We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reasonably priced hotel on the beach”
Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Tulum
Ranked #5 of 89 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

after looking through the endless list of the tulum hotels one by one, we stayed at the new coco tulum hotel in feb for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. we stayed in the tower rooms which tower 1 was still under construction so had our room upgraded to another room on the second floor with a ocean view for free. the staff was very friendly, kept the place the place nice and clean but at the same time not so intruding ways. although, we did not stay at the cabanas which were also available for cheaper rates, they appeared to be clean and well maintained shared bathrooms. the prices are reasonable for the beach front property, especially the cabanas. you will not find any where that offers better rate nor cleaner place then coco tulum. the only down side is that the breakfast is not included in the rate as the hotel does not have a restaurant on the property. hence, this could add additional expense to your trip or give you a reason to explore the local area as well as the town for different dining experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camelbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Coco Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 745 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Just got back from Tulum, and since there are few reviews of Coco Tulum, I figured I’d make this a long one. My wife and I have been to Tulum twice before and stayed at pricier hotels (Ana y Jose, Azulik), but this time we were looking for a cheap getaway and found the prices at Coco Tulum to be just right ($50 for a garden cabana). We booked well in advance and got the first garden cabana (#9). The lower the number, the closer you are to the beach. However, when we arrived, we were booked into #12, located another 15 feet behind #9. While not that big of a deal, I did point out that it didn’t have its own hammock, and the window didn’t face towards the beach (in other cabanas, you would be able to see the ocean from the window). The annoying thing was that they shouldn’t promise you a number if they can’t keep it. I understand that logistically, from a hotel business point of view, it makes no sense. So just tell people they either have a beach or a garden cabana, and make no promises as to the number. However, you should know that #14 is the furthest from the beach, and is sort of up on a slight hill, making it seem removed from the beach.

The rooms were very clean (and cleaned daily). There is an outlet in the room (with a very tiny light connected to it) and we had electricity most of the time. If you want more light, you should bring a camping lantern and head lamps. We also discovered that there’s wireless internet access (just ask for the password) just in case you need to reconnect to the world or check on a flight. The bathrooms were very clean, cleaned all the time. The men’s had four separate shower stalls with doors, and four toilets. The showers had hot water (except the last morning).

The coco tulum spot is very basic, but you shouldn’t need much more (especially with the surrounding hotels all having bars and restaurants). There are about 6 hammocks on the beach, some covered, some not. Which brings me to the reason why I’m docking one point from Coco – Playa Azul. On the Coco Tulum website it clearly says:

“All of our guests at Coco Tulum are more than welcome to come and enjoy the beachclub at Playa Azul! It's a 3 minute walk down the beach, with beach chairs and beds, umbrellas for shade, and Playa Azul's (in)famous beach bar, with service to the beach. Enjoy a frozen margarita while you watch the kiteboarders, or just lay back in the sun with a good book. Beach towels are available at the Sport Center.”

So we thought…. We woke up early the first morning to grab some good lounge chairs at Playa Azul. We sat down, and I went to the restaurant to order breakfast (which was delicious). To our surprise, beach towels were available only for rent ($5 each!), but whatever, we had our own towels. We ate on the beach at the lounge chairs we thought we were welcome to use. About an hour later, an employee comes up and asks us whether we were staying at Coco. We said yes and he told us that we had to leave. We asked why and he said that since we were at Coco we couldn’t use the chairs, the hotel at playa azul was completely booked, and that people complain about there not being enough chairs. We looked around and there were about 8 (of about 20) lounge chairs completely empty, including ones closest to the beach. We said sorry, but the website said we could, and we ate here, and were planning to buy drinks, etc. He said that he was going to talk to the manager, but that he thought we’d still have to leave. About 15 minutes later, the manager came, and again explained that since the hotel was full, that we couldn’t take up these chairs. We again told him about the website, about our breakfast, about the fact that there are a ton of empty chairs and no one waiting. After arguing with him for another 5 minutes, we finally said, look, if it looks like the chairs are filling up and people are waiting, we’ll relocate to the beach, until then there’s no reason for us to leave. He said fine, but if that happens, then he’ll have to tell us. We were pissed about this whole interaction. Pissed about the unnecessary confrontation. I understand that people at Playa Azul paid more for their hotel, and that they should have priority over the chairs. But, it seemed like they were just creating a problem where there was none. If that’s the policy, then they should state on the website that guests of Coco Tulum can use the chairs at Playa Azul, unless Playa Azul is completely booked at the time. Or it would be easier to say that guests of Playa Azul have priority. That would not be a big deal, but to come over and tell people to bounce just because people may want to use the empty chairs is ridiculous.

I give Coco Tulum an overall good rating. It’s easy, clean, right on the beach, and cheap. We decided to not go back to Playa Azul and instead spend our money at bars where the people are nice, reasonable, and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aquapanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, owner at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2010

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your comments, and you were right - there were mixed messages on the website and at Playa Azul about the beach chairs. We've amended the website text on the beachclub tab. We have a substantial number of beach chairs, so that there are enough for guests of Playa Azul, and for guests of Coco, we have beach chairs available for $2 usd per day. Again, thanks for your feedback, and we hope you can come back again soon!
- Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMgmt, Gerente at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMgmt, Gerente at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMgmt, Gerente at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor playa de Tulum, mejor Club de Playa
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilianasego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMgmt, Gerente at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank alexisflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMgmt, Gerente at Coco Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 98 in Tulum
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $110 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum Hotel is a boutique hotel at Tulum beach where you will find comfortable and stylish cabañas located a few steps from the ocean. Coco's restaurant, Juanita Diavola, churns out fresh pizzas from our brick oven and smoothies of fresh juices. The pasta is handmade in our kitchen, and the chef serves specialties like tuna and beef carpaccio. The relaxed ambience is perfect to sit with a glass of wine or meet some fellow travelers at the bar. Designed as an eco-village Hotel, we generate enough electricity to power all fans and low-wattage lights of the Hotel - much more would only contribute to the end of the world. Our two wind turbines and 24 solar panels generate more than 14,000 watts x day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing