We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place! best beach!”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Amazing place in Tulum, beautiful beach and beautiful hotel with lots of details , ocean suite are the best with private pool on the top, food is very good and all the staff too, one of the best places i've been , great for cuoples and lots of things to do around!!!
love it!! and sure I´ll be back!!

Room Tip: ocean suite
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kinoAcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "kinoAcosta",

Thank you for the lovely feedback and the pic! We are glad to know we did a good job!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 894 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I came to Be Tulum for our honeymoon in September. We were looking for a tranquil and relaxing beach vacation where we could get some much needed R&R post wedding. When we found Be Tulum online we knew the hotel would have the mix of modern design and amenities with the romantic charm and low-key vibe of Tulum. The hotel was impeccable - clean, quiet, romantic, great food and friendly staff - we never wanted to leave. We had planned on spending 5 nights at the hotel - but unfortunately, 2 days before we were scheduled to leave, the hotel went from a quiet, relaxing resort of couples vacationing, to being fully (and maybe even over) booked by between 20-30 young party going guests. While we enjoy trips to Miami, Vegas, Hampton's and the like, in the words of my husband for our honeymoon "We were looking for something a little more Tulum and a little less Cancun". Needless to say, we were very disappointed but did not want to spend the last 2 days of our honeymoon listening to screaming through the resort, music bumping and 30 party-goers taking over the beach. The hotel graciously accommodated us a huge suite at another hotel down the road and bought us dinner the next night. I will say they went above and beyond to accommodate us elsewhere, although we were pretty disappointed to leave the hotel we were enjoying so much. I would still highly recommend Be Tulum and we plan to go back - but we will be asking if they will be hosting a large party next time :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "Rachel K",

Thank you so much for the nice words! We are happy to know you also liked the accommodation provided on those last two days.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I we spent the last 7 days our stay in Honeymoon, and we had the most wonderful time!
We stayed in an Ocean suite view, a lovely room on the second floor of the ocean front modules. These suites have a balcony, a Jacuzzi and a private terrace with a pool, where you will be able to enjoy the Tulum sunrise and the amazing sunset over the lagoon of Sian Ka'an.
It was a large room with all the mod cons, very clear, 2 times per day – every day clean our room, very nice and secluded with the option of an outdoor or indoor shower. I LOVE modern architecture with the huge windows and the dark wood color to the contrasting green fl colots of the native plants, free internet access
Bikes free from outside which are really handy to get into the main bit of town.
Gorgeous section of the beach with fabulous beds, We ate great food and drank great cocktails whilst relaxing on one of many beach beds- all of the staff were excellent, very helpful and really friendly.
The hotel's restaurant has beautiful, clean, healthy food which we ate for breakfast each morning as we watched the waves roll in. Every day have different event on the beach, like, cinema night, yoga, barbeque night, etc.
No need to go anywhere else if you want to spend a few days in paradise. We will be back to BE for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "Tatiana A",

Thanks for the great feedback on your honeymoon stay with us! It's always a joy to read good reviews such as yours! And thanks for the beautiful pics you shared!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Growing up in Mexico city I used to go with my family to Can Cun and the Riviera Maya for summer holidays (I am Mexican); so when my Australian husband told me he wanted to go to Tulum for our honeymoon I hesitated a little. I thought it will not feel that special as I have been to these places before. Now a month after our honeymoon I am SO grateful I went with it. Tulum is a beautiful part of Mexico, with no big hotels and amazing untouched beaches. And Be Tulum is the best place to chill out, relax and feel like you are in paradise! Food was really good, the hotel is beautiful, the staff is very friendly, professional but at the same time relaxed which helps to create the chill out atmosphere.
And something we did not know about Tulum is that it has really good musicians too!! We discover this because on some nights the hotel has live music which added a touch of magic to our dinners! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLopezP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "ChrisLopezP",

Thanks for the beautiful words! It's a big reward for us to get such words about our hotel on a special moment like a honeymoon.

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have, quite literally, never taken the time to write one of these. But I figured one was in order.
Especially as a gay traveler, I often look for reviews of that persuasion to learn about the social climate, safety and such.

Hokay. SO.

We (Boyfriend and I) went last minute just two weeks ago for a weekend trip out of the city.

Some disclaimers:

- We knew that their off season was rain-prone.
-There were two tropical storms relatively nearby.
-I'm the pickiest, scrutinizingest piece-a- garbage ya ever did see.

We noticed there was a "gay resort" in the vicinity so figured there wasn't too much of a safety issue, but I would rather take a potato peeler to my retinas than stay in a gay resort, so we saw Be Tulum and it looked great from the website.

We rented a car and drove down (beyond this being a good travel tip while in Tulum, this becomes most relevant to let people know that we never struggled to find parking at any point). And we were greeted by Daniel at the front desk. A word of warning for first time travelers, such as myself, the hotels' entrances look a lot schleppier™ than what you see driving through Cancun, DO NOT BE FOOLED OR AFRIAD. They are beautiful within. Most people have a decent grasp of English. But...c'mmmooon...you're in another country LEARN THE LANGUAGE.

I digress.

We booked an Arena suite, and were fortunately placed in the room on the ground floor nearest the beach, restaurant and pool. We arrived well after check-in time and our room was unfortunately not yet ready, so they quickly invited us to have lunch on the beach at the hotel's expense to apologize, even offering us an empty room to change in should we have wanted to put on swimming attire (a class act, indeed). The room was beautious. The plunge pools ( yes plural) are a bit exposed to the main pathway, but a few curtains helped but if you are going for completely privacy at all times you'll have to go with the Ocean Suite; from what I could see the roof top pools were pretty slick.

The stretch of beach that Be Tulum sits on is a little more isolated than the rest of the hotels. That is to say, most of the other hotels beach spots are right on top of each other, with chairs and exposure. Also, somewhat on that note, for you rascals going during peak season, this hotel seems to be sort of a 'happening' spot for visitors from the surrounding hotels. It was one of the only finer beachy bar/ über loungey type places that we encountered. That could be a positive or a negative, depends on your preferences.

Assuming you, dear reader, have gotten this far, Ill reward you with some succinct lists:

ISSUES we had and how they were handled:
-HUGE LEAK in our room...literally a waterfall when you entered. This was due to the very heavy rains (even luxury travel is no match for mother nature). They told us that they would happily move us to another room or if we decided to stay they would offer a discount. Having already settled and liking the location we opted for the latter. But they made every effort to acknowledge and reconcile this short coming.

-RAIN....MORE RAIN. Have no fear. This place is off the grid without leaving the grid. The restaurant and staff are so pleasant to be around, we found ourselves grabbing some beers and playing chess under open air restaurant during the heavy deluges.


The food is just swell, and the staff is even swell...er....

*Last thing! Don't do the Tulum Ruins! Go. To. Cobá. If you aren't too afraid of heights it's WELL worth it.*

As for the whole gay thing. No one batted an eye, neither clientele nor staff. No stares or bad vibes. Chill folks. This is without any kind of PDA, mind you...let's not go crazy people.


In summation, fellow adventurers.
Yes it's a bit pricey. But its the price you pay to guarantee an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Jungle Suites, while less expensive are further from the beach than I would want. But potentially fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "Jonathan E",

Thanks for sharing such a positive, detailed review of BeTulum! We feel honored by your words!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed a Be Tulum last December and a few months decided to book the same room but this time...stay longer. If you want to pamper yourself and get away for some R&R then this is the place. Perfect blend of getting away from the hustle and bustle of the world and still remain in luxury. If you aren't staying here...stop by on a beach stroll for a drink and check out the property. Perfection in Tulum! Can't wait to see you in December!!!! BG

Room Tip: If you are staying here - splurge a little more and get one of the 2 ocean view rooms with a soak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "Bethjamie",

Thank you very much for leaving a great feedback on TripAdvisor! You seemed to enjoy the special "beer with a view" from your room!

We hope to host you again soon!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

we had the chance to go back to Be Tulum last week and we loved it every bit as much as the first time. we stayed in the Ocean Suite #20 and it was great. The staff is every bit as great as last time if not better. The lunchtime grill produces some of the best food of my life!

if you enjoy a relaxed, laid back, sexy atmosphere this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear "mnymaker",

Thank you for your great words about our hotel, for the second time! It's inspiring to know you have loved your first time with us, and decided to return!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
459 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#40 of 99 in Tulum
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $448 - $1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing