We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Tulum
Ranked #5 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

this place was amazing and really good value for money!
I think it is perfect for families and couples however not that great for friends its really quiet and relaxing nothing party at all, so don't stay here if you want that
the rooms and bed were good, only problem is the shared bathrooms however it isn't that bad at all! privacy is really good and its a really nice place to come to literally read and sleep and not that much else!
WIFI is only in the common areas though... and wasnt that great. it should definitely be throughout the whole hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    180
    50
    21
    9
See reviews for
46
429
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

It was a beautiful experience living there. The beach is amazing and the rooms very nice.
Such a romantic place! Value for money. It also has a good restaurant and the stuff working there is very helpful. I allready miss the place!

Room Tip: Of course the front rooms are much better.I think it is one of the best places in the area and value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Tulum is absolutely amazing and relaxing and Coco Tulum is the perfect place to stay on the beach. The rooms are a great value compared to other hotels on the beach and they have different options to meet different budgets. We stayed one night in a garden room that was a true bargain and 6 days in tower 1 which was perfect with its own bathroom and a large porch. The restaurant is modern and quirky with amazing pizzas for reasonable prices and great drinks. Easy access to anything on the Tulum beach and not far from the ruins and town. We stayed for a week and had friends visit a few days and they loved it too. Raul at reception was great to talk with and also helpful with anything we needed. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Tulum.

Traveler tips: Try the pizzas and caiprinhas! Exchange rate for credit cards is high so bring cash USD to obtain the best room rate. Massages on the beach about 500 meters north for $45 USD per hour. This place is amazing, very romantic, friendly staff, great beach and restaurant.

Room Tip: The private bathrooms are nice, those without are a great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takeahiketours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö,Sweden
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for one week in early february. It was everything we wished for and more. We asked Coco Tulum for a private pickup at Cancun airport. Company was Tucan Kin. Price 220 USD included a return trip.

We rented bikes 2 times, price was 7 USD for a entire day. Bikes were OK.

We stayed at tower 3 with own bathroom and shower. We enjoyed the view each day and also the cool winds during day time. The terrace was huge and we spent a lot of time enjoying the sun.

No breakfast included. The restaurant Jvanita Diavola served good pizzas and pasta. Expensive? I feelt prize was OK. Some other reviewers has said the service was slow, we never noticed this. They serve big and good drinks for about 95 pesos. A beer is 30 pesos.
Water is free for refill at the reception area.
Wifi worked in reception area, restaurant and also in our tower 3.Not the fastest but it's atleast free.
Food is mainly international, if you want something else other places are close by.
The maid keept everything clean and we gave the tip under the pillow (2-3 USD) each day.

The beach was very nice and they keept in clean every day.

Would we stay here again?
YES!!!!!!!!

I also made a video during our stay that you can see here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bY2lsVLLFvQ&feature=share

Room Tip: Tower 3 was exellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I looked through a lot of resorts in Tulum, most of them going towards the yoga- spiritual retreat type. Coco appealed to me instantly because of the black and white logo and it's minimal but sleek website. It was also, while expensive, not one of the most outrageous. The place is exactly as in the photos on the website, even a bit better and the overall feel of the grounds is exactly that, minimal, stripped down to the basics, easy going, clean. I had the tower 2 room as I am past the age of walking out in the middle of the night to find a toilet. I was alone and it was perfect! The balcony, the view, the sun coming up in the morning- it was unreal! Had I been sharing the room, I would have been numbed about the bathroom not having a door but just a curtain. Just so you know. I found wifi to be spotless, had signal even on the beach. I am not really the type to return to a vacation place, but tulum is on of these places you want to see again and I would def want to stay in coco again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, go for the tower rooms, front beach cabanas might be roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DespinaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our second trip to Tulum, and we spent five days and four nights staying at Coco Tulum in Cabana #6, right on the beach. When traveling to Tulum it is important to know what you are getting into - most hotels/cabanas/etc have limited electricity, no a/c, some (like Coco) utilize shared bathrooms. If you are aware of this beforehand, it's a wonderful experience!

Our little cabana at Coco was very clean, with a generously-sized (almost) queen bed, three large shelves to store our things, a safe, a large fan, table, and great little deck in front of the cabana with a hammock and two adirondack-style chairs. Our room was clean, stylish in a minimalist way, and very comfortable (a big improvement over some of the beach huts we stayed in last time), and the nice, cool breeze coming in off of the ocean means you wouldn't use A/C this time of year even if you had it. The shared bathrooms were less of an issue than I expected - flushing toilets, never smelly, showers had nice water pressure and good temperature.

The restaurant at the hotel, Juanita Diavola, was also delicious, and a great option for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed some delicious chilaquiles for breakfast one morning, and a fantastic and very reasonably-priced wood fired pizza another evening.

For the price, this is a good value: on a desirable spot of Tulum beach, well-appointed, clean, and with friendly staff.

My only recommendation to the hotel staff would be to streamline the check-in process. It is somewhat slow and it seems that most of this paperwork/payment type of things can be taken care of in advance, rather than on-site as you check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolores2175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent nine dream-like nights at Coco Tulum. The place is truly a gem. Words cannot begin to describe the beauty of Coco Tulum.

Our trip was a combined elopement/honeymoon. For us, the simplicity of the rooms was absolutely perfect for our romantic trip. A pristine room, comfortable bed, marvelous ocean view and heavenly outdoor shower. What more do you need when your heart is so overflowing and you are with the one you love. At coco tulum it is possible to live the simple life. All you need is love!

The grounds are immaculate. Natural and very well kept vegetation all around that provides privacy from one cabana to the next. And the bathrooms/showers are kept extremely clean. Bring a robe or something to throw on to walk to the bathroom. Much easier than getting dressed! And then there is magic of the two outdoor shell showers....they are truly heavenly!!

We ate pizza at Juanita diavola once...very good and reasonably priced for a beach front restaurant. Service is slow, but isn't slowing down the point of being on vacation?

Any cabana you choose will be an excellent choice! They are all beautiful.

We took long walks on the beach everyday, always comparing CocoTulum to other hotels. We are confident that we chose the best hotel in tulum. Simple and beautiful. That's our style and that's exactly what we found at Coco. We will definitely be returning and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabana number 10 which has a king size bed and ocean view. Every morning I was woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGirl1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Property: Coco Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum Hotel is a boutique hotel at Tulum beach where you will find comfortable and stylish cabañas located a few steps from the ocean. Coco's restaurant, Juanita Diavola, churns out fresh pizzas from our brick oven and smoothies of fresh juices. The pasta is handmade in our kitchen, and the chef serves specialties like tuna and beef carpaccio. The relaxed ambience is perfect to sit with a glass of wine or meet some fellow travelers at the bar. Designed as an eco-village Hotel, we generate enough electricity to power all fans and low-wattage lights of the Hotel - much more would only contribute to the end of the world. Our two wind turbines and 24 solar panels generate more than 14,000 watts x day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing