We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hip Hotel is very good. The rooms are comfortable and large, as are the bathrooms. (We stayed in a beachfront room.) The showers weren't the greatest but they were just fine. We had some issues with small biting no-see-ums in our room at night, which I believe was caused by the fact that the roof is thatched and had some openings at the edges. This problem only arose on the two windless nights we were there. Some netting over the bed would have been welcome. The staff is friendly, but the overall service felt slightly absent, especially in the restaurant. The front desk was extremely helpful and very friendly (thanks, Leonardo!) Overall, we were very happy at the Hip Hotel and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Go with the beachfront rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvwadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your time in review your stay, is very important for us to get better every time, we look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Tulum....

HIP HOTE TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    143
    37
    17
    25
See reviews for
71
250
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo - brasil
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was very lucky with my room. Everythingh worked, had Hot water in my bathroom( some friends didnt have). The staff was fantastic, very attentive and friendly. The Hotel is a beach hotel, view fantastic .The only thing I missed was a frigobar in my room...I enjoy to be to have cold water during the night .
I would go back for sure!
Eventhough the service at the restaurant was very slow, the food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leninha086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Hip Hotel Tulum is actually built not "next to beach" it is "on the beach". You may as well put your shoes away while you're there as you are "on" the beach as soon as you leave your room. Not only is the hotel small but it has a very cozy feeling. Beach is beyond words, simply fantastic. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. Rooms are basic but have everything you would need to relax. Internet is available, speed depends on weather conditions (seems it is slower during a rain shower) and rooms have no TV (how great is that!). Staff is incredible helpful. Nice restaurant with view over the beach. The ideal place to relax and get away from business and stress.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your time in review your stay, we look forward to welcome you again.
Regards

HIP HOTEL TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 day the past week. The hotel seems very charming, but it has a lot of issues to solve. First of all I want to clarify that the people working there are excellent. They always tried to help us. We booked a room by the sea. The room didn't have windows, so it was extremely windy and freezing during the night. By the 2nd night we were all sick. On another note, we never had hot water to shower. I have a 4 month baby that I had to ask If I could use another room every night to bath him. At this point we had to request a room change to one facing the road, which was quite noisy. The rate on that room was cheaper but they wouldn't give us our many back. Finally, they say they would provide a crib, so I didn't take mine. When we got there, the crib was very vey old and not really safe for my baby to sleep. It had wire floor and a extremely soft mattress. Any kid could suffocate in there.
So, in conclusion, the location of the hotel is perfect, the equipment by the beach as well, the hotel a complete disaster.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for review your stay, we find very help full any type of comments the follow up on your comments is our priority.

Hip Hotel Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for some days in March 2012. The service was good and everyone was very helpful and nice. Our room has a lovely view over the ocean. There was a hammock at the balcony, that was lovely to sit and relax in. The rooms was quite small and simple, but it was very clean and the room itself was very cosy. It was very quiet in the night, you could only here the wind and the waves in the night. The hotels restaurant served ok tasty food. There was a few minutes walk if you would like eating somewhere else. The beach outside the room was outstanding. I would like to come back to this hotel, but as you can read in other rewievs there´s not soo much to do here, if you don´t like sun and bath and other water sports. Excellent honeymoon place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pluttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank your for your time in review your stay, we focus in offer all of you a nice quiet ecological stay in Tulum...


HIP HOTEL TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

While we did not stay over night at this very cool looking hotel, we spent the day at its idyllic looking beach under the cooling shade of their palapas. The courteous staff served us frosty beverages and a delicious lunch (chicken sandwiches and a platter of unreal nachos). We soon found ourselves wishing we had booked our stay here instead of the resort we were staying at in Playa del Carmen! Oh well, there's always next time I suppose. Thank you for the great afternoon, Hip Hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

After spending our first night at a nearby resort and not getting a wink of sleep from a incessant & loud generator, we found Hip Hotel... our glimmering oasis! Since we were looking for 9 nights on such short notice we had to move around every couple of days to the next available space, but that meant we got to experience a lot of the different rooms. We know this place inside & out!

The first night was in an ocean-view room, which made us feel like celebrities and completely made up for the first crap night at the other hotel. We woke up and went for a long beach walk while the sun came up and reveled in the beauty of the surrounds. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained, they even rake up all of the seaweed every morning so that the beach is as pristine as possible. All of the subsequent nights were in various other rooms that ranged from stellar to great.

The staff are all super helpful and friendly too. Everything is really clean, they can bring you bikes to rent for the day, they helped us book a snorkeling trip with Mexi Divers, the included breakfast is more than just continental junk, they have great wifi in most of the rooms and even went off in search of coconuts when I asked & they didn't have them on the menu.

Thanks for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Property: Hip Hotel Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing