We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not perfect”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at BeTulum for 10 days.

ROOMS: Spacious room. Large, comfortable bed. Large jacuzzi. Indoor and outdoor showers (outdoor with perfect sunset view). Decent size balcony with view of the beach and bar area, perfect for lounging in the evening. The rooms are very dark, however you get accustomed to this. No hairdryer in the room, but the reception has several you can borrow. The rooms are very humid and there is no proper door to the bathroom, leaving a weird smell from the cleaning detergents they use throughout the room.

BEACH: Fantastic and the reason we chose Tulum in the first place. Located south along the beach, it feels quite secluded and private. Nice beach beds and great service.

DINING: Decent, but no culinary highs. I did not expect Michelin star quality, but they do use a lot of processed foods and the food served seemed very uninspired. In a hotel of this quality along the beach, you would expect the calamari to be fresh and made on site, not the frozen stuff. Despite describing other things in the menu, they served most of the dishes with ready-made, processed potato wedges, which were not very nice. It does not require much effort to make food from scratch, and I would have expected at least the same quality of food from the restaurant at BeTulum as we make in our own kitchen (we are not chefs).Unfortunately we only discovered the morning we were leaving (very lazy holdiay) that Hechizo is a very short walk away (take a right on the beach), the prizes there are similar but the menu and food seems a lot more inspired.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE:
Fantastic staff, they make such an effort to make you enjoy the stay and the get you anything you need. It is expensive, but still has a laid-back, relaxed cabana feel. It is luxurious enough without being in your face. Would go back for the beach and the surroundings, but the stay would have been even better if the food was made with a bit more inspiration.

As you can see from previous reviews this hotel is not for everyone. If you prefer large resort-type holiday with all amenities just like home, this is not the place for you... but if that is what you want I don't think any of the hotels along Tulum beach will meet your needs and you should probably just go somewhere else. However, having stayed in similar hotels in parts of the world that could compare to Tulum, BeTulum still has a bit of a way to go before perfection can be claimed...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 887 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Be Tulum exceeded all our expectations. The room was beautiful and very spacious, nicer than what the pictures on their site depicted. The staff was really nice, helpful and pleasant. The beach is wonderful. The hotel is at the end of the strip so you had miles of private, undeveloped beach adjacent the the hotel. The people staying there were sophisticated and international. Not for the all-you-could eat/drink crowd. It's a small boutique hotel. We stayed for 9 days and could have stayed on longer. We definitely recommend Be Tulum to those looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

Dear "DavidSteven"

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive experiences at our hotel.

You have discovered what Tulum is all about. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel so much.

Thanks again for your wonderful comments!

Kind regards,

Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I'll try to be brief,
- The bedroom is literally in the dark!
- There was a permanent sent of moist in our room as if the wooden floors were absorbed with water!
- The shower and bathrooms mixers give salty water!!!!!!!
- Our friends bedroom had water dripping from the ceiling!
- The hot water did not functio properly!
- We could hear our upstear neighbours do their business at 1 AM!!
- You cannot use your private pool because it is extremely cold, and has a 2mm thick coat of insects because the water is in stagnation (no filtration).
- You have absolutely no privacy in the pool which is on the pathway.
- No hairdrier in the bedroom.
- No cupbords or drawers in the bedroom. Just a couple of shelves.
- No TV in the bedroom.
- You cannot throw paper in the toilet.
- One of our bath towels had an orangy-brownish stain.

Most of this is fine if you pay 150$ a night. But at 650$ a night, it's a total rip off!!
And for those arguing that the beach is nice, well it is just as nice before and after, as all the hotels are on the same strip!
Run away, this place brings more stress than relaxation!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear "toyBeirut"

We are very sorry that you seem to had a bad time as you express here. But we are also somewhat confused with your complains, as they are mostly about things that represent the Tulum very way of life. Let us explain:

Tulum is an eco-friendly hip&chic place, located almost into the mayan jungle. There is no electricity but the one we generate ourselves for the minimum needs of this boutique eco-hotel. Thus, we keep electrical consumption as low as we can. Most of the appliances you normally get to have in any good hotel are not present in Be Tulum, for our choice is to have a very small footprint in this amazing place. We are very sorry that you needed to have TV or a hairdryer in your bedroom, as we do not provide those appliances on the rooms (we have hairdryers on the front desk).

As we said, Be Tulum is a green boutique-eco-hotel and we choose to keep a very low energy consumption.

We would also like to clarify that the price we charged you was $400, you should check the difference with your travel agency.

Again, we are truly sorry for your unpleasant experience on Tulum, México.

Kind regards,

Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Very friendly check-in sets the tone. Then taken to room, in one of 5 blocks each of 4 rooms along winding path leading to beach, at end of which is restaurant with terrace bar above.
Room very spacious even allowing for presence of jacuzzi! Big windows, although view somewhat limited by palm trees outside. Own balcony.

Restaurant open all day, decent size menu, excellent service; cooking/dishes good if not quite outstanding. Good choice of fish dishes.

Beach has lovely sand, kept clean, with good furniture.

Biggest disappointment was the lighting in the room; only the spotlights over the (comfortable) bed were bright. The lighting over the (over-designed) handbasin was inadequate

Taxis easy to get for trips to Tulum town (restaurants) or ruins.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I am going to keep it simple and get to the point...
Rooms: VERY clean (they are cleaned twice a day!). Comfortable and the style of the hotel in general is gorgeous.
Grounds: Beautiful and elegant. Very clean. The sofa by the pool is very comfy and a great place to relax at the end of the day...
Food: AMAZING. Fresh homemade bread/croissants and marmalade every morning along with eggs, french toast, fruit - whatever you prefer. Eating breakfast while looking out at the beautiful beach was something that I will always remember and truly miss.
STAFF: The staff was out of this world. They really care about the hotel and they are like a huge family. They make you feel right at home. I really can't say enough nice things about the staff.
FOOD: Breakfast was AMAZING. Lunch, the auqachile and chevice were my favorite. I ate it almost everyday. The food is so fresh and the presentation was absolutely beautiful.
BEACH: white sand, clear water...big comfy beds right on the beach with pillows and towels - it was out of this world.
My husband and I spend 8 days at Be Tulum for our honeymoon and it was the best week of our lives. We loved every moment and cannot wait to go back.
Tulum itself is a really cute little town but we both agree that our honeymoon was so amazing because of the hotel and the staff.
If you are going to Tulum, the only way to go is if you stay at BeTulum.
I have read some reviews that say that the rooms are pricey. Yes, they are but you are definitely getting your money's worth. Between the beautiful hotel, beach and staff - it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Pretty much agree with all the other reviews.

The Good.
The beach along this coast is great regardless of where you stay.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The hotel design is modern.

The Bad
The direct sun is basically over by 3:30-4pm.
The food leaves room for improvement (tacos should not look like sushi)
Agreed that it might be priced high for what it is (even if it is in the high season).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deseo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Hotel was clean and service was good. Beds were comfortable. I have stayed in Tulum in the past for less money, and although the clean design and service was nice; I probably could have been happier elsewhere. I understand the location and requirement for generators etc; however, the rooms are very dark and the lighting was like camping. The comment by staff was that this was part of the design. In my opinion, lighting can be provided efficiently and still with taste. Bring a flashlight if you intend to stay here, many of the rooms are hidden in vegetation and we had to open our door to let light in to find things during the day. Perhaps part of the problem was that we had rain for part of our trip, thus we found ourselves in the room more than anticipated. The LED reading lamps at the bedside were helpful, otherwise I don't think we could have read our books.

Essentially, my husband and I like to stay at small boutique hotels with class and design. If the lighting issue could be resolved, my opinion about the hotel would likely be much higher.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrocket9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 98 in Tulum
617 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#39 of 98 in Tulum
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Malca
Casa Malca
#46 of 98 in Tulum
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $529 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing