We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Of My Dreams!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Wedding Of My Dreams!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from 5 nights at Be Tulum, where we hosted 33 others for our wedding. It was the most magical week of my life. Accommodating and gracious do not even begin to describe the staff at Be Tulum. Everyone we met or dealt with at the hotel was so kind and lovely. They made our week so relaxed and easy. The rooms are exquisite. So comfortable and spacious. We stayed in Ocean 20, which had the most amazing view and awesome rooftop pool. Because my friends and family all stayed at Be, I was in most of the other rooms at some point during our stay, and they are all fabulous. Arena 15 on the ground is in a perfect location if you aren't looking to splurge on Ocean 20. I also stayed in Jungle 5 and Jungle 11 on scouting trips, and they are equally beautiful and comfortable. Food is incredible, especially the complimentary breakfast, and you must visit the spa. What a beautiful facility! My husband enjoyed the first massage of his life there, and I'm afraid he is now very spoiled!@Thanks and love to Daniela and everyone else at Be for making our wedding beyond perfect. It was the happiest week of my life.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenLawhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    119
    43
    23
    16
See reviews for
39
594
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at Be Tulum in March 2014 for 10 days. We had one of the ocean view rooms with an outdoor pool. It was just perfect! And we would definitively recommend it to any of our friends. It's expensive, yes. But it's definitively worth it. The hotel has an incredible mix of luxury with a twist of hippie culture to it. We liked most that it looks 'un-pretending'. No huge gate or any of this over-sized stuff. It almost looks tucked away at the end of Tulums beach front resort street.

But once we entered, we were greeted by the most attentitive staff. Everyone was just incredibly helpful und friendly. And it was all done with just the right mix of attention and layed-back friendliness.

The food was simply cooked to perfection. And I always thought Argentinians had the best steaks...We had dinner there regularly and didn't want to go anywhere else. The choice of wine and drinks is great. Local as well as international. And when you wake up and you're having breakfast while sitting just a few meters away from the ocean, it just feels amazing.

And best of all: since it's relatively small with only 20 rooms, it never feels crowded at the beach and we always found a spot for us.

So, putting it short: We were looking for a place that feels like paradise and we found it at Be Tulum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Be Tulum for our "mini-moon" after our wedding in Playa. It was the perfect place to relax. The rooms are perfect and even include an outside shower (my favorite)! The wait staff was pleasant, always smiling and always helpful. Food was amazing and we actually ate most of our meals there. Fresh lobster in the afternoon, octopus in the evening and amazing cocktails. This place is perfect! It's a little on the expensive side but worth it.

Room Tip: You get 15% off the spa treatments across the street. The Mayan massage is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyVS-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear "KimberlyVS-R",

Thanks for the positive feedback! It's nice to know you enjoyed your "mini-moon" at Be Tulum. We have a lot of people working behind the scenes to make this moments possible.

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed @ BeTulum in March, for 12 days and it was incredible!!! This hotel is beautiful, Tulum itself a kind of hippie village, where you can really relax and let the days go by.
We booked the Jungle Suite, one of the cabanas on the 1st floor (some are on the ground floor, the others reachable by stairs) with whirpool, outside (and inside) shower and a small balcony. The room included air condition + a ventilator.
The room itself has no tv and no hair dryer, but if you are there, once, you don't need anything of that!
I think Be Tulum is one of the most clean and beautiful hotels within the hotelera zone of Tulum.
You can rent bikes for free to get to the Ruines e.g. or anywhere else within the hotelera zone.

Although these were almost PERFECT holidays, I think they could improve the food selection (especially for breakfast!) and the service, a bit. But I think that's just the Mexican way of life which city guys cannot understand. Anyway, we paid a lot, so I think they should fix it! ;)

Room Tip: The Jungle Suite No 12 was a nice one ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear "Mykonos_Holiday09",

Thanks for sharing your nice thoughts about Be Tulum! And thanks also for your comments regarding the breakfast selection. We are happy to know you had such good twelve days here with us!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I did a 4 night solo trip. It is a lovely hotel set on a beautiful beach. I stayed in one of the 2 ocean rooms which is you feel like splurging are worth it. The other rooms i saw looked a little dark as they are surrounded by vegetation. The ocean rooms have a gorgeous private rooftop with a small plunge pool, overlooking the ocean. I thought the food was good but a little overpriced; their spa is gorgeous but very expensive ($240 plus tip for a 90 min massage). Daily 10am yoga a must. Service excellent - very friendly and attentive in the restaurant. The bar was very slow with service. I think the prices are a little steep. For just a little more money, last year I got a 1500 sq foot villa at the Viceroy Riviera Maya - that said, the beach at BE Tulum far nicer. Jesus is a total sweetheart and will help you with any need. I had not realized they already included service charge at the restaurant - so beware and don't end up overpaying in tip like I did!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear "Lucy N",

Thank you for writing about your stay at Be Tulum on TripAdvisor; we are glad to know it was so good! The spa is certainly not cheap, but it is one-of-a-kind.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Be Tulum is gorgeous. It's like you're transported to paradise. The design and layout of the rooms and grounds is lovely. We woke early every day, walked barefoot along the jungly path to the beachfront outdoor restaurant, and ate breakfast facing the ocean. The service and the food at the restaurant was great (ceviche, fish tacos, fresh fruit for breakfast, the fruit juices, so good). The Jungle room we had on the first floor was comfortable, cool, clean and bug-free. Our room was refreshed twice a day, with new towels and extra water when needed. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We'd definitely return to Be Tulum in a heartbeat.

The few cons:
- Our room had a damp, mildewy smell. Could benefit from some aromatherapy.
- The bathroom situation (with not being able to flush paper) was a little tough for us, but this isn't an issue exclusive to Be Tulum.
- I would have killed for a boozy stirred cocktail from the bar. The house drinks were pretty weak/boring.
- The price is not quite worth what you get. At almost $500/night, you expect perfection. That said, after doing tons of research, I feel like Be was a a great choice for us. Just wish it wasn't so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear "amydec",

Thanks for the nice review! And thanks also for the feedback about our ever-improving services!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a wonderful place to enjoy a world where doing nothing can be such a joy. The staff lets you enjoy without being seen until you need something. The rooms are open to the jungle and the ocean. Food is creative and tasty. The beach is the best we've been to in all of old Mexico. Many places to dine with a short stroll along the beach. Welcome here means, your home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicanReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear "MexicanReef",

Thank you so much for such nice words! We are glad to know that this was your home!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing