We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco Chic is well put.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Tulum
Ranked #5 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eco Chic is well put.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was our first trip to Mexico and we were a little hesitant to get our hopes up when we kept reading Eco Chic about all the beach hotels in Tulum. We read many reviews and were hoping that they were half as good as they sounded. We expected the pictures to be deceiving.

However, we loved everything about this place!!!!
Staff--super friendly and hard working.
Location--can't beat it. Either looking at the aqua, clear water or a stones throw from it.
Quality of grounds--perfectly clean all the time. People are working to keep everything tidy around the clock.
Food and drink--our little restaurant baked its own bread, pastries, and pizza. Everything we ate and drank was awesome. The breakfasts and pizzas were an exceptionally good value in the high season.
Price--the prices are wonderful for the kind of services offered. The drawback for some is that only the tower rooms have a private bathroom. My husband and I never found using the common bathrooms or showers to be a problem. Actually it created a real community atmosphere.

Room Tip: The cabanas on the beach were lovely, but the ocean sounds can actually be louder than you expect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Christine!

Thank you so much for your nice words towards Coco Tulum and it's very own Juanita Diavola Restaurant-Pizzeria :)
We like to think that our daily efforts help create a special atmosphere that makes of our guest's visit an unforgettable experience.
So, we're glad we didn't let you down!
Hope to see you around once again in the future.

Our very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    179
    50
    21
    9
See reviews for
46
429
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a gem in Tulum, especially the Tower 2 and Tower 3 rooms. The reservation for 10 nights was made months in advance and when I tried to extend my stay by a few more nights, (also a few months in advance) it was impossible. There is a new restaurant with really good food. The beach was cleaned everyday and well as the gardens. Tulum is a "new age" destination and is a bit on the expensive side, but well worth the experience.
ellen amsterdam march 2013

Room Tip: tower 2 or 3 with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Ellen!

It's great you were able to enjoy the comfort and incredible view of Tower 2 and 3.
Tower 3 in particular is simply the best!
Thank you for the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the newly renovated Coco Hotel in Feb . Staff is friendly and helpful. The new cabanas are fresh and very clean. We loved the new porches where you can sit, read, and watch the ocean. The shared private bathrooms are well maintained and easy to access. The new restaurant has amazing pizza in the wood burning oven and friendly staff. Well priced for the beach. We would return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Cynthia and Bob,
I am very happy you were able to experience Coco Tulum's new features during your visit.
The porches and chairs were added to the cabanas as a result of guest's feedback, actually.
And Juanita Diavola's brick-oven pizzas.. are definitely a must while staying at Coco!
See you next year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The property is so immaculately cared for; the garden is well landscaped, soft sandy paths are groomed daily, our room is simple, well appointed, and spotless. Staff is very nice and helpful. And you can't beat the setting, with the beach and ocean mere steps from the cabana. The restaurant/lounge (Juanita Diavola) is stylish and serves delicious food, especially the thin-crust pizza from the wood fired brick oven and talented hands of Martin. I think we've found our spot in Tulum!

The only slight negative is the beach in front of hotel is a bit narrow, but wider soft sandy beaches are just a hundred yard away in front of its sister property, Playa Azul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We shall pass on your compliments to the staff and will keep up the efforts.
Our very best, always :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was traveling with some friends in December 2012 and we stayed at Coco for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place has a great eco-friendly boutique feel and at a great price. The fact that it is a small place adds to the overall experience because your not at a mega resort. I didn't feel like just another random customer.

Wind power and salt water baths help keep the footprint down and if you want to explore the beach/town you can either walk or rent a bicycle. The rooms are clean and the beds are really comfortable and the staff was great. From the front desk to house keeping to Coco's Chef Benjamin, everyone was so welcoming and hospitable. The little things like 2 bottles of water in your room each day or sometimes they hand out little slices of pizza to snack on in the evenings are the nice little touches that make Coco that much better. Sometimes people don't realize how much a staff can make or break a place, the staff here really makes this place what it is.

The outdoor lounge/cafe area is very comfortable and is a great place to have a few drinks, meet your friends or have a formal diner. Comfortable furniture, a diverse clientele of locals and foreigners with an eclectic soundtrack in the background gives the place a overall pretty cool vibe.

I look forward to going back to Tulum and when I do I will be staying at Coco!

Room Tip: The room next to the generator can be a bit loud during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hola!

Thank you very much for your nice comments on Coco Tulum and Juanita Diavola.
Our staff is really committed to making of your stay an unforgettable experience.
Hope to see back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed one night at Coco in Jan. of 2012, and returned for one night of our honeymoon in Jan. of 2013. We loved it last year, and enjoyed it even more this year. The changes they have made have only made it better! There are more units now, but it's still small enough that it's not crowded, and still has the same cool atmosphere. There are now loungers on the beach instead of just the hammocks, which we really liked. They have remodeled the cabanas, adding a slider door and a small deck on the fronts, which makes the view much better, since you can look right out at the ocean from your bed, or sit on the deck only yards from the water. The new restaurant and bar on the property is another big plus. Thanks Coco, for making a wonderful little resort even better!

Room Tip: Cabana #3 is awesome, very close to the ocean. The surf is loud, though, so get a garden room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dncosgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Arthur!

Thank you for your comments on the renovated Coco Tulum.
Every change is made based on our guest's feedback :)
Hope to see you again for more nights!

Our very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Overall site layout and design was stripped-down chic to a beachy T. We stayed in one of the rear cabanas: he room was basic, but clean, pleasant and stylish. While we couldn't hear the soothing sound of the waves from our cabana, we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was (being adjacent to restaurant and reception). Communal bathrooms are comfortable (if not a bit cavernous). Friendly, helpful team. The scene on the beach with others guests was amicable and chill; nice covered hammock area. The restaurant/bar is convenient, serves great coffee for the morning, well-curated tequila sippers for the evening, and served some of the best food we had during our time in Tulum. We'd come back here in a second!

Room Tip: The back cabana we stayed in was cheaper. You couldn't hear the ocean, but honestly it looked li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signs-wonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi there,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us at Coco Tulum.
It's good to know you enjoyed our new concept and Juanita Diavola's specialties.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Property: Coco Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum Hotel is a boutique hotel at Tulum beach where you will find comfortable and stylish cabañas located a few steps from the ocean. Coco's restaurant, Juanita Diavola, churns out fresh pizzas from our brick oven and smoothies of fresh juices. The pasta is handmade in our kitchen, and the chef serves specialties like tuna and beef carpaccio. The relaxed ambience is perfect to sit with a glass of wine or meet some fellow travelers at the bar. Designed as an eco-village Hotel, we generate enough electricity to power all fans and low-wattage lights of the Hotel - much more would only contribute to the end of the world. Our two wind turbines and 24 solar panels generate more than 14,000 watts x day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing