We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every bone in my body wants to give endless praise but can't force myself”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Every bone in my body wants to give endless praise but can't force myself”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

The Hotel is Very Beautiful well designed the staff was fabulous once you got their attention we thought hey keep tipping even though all the prices includes a service charge. Service was slow that not once were we able to get a decent buzz...really in Mexico on vacation and not once did we get drunk because it always took too long for another drink. It was as if the server was buying it but we were and tipping very well. We tipped on average of 150 pesos for breakfast and dinner, drinks on the go daily $100 pesos so in one day we shelled out $400 pesos equal to about $30USD a day so in total $150USD in tips. But that didn't seem to matter. If you go Juan Carlos is the guy that's by far the best you will find there, David was very nice very on top of making sure you have everything you need, Sergio was a very nice man but unless your sitting at a table don't count on him visiting you on the beach which is about 15/20 feet away, the owner Carlos looks like George Clooney was very nice & accommodating he checked to see how we were more often than the service he hires. The front desk receptionist Liliana was such a pain in my ***...Never felt so bad/stupid for simply asking about how to get around town. We asked her to arrange a cab rid to Xe-Ha and asked about transportation back to the hotel her response (Verbatim because I never experienced such attitude from a hotel receptionist) "How am I to know when your ready to come back I cant ask a taxi to wait it would cost too much...you can find a taxi there to bring you back"...

As for the room it was very nice but not the one we asked for even when it was booked three months in advance. When we asked for a different room only ten minute after our arrival we were told by the rude receptionist she wont move us so had no choice made the best of it. Problems in the room are as follows:
1. Shower didn't drain well, our last day there Pedro the handyman wanted to clear the drains of hair because when he was in the room fixing another problem he noticed the water was running into the bedroom.
2. The sink leaked as well tried to let Pedro know but I don't think his English wasn't very well no clue...Carlos if you read these please fix the sink in room 10 it's the left side.
3. Well Tropical Storm Karl brought a steady amount of heavy rains that's when we learned the thatch roof had holes in it, so in the middle of the night we were putting towels down and ice buckets to catch the water dripping in.
4. We had two sliding doors that let out to balcony's but only one opened then the second wrap around balcony was missing. We did book three months in advance.

So reason for my only one star for sleep quality is next door there was some construction going on and get this they don't use circular saws they use chain saws, imagine that at 7:30AM sharp every morning. Also, there was some guy with a mosquito blowing machine sounds like a Jet Fuel Powered Blower went off at 9AM right under our windows and next to our door this is a service that should be done later in the day not in the morning. As for the construction I can't blame the Be Tulum for it, but a heads up would've been helpful. I live in an area where my neighbors are constantly doing construction and was hopping to get away from it for just a few days but no luck. Came back as sleep deprived as usual which really sucks because it took a year of saving to finally be able to get away.

As for the town of Tulum its amazing you have to see it...Everyone we encountered outside the hotel was very friendly, the cab drivers very professional and helpful, currency translation seems to pretty much be pegged so $20 = 250 pesos you'll pick up on these as you go. We didn't buy much stuff around town because it found it to be pretty much the same price as in the US once you translate the amounts Tequila was cheaper at the Duty Free Shops. XE-HA is a great buy $80USD they have three all you can eat buffets, Corona on tap that was free to, everything basically free once you were in unless you want to buy souvenirs but other than that all comp'd.

Overall I think I will go back for a second round but will make sure there is no construction going on, we receive a room of our liking, and Juan Carlos is assigned to us for all services.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    119
    43
    24
    16
See reviews for
40
595
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We visit Tulum every year, so we know the area pretty well. Since this hotel was opened and the reviews were so great, we decided to try this "paradise" although the price was quite high. Our expectations are reasonable and we are used to service in Mexico not being the best.
Good: Rooms are quite nice, spacious with beautiful windows. Cabanas are close together but the design of the grounds is lovely. Beach is absolutely wonderful - like anywhere in Tulum-beach. Some people on the staff are very nice.
Not so good: although the hotel it is adult only - it does not apply to children of the owners and their friends (we asked the receptionist who said they were sorry but those are children of the friends of the owner). Throughout our whole stay there were children present in the restaurant and in the pool. Restaurant is non-smoking, but that does not apply to staff. Dirty towels were put back on the racks few times. Owners throw their own parties and invite so many guests that there is no place to sit on the beach - this actually ruined our last day. Since the owners are form Argentina the parties last all day.
Food is mediocre and expensive. Ceviche would be good if only it did not have way too much lime. My advice - walk down to Las Ranitas or Zebra and get some excellent cuisine. They are trying to charge you for everything and anything. Drinks at the bar are very expensive and not impressive. Glass of white wine costs 10$ and is as small as possible. Complimentary breakfast (few dry pieces of toast and coffee) has mandatory gratuity of 20%. Also - Free Wi-Fi is only available in the restaurant and the hotel lobby.
In summary - you can stay in many other hotels on the same beach for half the price have same beach and better food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dszczepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is our second visit since opening. This boutique hotel is a diamond in the rough. Standing just 10 feet from the entrance, one would never expect the understated sophistication, nature inspired architecture and surprising amenities. Each unit has an adjacent soaking pool you enter virtually from your bedroom, indoor and outdoor shower and floor to ceiling glass sliding door. All two story cabanas are cleverly interwoven into existing foliage and connected with a path made out of hardwood planks set in the sand leading you all the way to a sugary white sand beach and the sea playing with all shades of blue and green. Ecology must have been clearly in the forefront of the architects’ minds because the visual impact of the property from the street or the beach side is minimal. Every building is covered with the local style “palapa” – roofing made of thatched palm fronds and they even left a tree growing straight through the reception area, which is pretty cool.
I cannot finish this review without a mention of the incredible staff. Within a day they all know your name and they make you feel you are the only guest in the hotel. The restaurant menu is so much richer than one might expect. Some of the cook’s creations are true culinary masterpieces – but then, we were celebrating our anniversary and we did not keep it a secret ;-)
Be Tulum is an incredible place to let go and forget everything … in the middle of an unspoiled paradise

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We decided to take a trip to Tulum in late Aug. Had never been and was a little uncertain of the area. Be Tulum and the staff made us feel that we were long time friends. Any issue or question that arose they would stop whatever they were doing and take the time to help out. There is no arrogance there, come as you are. You will be warmly welcomed. The hotel is tastefully designed, the beaches are superb. Definitely no complaints here. And a special "Thank you" to: Carlos, Christian, David, Tonya, Anna, Dianna, and the rest of the staff. We shall meet again. With our love and respect, your friends Craig and Valerie.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BULALY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at Be Tulum in connection with my 30th birthday and the staff helped make the day super special - serving delicious cake with candle to our room in the morning and everywhere I went members of the staff said happy birthday.
We LOVED the beach/bar area! Not only did staff and guests conbined create a great atmosphere, but the beach was the best we had seen in Tulum... Crystal clear water!
Most of all we loved the reception staff... We have never in our lives gotten such a great service or felt so welcome. They pull the strings and make your every wish come true.
Since it's a brand new hotel some minor things needed to be fixed in our room and you might experience that too... But not to worry... The reception fixed it straight away, always with a smile and making us feel like we did them a favour by telling them.
You will love it there!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makebelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Recently I felt a need to “get away” and have some relaxation time. I knew Tulum was the perfect spot but I hadn’t decided where I would stay. Some friends had recommended a new hotel called Be Tulum. “A little piece of heaven” is no exaggeration. This is truly one of the nicest places I have stayed. The architecture is true talent. It is so high end, classy, modern, unique and yet it preserves the tranquility, rustiness of Tulum. You’re surrounded by nature. It does not have a hotel feel or design. Each suite has it’s own pool or Jacuzzi and it feels like something out of architect digest. The rooms are rustic and no detail was spared in décor, including a private outdoor shower. The view it absolutely breathtaking. The service was fantastic and the staff very friendly. Other guests as well as myself were “wowed”. I would not hesitate to recommend this true paradise to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martianjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed for our tenth anniversary. We wanted to stay somewhere quiet away from Playa del Carmen. Be Tulum was like heaven. The beach is gorgeous and we loved lounging on the beds there. The beach is so calm with hardly anyone walking by to interrupt serenity.
Our room was on the bottom floor with an ocean view. We loved it even though we were so close to everything. We felt like the hotel was our home. The room was cleaned twice a day, which was nice.
The staff was so friendly and offered great service. Every meal we ate was delicious. Loved the "aguachile" and chimchurri sauce too. Christian makes the best margaritas and we also had tasty mojitos too. On our last night the staff set up an anniversary meal on the beach...they took such care to make it special for us..candles, flowers, cabana, beautiful. Very memorable and romantic.
We were so impressed with the service and quality... we are dreaming of returning already.
Thanks for such an awesome experience. We wish we were planning our trip right now.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing