We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous beach hotel”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fabulous beach hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is set in the jungle with a beautiful beach and stunning sea. The rooms were nice with a large double bed, sitting area, spa bath, designer marble sink and both indoor and outdoor showers. The food at the hotel was delicious all served at the small restaurant on the beach or by the bar. Breakfast was lovely with interesting eggs cooked to order. We ate dinner here a couple of times and the food was fantastic, delicious salads and perfectly cooked tuna. The star dessert was the secret garden, a flower pot of creamy lemon mouse with black crumb topping served with a
deconstructed spiced apple crumble. Delicious! There are a few local restaurants within walking distance but the road is very dark at night, no lights and no pavement.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kay2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear "kay2948",

Thank you so much for your nice review! It's been a pleasure to have you staying at our hotel!

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    120
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
41
612
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Booked a jungle suite with a king bed through Travelocity. When I arrived they showed me to a room with two twin beds and told me and my girlfriend to "push them together." I informed them of the error and they said they can't guarantee rooms based on Travelocity. Pretty sure that's the whole point of using a booking site. Anyway, When I asked them to find me a new room, they took my request down and dodged my phone calls for the next few days. After several conversations with management they put me in the Arena suite at my expense. Which is a lot more expensive. They even tried to move me out of it on my last two days because they needed it for another guest. Pretty crummy. The place is beautiful, the food was good and the waiters were very nice. It's a shame it had to be ruined by poor customer service. The funny part is I saw them do this to another couple as I was leaving. If you go, make sure you request a king bed over the phone with them directly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TankyB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear “Matt H”,

We are very sorry about what you wrote here. Unfortunately, bed requests on Travelocity are not guaranteed, as the reservations site do not ask us for them, they just inform us that the guest would like to have that specific room configuration post-reserve. As we can not answer to the request in advance to the guest’s arrival, once in a while we end up with a bed-type problem we can't solve on the very same day. This seldom happens, but it happened to you, and we are genuinely sorry about it.

We never dodged your phone calls, that has to be a misunderstanding. Why would we do such thing with a paying costumer?

We understand that you didn’t like not having your requested bed, and that the king size beds were in a different type of room was not the answer you were looking for. Again, we are very sorry about that, but please understand that third-party online booking systems have sometimes this issues, and they are not the hotel’s fault. On your arrival, we tried to fix the problem as much as we could.

Thank you for chosing Be Tulum.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First I had never been to Tulum before, i was out of words when i was driving through the small road from tulum town to the hotel area. (you should try to do it by bike) When I arrived to the hotel it was just perfect, the attention of Jesus is amazing, a real friend in the hotel He even helped me book my aniversary dinner as a special ocasion at the hotel on advanced. We had a jungle suite (1st floor) and love the idea it was just us and nothing else, no TV. there are 20 rooms in the hotel, and they are either on the 1st floor with a small private pool or in the second with a hottub. Water from the shower is salt water as from the ocean and they are a very green hotel. The food from the restaurant is just out of the believable. Couldnt imagine myself eating in that level of quality and then oppening my eyes and seeing that amazing view un tulum. Beach is as I said paradise, warm ocean, no waves (small waves) the idea is to relax and olny relax while you are in Be Tulum. Try asking in the pool area for Guadalupe or Maria Pia, really cool girls that help you with the menu and Jesus an front desk, he is a really cool guy who has all the tips you may need.
This is a place every person should go one in their life.
In fron of the hotel there is an awesome SPA, the best one in Tulum.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite, you will have the best view and a private pool on the terraze
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joselin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear "Joselin G",

Thank you for your amazing feedback! You have described Be Tulum better than we possible can!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just got back from a week in Tulum, 4 days of which in BeTulum which is by far one of the best hotels I've visited. The location, the design, the service and the food are just great. The only thing was that our room was right next to the reception and was quite noisy in the mornings...
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear "EY13",

Thank you for your nice words about your stay at Be Tulum! Everything we do, we do it for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just got back from 4 nights at Be Tulum. Tulum itself is gorgeous, rustic and charming. Be Tulum is a slice of luxury. Huge rooms, hot tubs, tasty food, etc etc. We had a problem one night with insects dropping from the roof in our room, a nasty fright in the night. However, it was dealt with immediately - we were moved to a different room and the manager came to see us and offered to reimburse for that nights stay which was great. We had a spa treatment which was LOVELY - only feedback would be that the sauna was not very hot and the steam room smelt a bit but the massages were superb. I also had the Limpias treatment - I enjoyed it very much but was a shame my therapist didn't speak any english as I would have loved to asked her questions to understand a bit more about what she was doing. We will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanniboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear "hanniboo82",

Thank you very much for leaving this great feedback! Thanks also for your helpful comments and suggestions about the spa.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

**resubmitting yet again. Visitors of the hotel should be able to review their customer service experience, Be Tulum. Thanks for providing potential paying guests this sort of customer service transparency instead of reporting any review that is not 100% favorable. **

The good: the property, and (most) of the staff.

The not-so-good: the insincere receptionist working the afternoon of 17 Dec 2013.

I had arrived in Tulum on 17 Dec 2013, had checked into my hotel, and was exploring the area seeking a snack. After a short walk down the road, I discover Be Tulum. I enter the property seeking the restaurant, am greeted at reception, and continue on my way to the restaurant area.

Pretty quickly, I notice a beautiful pair of chairs and lights in a grove. I am a professional visual designer, travel consultant and mobile photographer by trade, so anything artistic naturally captures my eye.

Out comes my mobile phone to capture the beauty of Be Tulum. After three photos... I am approached by the man at reception who asks if I am a guest. After saying that I am visiting and am seeking the restaurant, he doesn't give me directions to find the restaurant. In fact he's pretty vague with that piece of information.

He is, however very clear in stating that: no photographs should be taken of Be Tulum property, that it's 'mal duende' to do so, and that the property owner states that no photos be taken. He asks then if I understand, and then finishes his speech tossing in the term 'rude' for emphasis while pressing his hands together as a gesture of 'namaste' that was about as sincere as his welcome.

Our conversation prior to that was entirely in Spanish, naturally, so the addition of the term is definitely intended to push a persona-non-grata message home. Talk about discouraging potential paying guests!

Yikes.

Luckily, I decided to continue onward and proceeded to the restaurant and bar area, where had a few beverages while a storm came and passed, and left.

During that two hour period while I had my beverages, I met the wonderful and amazing 'other' staff. The pleasant staff. All of them---once you pass the entrance, that is.

When asked, the staff that told me that photographs are absolutely fine. Therefore, I've posted the (very few) photos that I took of the property during dusk in a storm.

From what I see, Be Tulum has a beautiful property. And very pleasant staff except for the Dragon at the Gate.

As for the 'no photo' policy, I want to hear official confirmation of that before I decide if I ever want to become a guest in the future. Especially since seeing other photos of the property posted on Trip Advisor without issue.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank katkage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear “katkage”,

we are surprised to once again see your review published here after being deleted by TripAdvisor the last two times. You were finally allowed to rate a hotel you never ever stayed at, damaging our reputation and score. This totally defeats the very reason of hotel reviews, doesn’t it?

We tell every non-guest that we don’t grant permission to take pictures of our premises, and we are sorry you didn't like this privacy rule.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

RICH HIPPY. My friends and I just got back from Tulum and our stay at Be Tulum, and even in the Toronto light of day, still talk about the dreaminess that is this place. While there, I was thinking about this review and inspecting every nook and cranny of this hotel. Yes, the damp salty air has its way with rusting and wearing all the beautiful natural materials that the resort is made of, and yes, there's a little dust here and there (in places only I would notice!), but the bigger picture overwhelms with incredible beauty, tranquility and luxury. We visited other resorts to see where we'd stay on our return to Paradise, but frankly, there is no other. From the lush landscaping and blue-tiled plunge pools at many doorsteps, to the luxurious - not tacky - AC rooms that have been carefully designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind (leather butterfly chairs, fluffy duvets, round jetted tubs, distressed wood finishes, natural plank flooring we're busy importing into our homes, stone sinks, private toilet rooms, floor to ceiling windows, vaulted roofing in upper rooms and sliding doors on the 'rain' forest), everything whispers relaxation. Think NO CONCRETE. Just white sand slipping through your toes, even as you exit your room.The fragrant scent of the ocean and forest permeates everything; I didn't wash my clothes for days on return to the city. The intimate infinity pool and boho chic barefoot dining areas also impress, but the beach is the final say with giant 'bean bag' loungers, chairs, TIKI bar, service, etc that tell you you're in the right place. The gentle, cool trance music wafts over the pool, dining and beach area, and there are old fashioned bikes at your disposal to roam the Tulum boutiques and restaurants. Don't even bother reviewing other hotels along this strip. There is no other.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a splash pool, if available. If not, don't worry: they're all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear "Ellen Z",

Thank you so much for the lovely words about Be Tulum! You seem to have discovered the real spirit of our hotel.
And thanks for the great pics you shared!

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing