We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at Be Tulum”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent, by far, one of the best weeks of our lives at Be Tulum. The hotel was amazing. A stone path leads you from the street to the ocean. Each suite is nestled into the jungle, it was incredibly intimate. The rooms were furnished simply, but beautifully. We woke up everyday and had breakfast looking out at the turquoise sea. The food was great, we ate lunch and dinner at the hotel often. The staff was warm and helpful and definitely helped create an unforgettable experience. The hotel provides bikes, which is definitely a perk, it's the best way to get around. My only suggestion is if you are taking the bikes out at night, like we did for dinner, do not take the one with the squeaky pedal! We got chased by a pack of wild dogs who must have been startled by the noise. I fell in love with this hotel immediately. We will be back, for many years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarisaL326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear "Marisa L",

Thank you so much for the nice words! We are proud to read that you had one of the best weeks of your lives while staying at Be Tulum! Thanks for the lovely pic too!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 895 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at a few places in the yucatan region and tulum was by far our favourite place and be tulum hotel our favourite hotel:

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the two showers are a real treat and the jacuzzi a nice extra. We were lucky enough to get a room on the first floor so we could enjoy the afternoon sun from our balcony. The rooms on the ground floor don't get much sun however.

The beach with the flag system (you raise a flag next to your sun bed and a waiter will appear) is great, and so is the food they serve.

All of the staff is really friendly and helpful (except for a moody receptionist that greeted us the first day).

The are lots of nice restaurants in the area so you don't necessarily need to eat in the hotel each day, the hotel staff referred us to some excellent restaurants, try casa banana when you're there.

Despite all the good things there were two things that left a sour aftertaste:

1- do not ask the hotel to arrange any taxi transfers between hotels because they charge ridiculous high prices, multiples of the standard taxi fare. I would have expected a hotel of this calibre to act in good faith and offer us transfers at market prices....

2- check your bill carefully at check out. We were charged our last night's dinner twice, this was corrected immediately when pointed out. Mistakes do happen I suppose but given the above one does wonder...

So all in all, great hotel and location, just be careful to check your bill and best to to book your own trips and transfers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor so you en joy the afternoon sun from the balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank T0nyV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Couldn't have been better. We had 3 rooms and each was great. Outdoor showers, jacuzzi tubs, massages and great food all with a great beach location. The staff is beyond great. Helping in every way one could imagine and really kind. The food is far beyond what we would expect. Recommendations for events and other points of interest came freely.

Room Tip: I preferred my upstairs room over the ground floor room. The only downfall is you can hear the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear "A R M",

Thanks for the great feedback! It's always a joy to read good reviews such as yours!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

First of all, let's start by staying that we had a great stay at Be Tulum, the beach area and the restaurant are simply perfect. Actually, the food is really tasty and quite diverse so you can stay for a week and have lunch there everyday without getting tired of the food. The wait staff is also really lovely.

Our disappointment comes from the room itself as we not only found it to be nothing special but also completely lacking privacy. We booked an arena suite and were first taken to room 13, seriously this is not honest at all to sell that room as an arena suite (the concierge indeed admitted it was kind of a "special room") as you're neither on the 1st floor so you don't get a pool and you're not on the 2nd floor either so you have no privacy. After complaining we were taken to the room right above. This was not much better... The room is very dark and you can only open one of the glass door, so no fresh air is coming in. It says that arena suite has "amazing views", let's be honest that was not the case of our room (all you could see we're the surrounding trees, pretty trees though).

Our last disappointment came when we received the check-out bill and were charged $50 for the beach bag!! The hotel places a beach bag in the bedroom with a big tag on it that says "take me to the beach" (true on the other side it says $50), so we did just that as we thought it was just a nice gesture from the hotel -same way they provide bath robe that you use, and only pay for if you want to take them home- but as the receptionist told us.. As soon as you take it off the wall, you have to pay for it. In my opinion, it shows a mentality more interested in making an extra $50 than providing an extra service for guests who already pay way too much for staying there!

I'll admit we are pretty picky as we have travelled extensively in Asia and stayed in amazing 5 stars hotels for the same price as Be Tulum and were more satisfied with those!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank CeciliaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear "CeciliaGeneva",

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry about the mistake with your room. It is unusual for that to happen, but this time it did. Also, we should have told you more accurately how the beach bags system works. We have fixed it now. Nevertheless, we are glad to know you had a great time at Be Tulum.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a lovely time at Be Tulum. We only spent two nights at Be Tulum, it was a last minute trip so we had to hotel hop as we couldn't find one hotel for the duration of our week long stay. Be Tulum was our 2nd Hotel, the first, Mestizo was a dump. Be Tulum in comparison was paradise. Be Tulum: the rooms are lovely with an incredible tub in the middle of the room. The bath while a terrific treat, made the touting of eco sound somewhat like a farse. The eco in this hotel may simply be used to explain that one needs to discard used toilet paper in a bin (fyi this is all over Tulum). Rooms are expensive but Tulum in general is expensive. It feels special staying at Be Tulum although its a bit uptight. The staff is top rate definitely help spoil you, they are professional and friendly. Be Tulum is "the place" to stay in Tulum and as such attracts a crowd that is very self conscious, as a result the hotel lacks soul. After Be Tulum we stayed at a boutique hotel, which was half the price and full of personality and soul. It wasn't until this third hotel, away from the masses, that we really felt like Tulum was a magical place. Overall BE TULUM is a nice hotel, great rooms and service but for the price I would have liked soul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear "Nicpats",

thanks for you feedback. We are glad to know you had a lovely time at Be Tulum, and we appreciate that you share that on this travel community.

We try to make Be Tulum as much eco and low footprint as possible. We recicle the trash, we have a fair trade agreement with our Maya employees, our bed covers and many other bedware are locally made by sustainable schemes, we grow organic vegetables, and some of the energy we use is sustainable (and we are working on building a renewable source for the total energy expenditure of the hotel). In short, Be Tulum is a *very* green hotel by today standards, and will only improve in the next few months.

We would have loved to see you feeling the soul of our hotel, as it is one of the main reasons to stay at Be Tulum. Perhaps, you were looking for a different soul that we couldn't provide, and we apologize for that.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Definitely one of the best places on Tulum beach. It is not cheap, but considering the prices some of the other places charge for crappy huts with no power, Be Tulum is a hassle-free design-oriented and professionally managed place. I preferred the room with the jacuzzi over the private pool. Food at the restaurant is so-so. Good, but you will get way better treats at Altamat, Simple, Tabano or El Camello.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear "koelschman",

Thanks for the nice comments! It's nice to know you enjoyed your time at Be Tulum. We have a lot of people working behind the scenes to make this possible.

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Tulum is a magical place and Be Tulum is the perfect place to stay. I highly recommend this hotel for any couple looking for a quiet romantic vacation. The service and food are stellar. As soon as we left we were already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear "Erica C",

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Be Tulum! We try to make every guest feel that our hotel is, as you put it, the perfect place to stay.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 99 in Tulum
631 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
460 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#43 of 99 in Tulum
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $443 - $1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing