We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and relaxing time in paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing time in paradise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We loved this hotel. It has a beautiful and quiet beach with covered beach 'beds' which are very comfortable. The staff is very welcoming, you feel that you are staying with friends. Our room was a jungle room with a large jacuzzi tub (however the water never really gets warm enough to enjoy it) and comfortable bed and large shower. The lighting is a bit low but the room has great bedside bedside reading lights. Breakfast was the standout, as were the fish tacos and margaritas! Dinner was OK. We loved dinner at El Tabano down the street-fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_ann_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    119
    43
    23
    16
See reviews for
39
594
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed for the first time in Tulum with my partner in a jungle suite with plunge pool. Be Tulum is a boutique hotel, with onsite restaurant, bar, pool, beach club, and in room massages available. Try the ceviche and mojitos, soooo goood. Be Tulum has the most amazing beach in all of Tulum. At night, the tiki torches are lit along the paths which creates a magical oasis with light flickering off the white curtains surrounding the ground floor pools. The property design integrates the buildings with nature. Yes, it is true the shower water is a little salty, but Tulum is still in the country with no infrastructure like Cancun. You cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet, but in return you get an amazing beach which is not over built, no high rise hotels here! Staff are friendly and will accommodate your every need, if you have a problem the staff are ready to resolve it and make you feel at home. Christian, the owner; and Ana, the manager, were onsite every day and truly care about their guests. We discovered after a few nights that if we wanted a special meal, or changes to the menu, the staff would definitely make this happen. However, if you are expecting adults only in the sense of no sign of children or babies during your stay, then this may not be for you, though none stayed in the rooms far as we could tell. However, this did not impact our experience overall and the positives far outweighed any issues. We would stay here again with more appreciation for how special this property really is, thank you Be Tulum.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phototravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We highly recommend staying at be tulum while in Riviera Maya. My boyfriend (who became my fiancé while there!) and I stayed for 7 nights in late September through early October 2010. We got a package deal on Orbitz that included a rental car, which was a score as we loved touring various ruins (Coba, Tulum, Chichen Itza), spending time in Tulum Pueblo, exploring Akumal and snorkeling in Ya-Kul lagoon, swimming in the centoes just past Coba, and even spending a (regrettable) 2 hours in Playa del Carmen. (We couldn’t wait to get out of there – it was too touristy for us, especially compared to the laid back, locally-owned Tulum.) We are an active couple who was looking for a romantic getaway that fit in our budget and was not an all-inclusive, gigantic hotel. Tulum beach and be tulum could not have been a better choice!

Here are just a few reasons why we think be tulum is a perfect hotel:

-great beach, sand like flour, beds with palm leaf shades
-wonderful, helpful, merry Argentinean staff (especially Anna!)
-layout of the hotel – romantic, secluded, cozy, private, earthy, well-built into the surrounding environment
-jacuzzi bath tub in the room – our room was J6, on the upper floor; downstairs rooms have private pools, but there is a shared infinity pool on the beach
-rooms – modern with local/traditional materials; high ceilings with fans and a/c; private decks; indoor/outdoor showers (used the outdoor shower every time!)
-bar/restaurant where we enjoyed the house specialty (white wine with fruits) and Argentinean wines, caipirinhas, mixed seafood ceviche
-many restaurants and bars within walking distance along the beach or a short drive to town

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Date of Stay: This past week.

My partner and I had a wonderful time getting away from it all at Be Tulum and were extremely impressed at how this hotel gets it so right in so many ways. I can't imagine anyone having a bad stay. The staff were warm and gracious, but not intrusive in any way, the rooms were impeccably cleaned every day (loved that they were not stingy on towels or bottled water), the grounds were absolutely gorgeous, the design of the hotel is amazing (they hit a homerun there) and perfectly laid out, the food was mostly very good (breakfast was the standout), the service great all around and while the hotel is very chic and modern you never got an arrogant/snooty/too-cool-for-school feeling from any of the hotel staff or other guests. Somehow what they are doing there just really works.

Definitely perfect for a romantic getaway, but I think it would also be great for a mother-daughter getaway or a pair of friends. But note that this is a place to getaway, for quiet relaxation and slowing down (no nightlife, no TVs in the room, etc.), as opposed to an alternative to Playa or Cancun. Guests during our stay were from all over the world and seemed in the age range late 30s-50s.

We stayed in the cheapest of the room types (no. 13) and it was wonderful, with a large indoor shower and an outdoor shower, a jacuzzi tub in the room (the rooms with little outdoor pools seemed great too), a large comfy bed, and floor to ceiling windows looking out onto lush greenery. It did take a bit getting used to the fact that there was only "mood" lighting in the room, but, then again, that was nice most of the time and romantic. Only a few steps from your room to the beach, where the setting is amazing and the set up great. Nice/attractive covered beds to lounge on all day and read and relax. We also really enjoyed the restaurant layout, where you could eat breakfast on the sand amongst the shade and beauty of palm trees looking out onto the ocean each morning, have lunch delivered to your "beach bed," and have dinner or drinks later on an upper deck that had a loungey feeling to it. While the hotel may look a bit cold or too "Miami hip" from its website (which worried me some in selecting it), in reality, this is not the feel of the place. The overall experience is an upscale, immensely attractive, romantic, and comfortable boutique hotel.

The pool is beautiful but very small. I think this is appropriate for a hotel that is on such an amazing beach, which is and should be the focus. Plus, many hotel rooms have their own little dipping pools.

Only thing I would have done differently is not have gone on an "adventure" day to the cenotes, lagoon, and Turtle Bay. While that was fine, I wish I had just stayed the day at Be Tulum since the experience was so wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

First of all, let me say that we love Tulum. The people are wonderful, the food is great, the beach is beautiful, it is a magical place........but Be Tulum is not part of this atmosphere.
At these rates we expect something more;
the food was just ok, we had few lunchs and only one dinner (2 tables in the entire restaurant ) , and we were disappointed.
The room was nice, but they change towels only if you ask 3 or four times.
A lots of kids around . . . . . . . and even if we love them, we need relax !!!
The staff was very friendly exept for the owner because he thinks he has the best Hotel in the world and he is always "too busy" to take care of your problem.
We made the best of these problems and overall had a wonderful time in Tulum. But the attention to detail that we have come to expect from top notch hotels is not in evidence. If we return to Tulum in the future, we will not stay at BE TULUM. At these prices, which we were fully aware of in advance, we will be better off staying in our own indepently rented villa next time. The BE TULUM has NO control over their environment. This is in stark contrast to other tropical boutique hotel that we have visited, such as Cocqui Coqui, Suenos Tulum or La Luna.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank js1975ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is a very, very well designed boutique hotel at the beach. Magnificent views, very comfortable rooms and a most dedicated service.

Me and my wife loved the place! We had luck, as there was not a single day of rain. Not even clouded!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraNaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

It is a wonderful place to stay, Tulum offers you paradise and the excellent service of the staff and the design of the hotel brings you the luxury in Paradise.
The rooms are very authentic and confotable, specially if you are planning a trip with your love.
My husband and join the hotel to have a lovely time before our first baby, it was definetely an experience that we won´t forget.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grazielagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing