We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a serious yoga place and Mario's juice bar”
Review of Yoga Shala Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoga Shala Tulum
Ranked #36 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Yoga Shala Tulum is a serious yoga place. The morning starts with exquisite kundalini followed by mainly vinyasha practice throughout the day. The accommodation is simple and very welcoming. The hotel does not have its own restaurant but Mario next door serves fine breakfast and fresh juices (at a discount to Yoga Shala customers). Please go there for lunch also, the salads are really good. The access to the beach is through the wonderful hotel Ahau, good cuisine, friendly service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIINA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This little gem on the jungle side of the coolest, hippest part of the beach attracts an eclectic group of travelers who are more interested in experiencing unspoiled living rather than the 5 star, overblown, expensive version elsewhere. The rooms are darling with hanging beds and shared bathrooms, some with large screened windows overlooking the jungle. Yoga classes are top notch with skilled instructors that know their stuff.

When you come here, be prepared to ratchet down your nervous system and get away from television and easy access to the internet. Having to walk from your room to get on FB allows you to do what so many of us have forgotten to do when we travel...converse with other travelers in the common area. So what if you're not on the beach? After you've been on the beach all day taking advantage of the amenities of the more expensive hotels knowing you are paying a fraction of their cost to just cross the road to sleep on the other side, it feels like a sweet deal and you're getting peace and quiet from the wind and the waves. It's a bohemian haven with little paths and pretty foliage, a nice boutique; Margot at the desk knows everything about what to do, where to go...and she speaks several languages to boot! You're not going to get this experience at this price anywhere else on the beach. Less electronic diversion allows you to look up to the Mayan sky and the stars here are incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethrelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you go to Tulum for small scale luxury, this is not your place. Don't get me wrong, this CAN be a great hotel, but beware what you are booking. Most rooms, to start of, are not ensuite and that's not always clear on the booking sites. Showers are salt water, a nice idea, and hardly stay warm and working, not so great. Shares a beach with the neighbours at see, so you have a great view if nature, but not the beach. Very small scale with excellent advice. You're into yoga, mind sessions and massage? Great! But if you're more into relaxing anonymously in a clean room with a quite beach, this isn't the perfect place. The beach is beautiful but quite busy here. (Tip, the one NEXT to the ruins is perfect.) Hotel price was okay but the amenities are scarce. Internet was free (great!) but doesn't reach into your room. The coffee and smooth bar is low key and tasty, but expensive. Luckily it's easy to get a taxi. Bikes rentals are nice bit expensive and you can only use them safely by daylight.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erickok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Yoga Shala for two nights and we think it was way too expensive for what we got. I would say it's a place to go with friends when you think of doing yoga mainly. It's not really a place for a couple as it's far from the city and it's not on the beach side.

Overall we had a nice stay. The room was nice but not quiet for a couple.

Room Tip: Don't take room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie1Ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my first time in Tulum but not my last. We stayed at Yoga Shala for a week in January looking for an escape from winter.We aren't the 'all inclusive' types and this place was the opposite of that. A nice boutique hotel. The staff here were very friendly (a shout out to the receptionist from Montreal who organized our excursions for us!) and the room and the property were clean and well maintained. There are two cute cats that live here that will join you if you sit in the outdoor lounge area.
We had a room with private bath at the top of the stairs. I loved the bed - it was a king bed suspended from the ceiling by ropes, and covered in a diaphanous mosquito net. It was like being in a cradle. Super comfortable. I had a great sleep every night.
The shower looked out into the jungle behind the property. The room was open to allow the ocean breeze in at night.
We bought a yoga pass so that we could attend as many classes as we wanted that week. We ended up going to four classes. All were challenging with experienced instructors.
The beach was right across the street through the Ahau hotel property - it wasn't a problem not to be right on the beach.
You can rent bikes here for $10 / day. We rode out to the Tulum ruins and the Santa Fe beach (about 30 min)
Anyway, it was great. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 & 12 are the only ones with hammock-beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I had a one night lay over in the riviera maya and decided to stay a night in Tulum and see a friend. The only hotel she knew was this one so it's where I stayed.

I thought it was fine for the night I was there but do agree with other reviewers that I found it over priced. I had a single room with private bath which was clean, simple and rustic. There was a small outdoor living room with couch and chair hammocks which was nice to sit in, but admit that I probably would not stay here again. Perhaps if I was into yoga and wanted to use their yoga studio on site which looked nice but I'm not.

I don't think there was anything wrong with the hotel. I just think you could probably find something better for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

we planed to stay at the hotel 3days, but we escape after 1night

1st: at our arrival, they wanted us to pay the all stay in advance. We are frequent traveler, and it's the 4th time I come to mexico:
and NO hotel ever asked us to pay in advance.
"sometimes clients go without paying"
after, we understood why...


The price of the 3 nights was 420$ so around 140$ per night ! We really expected to have another level of room / services of which:

No breakfast included.
Yoga class must be paid as a plus! eventhough we paid 140$ for the room!
(not mentioned in reservation website)
No direct access to the beach. you have to go to another hotel's beach, say you're from Yoga Shala then order drink.

The room is indefinable:
No wifi in the room despite they said 'access in all hotel'
Tiny room : after opening our bags: no place to move
Not even a furniture to put our clothes.
No separation of bathrooms.
Shower almost on top of toilet bowl.
After a shower, water stays on floor. Nice puddle for the mosquitos!
Not even a shelf to put our things.
Floor made of conctrete really bad.
On the top of that the room is absolutely not isolated. We had to support the neighbors conversations for hours, as if they were in the same room.
And then we had to whisper to have a minimum of intimity.

Come on It's too easy to say, "we are ecological hotel" so accept to stay in such a poor room, BUT pay 140$ a day!
Staff do their best, but something is not working there...
I stayed in 4 hotels in Tulum, this one is the worst by far

Room Tip: rooms in the ground floor are indefinable. rooms on top flor are at the open air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fab75010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#26 of 98 in Tulum
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#65 of 98 in Tulum
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#14 of 134 in Tulum
192 reviews
4.2 mi away
MayaYoga Hostel
MayaYoga Hostel
#43 of 134 in Tulum
29 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#50 of 134 in Tulum
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Shala Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Shala Tulum

Address: Carretera Ruinas-Boca Paila km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoga Shala Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holistic, yoga oriented petit hotel 50m away from Tulum's pristine beaches offering the most yoga classes in Tulum on a regular basis. Set amongst luscious tropical gardens, there are 15 rooms available, some with private bathroom, some share the communal bathrooms. We also have an onsite a health orientated restaurant, clothing boutique, massage room and there are bicycles for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yoga Shala Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoga Shala Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing