We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a great little place on the south side of Tulum. We encourage you rent bikes ( just up the street at theYoga place)

Tulum is quiet and quaint, and has great energy. The beaches are sublime, and this place overlooks a great spot. Every meal we had at the Restaurant was fantastic and everyone on staff was VERY helpful and sweet.

Rooms were very clean, and beds were VERY comfortable. It can be a little noisy, from road, but that's true anywhere on the way.

We ate at Pura Corazon too and it was absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Free Wireless is generated form restaurant,so for best access get close :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very big room, with a queen, a single bed and a huge sofa. The rooms vary in size, but all have balconies. Very clean and comfortable with a good shower !
No airco and on warm days the fan and seabreezeyou catch in the room are notenough so prepare for some warm nights!
Location on the beach is great, with free beds.
Nice staff,prices are reasonable and come down when thera are not to many tourists!

Room Tip: We had the room near the parking lot, which is a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived by chance at this wonderful place! The staff helping us fixing the room was really helpful and vero vero kind. The room was clean with good storage and the terrace in front of the ocean simply perfect with furniture and a hammock! Perfect to enjoy the warmest hour reading a book in the shadow. The restaurant was very good with a perfect service and fresh food. They even do a perfect espresso!!

Room Tip: Room 23 and 24 :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a room with ocean view. So, the room was ok but the service we got was bad.
On their homepage(which looks like very professional) they wrote that you get a cocktail and fresh fruits at your arrival. But that's false! You only get a little bottle of water! We asked for the cocktail, but they never brought it.
Also for the breakfast, which was included, you don't have a buffet. Instead of this you have 2 choices from the menu. All the other things, you have to pay.
So, think twice before going to this hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SteFunny_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just back from a really wonderful stay at Hip Hotel. The room was incredible, second floor, beach view. The room had shelves for storage, table and chairs inside and out on the large balcony. It was quiet and clean at all times. Peak sun hours could be spent in the shade reading in the balcony hammock and enjoying the nature all around. The restaurant did the job, but I did prefer the food elsewhere. I might agree with an earlier reviewer who said the restaurant was low energy. However the staff everywhere was warm and friendly and super helpful. Excellent hospitality. Bikes can be rented from a few different properties nearby and it is easy to get around the area that way. The beach out front is beautiful needless to say. Overall I had a really great stay here and found my accommodations to be exactly perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank openticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just got back from our first time in Tulum, and the S&S Hip Hotel was a lovely experience. We found the hotel by booking through Citi Travel Rewards, and seeing as there weren't many options, we lucked out. The Hip Hotel is pretty far south on Boca Paila, and since we ate almost every meal in Tulum Pueblo, it was a bit far out. But, the beach was excellent: white sand beaches, chairs beneath the shade of the Palapas, warm water, and sand that was pretty much free of seaweed.

Our room was clean and well taken care of throughout the trip. It was large, very cool (despite being there in July) and pretty cozy. There were two candles and matches on the bedside stands, which made it very romantic inside! The soap and shampoo smelled delicious, and there was a huge bottle of water on the counter each day. The shelving for our clothes was super convenient and better than just having a bureau. We had a garden view, which we ended up preferring because it seemed more private. We walked by the rooms with the ocean view every day to go to the beach, and it did not seem like anyone walked by our room.

The managers and staff were all extremely helpful and welcoming. Everyone had great recommendations and were available to chat (or practice your spanish)!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We are long time Tulum visitors - from back when it was Palapas on the beach.

We heard that Tulum was trendy and developed that it lost its charm. So we stayed in another part of Mexico but unfortunately (or fortunately as it worked out) there was such a seaweed problem that we were forced a hasty retreat and needed to find somewhere quickly.

So we sucked it up and decided to 'suffer' through the uber developed Tulum playa. And it was amazing! Though the prices have gone up, the charm and spirit was still there.

We stayed at Ana Y Jose the last four times we went to Tulum so tried there first but they were full. But we got a place at their 'sister hotel - Hip Hotel.

The name alone had us nervous. Happy to repport there was nothing "Hip" about it. It was 100% charming and beautiful. Not a single euro clobber in sight.

Now - this was end of April so entered the low season but the hotel was full of couples who kept to themselves having a romantic vacation. Plenty of room on the beach and no crowds at all - the old Tulum experience.

Down sides is that it does not have a pool (always nice for a dunk to cool off). Also the restaurant was pretty low energy - not many people and lots of whispering couples. Decent food but the atmosphere is better at, for example, La Zebra or Om which you can walk to from the hotel (along the beach which is always awesome!)

Room was great and clean. Even though it was 'garden view' we had a view of the ocean and steps to ocean breezes and roar of the surf all night long. Really wonderful. Room number 4.

We were last minute so we went on booking.com and got a killer rate. Like major discount and the room was going unsold (I guess).

So for us, great value and great place.

If we had to pay retail I might have another opinion on the price though.

But best news is that the old Tulum spirit is still there - even though WAY more pricy. And Hip Hole is a good base.

Room Tip: Room number 4. Great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for your preference, we love to have you with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 98 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
4.8 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
9.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $181 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing