you need to ask for it. Cereal is freely offered and they do eggs if you ask!! And do ask because the omelets are good. They would happily order taxis for you to get anywhere. The rooms were nice, very comfortable with a mosquito net to keep out the unwelcome guests. Which there are quite a few of as there are many holes in the property walls.

The main problem I had with this place may be trivial to some but not to me. The fan was on the ceiling, if you had the mosquito net over the bed the fan could put no air on to the bed and sharing a bed with the mosquito net around made it like a little super-heated tent! It would have been better if the fan was a stood up fan so the air could get through the mosquito net! This is how other hotels got over this that we went to in the jungle. The second night we had to get rid of the net but then I was bitten so many times - I didn't know which was worse. I would recommend you stay here if you can sleep in high heat for sure, and would still recommend it even if you don't because the hotel is good but just don't stay too long.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aistiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were the only people in this hotel in August. The rooms are nicely done with the 4 poster beds with mosquito nets and an additional fan was provided so we didn't cook too much at night.

It is a bit noisy with traffic and dogs, but so are many of the hotels in town.

The service was OK since we were the only people staying there.

Overall - good price for big rooms (2 beds in each room). Ask for the extra fan!!

Room Tip: Ask for the extra fan for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We loved staying at Green Tulum. It was away from the mega touristy part of Tulum, lovely cabanas with lovely decor. The beds were 4 poster with lovely light mesh around them. I thought I had walked into a honeymoon destination. The manager Lazaro was very helpful. He provided us with another fan to ensure we were comfortable in the room. The cabanas can get hot, but with the additional fan it was fine. The hammocks outside were lovely to relax on, and we spent a lot of time around the pool which was equally beautiful. Breakfast was buffet style and we were so happy to finally have cereal on our holiday (rather than a tortilla breakfast) I kept going back for more! Everyone was very helpful. Our toilet broke during our stay and it was fixed in 10minutes.
The cabanas are near to the road, but I did not notice any noise during our stay, it was a wonderful place to stay and I thoroughly recommend it. Also great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#83 of 96 in Tulum
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#82 of 96 in Tulum
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 96 in Tulum
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#38 of 96 in Tulum
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#46 of 96 in Tulum
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens

Property: Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens
Address: Calle Coba Lote 4 | MZA 37 esquina Puerto Morelos, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from the green of its surroundings and the authenticity of its structures. Green- Tulum Cabanas& Gardens, in the heart of Tulum, the last virgin stretch in the Riviera Maya. The hotel has 13 artisan cabanas with two floors, a total of 26 rooms. The surroundings are unbeatable, a natural paradise of flora and fauna, with secret nooks were one can devour a book, chat by candle light or simply close your eyes....and feel the Mayan magnetism. The swimming pool makes the hot sunny days a desired element, in order to dive into the cool water, take a "siesta" in one of the sun beds and ask for a cocktail at dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens Hotel Tulum
Green Tulum Cabanas And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing