We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous - perfect R&R”
Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Tulum
Ranked #6 of 84 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous - perfect R&R”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had an absolutely amazing stay at Coco. The location is stunning -we'd had that butterflies-in-the-stomach feeling when our taxi pulled up - the staff were super friendly and helpful and our room (tower 3) was perfect for watching the sunriseworth every $! The garden and beach cabanas also looked very cute although we didn't stay in one.

The grounds were extemely well kept and the beach in front of coco was swept every day. The whole stretch of beach in Tulum is very picturesque but we were particulary with 'our' stretch of beach, the sand is like powder and the water is great for wave jumping!

The only thing i think could improve Coco would be a little restaurant for shop for essentials - it's not that there aren't a hundred places to eat along the beach so you're not going to go hungry/thirsty - but i think they're missing a trick as a business. I know they have a sister hotel with a restaurant (Playa Azul) but i don't think the service was a patch on Coco. On that note, we loved Zulum for dinner + lunch and Las Estrellas(not to be confused with Villa Estrellas) just down the beach for breakfast.

Don't hestiate to book with Coco, it's a wonderful place.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    187
    53
    24
    9
See reviews for
49
445
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This is clean, the decoration is perfect, the beach is beautifull, the bed is the most confortable in a month in mexico, the garden is cute, staff helpfull. The only thing missing is a restaurant or a little "super" to buy snack/water...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in a basic cabana. It had only a bed. We used the shared restroom facilities. Our cabana was $55. The price we found to be about average, but still a good deal for us. The sign out front did say cabanas from $35, but I didn't see that until after we left. We spent the day on the beach, we didn't really meet anyone there, but it was a good relaxing day. The beach is very nice, and it's quiet. We did get woken up by the staff raking the sand in the morning, but that has happened at every beach cabana we stayed at. The WiFi didn't work very well. If you're looking for a nice and reasonably priced place to stay in Tulum, CoCo is a good option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We found this hotel through other reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Tower 1, which is not a cabana but was probably even better. We had our own bathroom which I know is not always the case with hotels along the beach in Tulum. The room was spacious, kept very clean and due to the time of year we went, the temperature was not uncomfortable at all. There was a fan in the room in case we needed it but the sea breeze kept the room a nice temperature. The location is ideal - lovely restaurants in the area (we would DEFINITELY recommend El Tabano, we ate there 3 times, and also Posada Margherita is amazing) - the beach is very beautiful on this strip and it never feels crowded. One of the things that really stood out about this hotel was the staff - they were incredibly polite and helpful. After a slightly drunken New Years Eve celebrations, I managed to lose my iPhone and expensive camera. The staff found them some way down the beach next day and handed them back to me. Their honesty was astounding and it goes to show you how safe the area is as well. Definitely would recommend this hotel to others looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoceansblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Yes, you are on a super great beach and the bungalows are clean, but, considering the price of over $70 for just a bed in a small bungalow... and you share the bathrooms, up the hill behind the bungalows, well there is no "value" here. The touted "Wi Fi: is not available in the bungalows near the beach. NOTE.... CoCo promote $40 rooms via a street sign but that room is perpetually taken. Thus you will be told that they only have $70 rooms and they need cash in exact bills for that price. If you had them a hundred they will conveniently tell you do have the change but will take your credit card and charge you a 12% extra handling charge. Reminds me of car dealers with the "bait and switch" ploy. Not good. So the beach is a plus, plus, but CoCo is over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianSola, General Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed the beach at Coco!
We've been told over and over by our guests that Coco is a very cute, clean and gorgeous spot, and one of the best deals on the beach.
That said, let me address your concerns.
The offer of $40 per night is available to everyone, and you're right, it's usually taken because it's such a good deal.
We don't need exact change in cash - perhaps there wasn't enough change available that day. We would get the change to our guest as soon as possible.
WiFi can sometimes be better or worse depending on the weather, since it's only available by antenna at the beach. It's usually best nearer to the tower and we´re working in order to offer a better internet service to our guests.
There should have been no way that there was a 12% charge and all of our prices have taxes included, actually there are more fees to pay that the hotel absorbs.
Truly regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Just returned from Coco Tulum and it was amazing! The staff, especially Raquel (I think?) were so helpful. We stayed in a beachfront cabana, and waking to the sunrise was unreal. The beach was incredibly clean, kept tidy by the maintenance staff. The bathrooms were also really clean.
Here's the thing: if you want TV, lots of electricity, and crazy nightlife, Tulum probably isn't the place for you. Also, the first night we stayed in a garden cabana, and I found a scorpion in my room. You have to realize you're staying in their environment, so this might happen. I hate spiders/scorpions, so this was a little unsettling, but I got over it. We had no problems with bugs in the beachfront cabanas.
All in all, I'm counting the days until I can go back to Coco Tulum.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexiconomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed in the top room in the tower for four nights and loved it. The place couldn't be more relaxing and lovely, and the views from the top were fantastic. Although it did get a bit cold and drafty at night, but it was unseasonably cold during our stay. We've been to Tulum a couple times now and this place is great. We used to like Cabanas Copal, but it seems that management isn't putting the effort to keep it up.

Don't miss out on the amazing guacamole, fish tacos and cucumber margaritas at neighboring and sister hotel Playa Azul!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lulamaerusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Property: Coco Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum Hotel is a boutique hotel at Tulum beach where you will find comfortable and stylish cabañas located a few steps from the ocean. Coco's restaurant, Juanita Diavola, churns out fresh pizzas from our brick oven and smoothies of fresh juices. The pasta is handmade in our kitchen, and the chef serves specialties like tuna and beef carpaccio. The relaxed ambience is perfect to sit with a glass of wine or meet some fellow travelers at the bar. Designed as an eco-village Hotel, we generate enough electricity to power all fans and low-wattage lights of the Hotel - much more would only contribute to the end of the world. Our two wind turbines and 24 solar panels generate more than 14,000 watts x day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing