We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Yoga Shala Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoga Shala Tulum
Ranked #50 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I traveled solo on the first week of December 2013 and stayed for a week. I was looking to replenish energy with yoga, beach and sleep, and thanks to Yoga Shala that's exactly what I got.

First, the staff is amazing.. from the night guard Armando who greeted me upon arrival, to the Margarita the cleaning lady, Artemio the maintenance guy and the owners and people at the reception, everybody was outstandingly nice.

The yoga classes were amazing... because I stayed for a week I got the $50 unlimited 1-week pass, and it was the best. I enjoyed every class and thought that the level and the variety were excellent. Sometimes I took two classes a day! Sometimes hotels have crappy yoga classes for tourists, but the Shala had professional ones and it was evident that many locals and people from other hotels would come to do yoga a Yoga Shala which was a great sign. The yoga studio was beautiful... almost outdoors.

I wanted to stay there so badly, that I changed rooms three times because of availability so I can say that I totally did the tour of their shared bathroom rooms. Every room I stayed in had a super comfortable bed with a high quality mosquito net which seemed almost unnecessary because at least when I traveled, there was almost no bugs. The shared showers downstairs always had hot water, whereas the shared showers upstairs often didn't, but that was not a problem for me at all... the heat either from the weather or from the post yoga class temperature was so intense that lukewarm water was perfect. Also, the linens and towels were impeccably clean.

They have a small cold food kitchen (no animal products allowed) where you can keep some items in a cooler and also re-fill your bottle of water with filtered water as often as you want. The kitchen is open 24 hours.

Wifi worked fine every time I needed it and I was very happy to be able to eat at Il Barino every day... they have amazing juices, smoothies and nutrition packed meals that were a perfect combo to the yoga intense week.

Also, the vegetation and fauna were beautiful! birds, butterflies, lizards, geckos and all kinds of jungle little beings were always around.

The only reason I didn't give it an excellent review is because I was looking for peace, calm and sleep, and though it is not the hotel's fault, some guests were very loud at night and if I had gone to bed early I would get awaken by people coming back from dinner at late hours... it only happened a few times, but I wish the hotel would ask guests upon arrival to remain as quiet as possible when promenading on the premises.

I would totally go back to Yoga Shala!

Room Tip: Shared bathroom rooms in the back are quieter, but the second floor rooms have access to prettier ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melisaforero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is fantastic, we originally only booked 3 nights thinking we would move on, however ended up staying 12 because it was so great. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the cleaning lady greets you everyday with a big smile. The room themselves are fantastic considering what price you pay and you pretty quickly see its the cheapest place to stay on the beach in Tulum by hundreds of $$. My wife did the wk yoga class and loved it. You can use the beach chairs and shade area of the resort across the road which is also a nice added bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edenmagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First of all, let me say that the maids and night watch are delightfully friendly and trustworthy. The rooms are small and simple but have a comfy bed, mosquito net, a little desk and an area to hang clothes. The maid kept my room spotlessly clean. The good pretty much ends there. The communal bathrooms, while also clean, barely function. A small dribble of barely lukewarm water is all you get. The wifi doesn't reach to the rooms on the back of the property, meaning you have to take care of any emails/business in the lounge area (not fun at night when the insects are trying to suck you dry). The hotel claims to be "Eco" but does not offer beach towels even though the beach is right across the street, and does not offer a place to refill water bottles. The room price is relatively inexpensive for being so close to the beach, but what they don't charge in room rates, you end up paying by having to purchase breakfast (highly recommend Il Barino next door) and $15 yoga classes and bike rentals (other hotels offer free bikes to use). The yoga class I took was horrible, taught by an inexperienced teacher who didn't focus on alignment and led an embarrassingly awful "meditation". The yoga studio itself is kind of cool because its more or less outdoors. The class I took was packed full and there was no personal attention from the teacher. Even though the place overall is not that great, it's close proximity to the awesome restaurant at Ahau, the fun dancing at La Zebra, and the yummy coffee at Il Barino make it an OK base for a few days or a week near the beach. I would recommend this place to young people or yoga enthusiasts but if you are looking for real comfort or something more "romantic" this is definitely not the place. And bring your bugspray. You will get eaten alive in the communal shower as they are right next to a mangrove swamp and the Mosquitos hang out in the shower. One last thing, they process their own waste water, so at certain times of the day a horrible sewage stench wafts over the property. I would advise going to the beach in the afternoon to avoid this, especially if your room is near the back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Me and my mrs tried this hotel for two nights back in August. I cant comment on the yoga part but the hotel was very basic, to the point that i didnt enjoy it. The water for the shower and sink is recycled sea water, It tastes terrible and leaves your skin dry. Also the floor was made with some kind of eco concrete, which stays wet for along time attracting even more mosquitos and feels strange underfoot. We booked a double room and recieved two singles pushed together. In the end, its very close to the beach and is visually very pretty, but funcionally not great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexdavid2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I loved staying at Yoga Shala. It has a beautiful palapa for yoga practice, three times a day classes with good teachers (I took two great classes with Luna). The staff is sooooo warm and kind. Not quite a budget option, but it is one of the best priced hotels in the area (the really budget options are in Tulúm town, far from the beach). Good linens, clean towels, clean bathrooms. The beach is just across the street, going into Ahau (they have some sort of agreement and you can use the beach chairs with just buying a drink, sometimes not even that). If I ever go back to Tulúm I'll stay there again for sure. I met beautiful people there, and the overall energy of the place is great. There are a lot of restaurants from hotels nearby, which are not cheap. It's a long way to Tulúm town, where the cheap places to eat are, but with the cost of the taxis you might as well spend the same going back and forth than eating nearby (taxis there are $110 mnx fixed prices - although I did get to negotiate lots of rides for $70 mnx). The place rents bikes, and has a small restaurant next to it, where you get 10% discount when staying at Yoga Shala.
During rainy season (well into the end of october) I do not recommend staying at the cheapest rooms (next to the palapa), it was really humid.

Room Tip: For a small cost difference stay in the medium priced rooms, the cheapest ones are really humid, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPCSMPCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is just across the street from a breathtaking white sandy beach. I recommend renting a bike at the Shala to explore the area. It's a half hour bike ride to the Mayan temple and into town: there's a big supermarket there.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Luxurious beds with good mosquito nets. Also screens in front of the windows. Had no problems with mozzies inside the room. Every room has a good fan, no A/C. Lovely garden and common area in front of the building.

WIFI works best in rooms at the front of the building. No internet at night.

There's a juice bar at Yoga Shala which serves Italian coffee and amazing breakfast salads. There's a little kitchen on the premises, you're not allowed to cook diner there. Also, there's no fridge. Plenty of AMAZING restaurants at walking distance. My favorite: Hartwood.

Staff is super friendly. It can be difficult to find staff in the evening, so make sure you let someone know when you plan to arrive. My experience is that everyone (from the cleaning lady to the receptionist) are very willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Yoga classes are professional and on time, 3 times a day. Class room is clean and peaceful... Be sure to dress light as it can get pretty warm.

I recommend this place wholeheartedly for solo travelers, couples and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChantiChanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and it was just an awesome stay. Although the hotel is not at the beach front, it only 10 - 15 meters from the beach. So you can still hear the waves crashing when you lie awake at night.

The rooms were great, and the linens seemed to be brand new. There is no air con but the breeze from the sea keeps the rooms very fresh. You also get towels and there is also a great, modern kitchen where we cooked. But I think the best part is the Yoga classes that take place in the garden, and the amazing buffet breakfasts with European Bread, Jam, Nutella, Fresh Juice and delicious cheese. We also rented their bikes and cycled around Tulum. Highly recommended stay for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evah879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
1 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#49 of 100 in Tulum
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#66 of 100 in Tulum
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 100 in Tulum
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#10 of 141 in Tulum
215 reviews
4.2 mi away
MayaYoga Hostel
MayaYoga Hostel
#75 of 141 in Tulum
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Shala Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Shala Tulum

Address: Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoga Shala Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holistic, yoga oriented petit hotel 50m away from Tulum's pristine beaches offering the most yoga classes in Tulum on a regular basis. Set amongst luscious tropical gardens, there are 15 rooms available, some with private bathroom, some share the communal bathrooms. We also have an onsite a health orientated restaurant, clothing boutique, massage room and there are bicycles for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yoga Shala Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoga Shala Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing