We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great music, perfect cocktails.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Del Mar - CLOSED

Trattoria Del Mar
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great music, perfect cocktails.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

What a place. Popped in out of curiosity after seeing the vw beetle with the sugarcane press from the other side of the street and was not dissapointed. Amazing cocktails, great service and friendly owners. Oh, and some quality live music thrown in for good measure. They advertise the mojitos, but try the caprinia, a cocktail made from the local sugarcane.Been back 3 times in a week and have yet to be disappointed. Just go, you'll love it.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Udith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    12
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heavenly Mojitos and Pasta Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Mojito chalkboard and VW Beetle lured us like a siren... We so enjoyed our heavenly minty rum mojitos made with fresh-squeezed sugarcane from Chetumal on Maria's VW "Love Beetle". With our drinks we got two small appetizers of our choice and we chose guacamole and salsa. For our meal, we split a Bolognese pasta plate and it was delicious! Our dessert was a bitter orange non-alcoholic drink which was soooo good. Maria and our server were so friendly and spoke great English. Will definitely be going back next time we're in Tulum! I featured them on my travel blog where I went into more detail about our wonderful experience: http://busybeetraveler.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/la-trattoria-del-mar-tulum-mexico/

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamied39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So much fun....and yummy mojitos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We happened across this little place as we were walking the streets of Tulum. Almost every seat was full so I knew that it was a good place. They have the cutest little mojito stand right on the sidewalk and right behind it is a converted VW bug that they have attatched a sugar cane
"juicer" to. They chop the sugar can and then manually turn a wheel and the juice flows into a little pitcher and they use this for their mojitos. They make their own pasta and their seafood is very fresh. They had live music and the ambiance is great. We had a great meal there. Very fun place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Came across this gem during an impromptu visit to the town during our stay at Dreams Tulum. Enticed in by the beautiful Mexican woman who turned out to be part owner with her husband Alberto and another friend with the promise of the best mojito in Mexico and can't possibly argue with that!!!. A few mojitos and beers later we agreed to return that evening for dinner. Returned with the family and friends a total party of seven and the dinner (fresh hand made pastas and deliciou seafood) drinks, staff and the atmosphere created by the live music was superb. Great crack with staff, musicians, passers by and even the police on patrol. Best night of our two week stay and wished we had found this place at the start of the holiday rather than towards the end. If we are ever back in the area would definitely visit here again for food, drinks and general great time!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great way to start a day !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had an incredible breakfast here only made better by the super friendly and animated staff. Try the Huevos Motulenos....they are superb !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachBum77701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Del Mar also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing